Arts
See also books
See also music
See also museums

"American Gothic"
|
|
Athletics

Drake Relays
|
|
Books
and writers

Iowa Bird Atlas
|
- Live from Prairie Lights
(Iowa City live web streaming, audio recordings) http://prairielights.com/
See also local interest books suggested by staff of this notable midwest bookseller.
- The Writing University http://www.writinguniversity.org/
Audio and digital archives include readings, lectures, panel discussions and interviews. Live streaming of events.
- Amana Museum Bookstore http://www.amanaheritage.org/books.html
A fine list of books describing history, food, culture and society for the "Community of True Inspiration," one of many communal societies that settled in Iowa in the 19th century.
- Book Festival 2009 at The University of Iowa Libraries|2010 announced
The new Iowa City Book Festival (ICBF) features a celebration of books and writing with author events and readings, poets on the patio, book-making presentations, food, music, and more.
- Books at Iowa: an index http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/resources/BooksatIow.htm
Writings on a wide range of topics edited by Iowa archivists at The University of Iowa Libraries.
- Center for the Book (UICB) University of Iowa, http://www.uiowa.edu/~ctrbook/index.shtml
Book collaborations with writers, calligraphers, graphic artists.
- Iowa Summer Writing Festival http://www.continuetolearn.uiowa.edu/iswfest/
Not to be confused with the Master's program in creative writing, but nevertheless a variety of choices.
- ISU Extension store
https://www.extension.iastate.edu/store/
Research-based books, guides and other items.
- See also: arts
- Some children's books by Iowa writers
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/Bai/cao.htm
An essay by Myra Cao written in 1968 about 16 Iowa authors.
- The University of Iowa Press http://www.uipress.uiowa.edu/
The Press publishes 30 to 35 manuscripts a year, some by regional writers. Collaborative effort by Iowa Research Online and the Iowa Digital Library now provides online versions of press publications.
- The writers' archive at Iowa
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/resources/writers.htm
Guide to personal papers and manuscripts donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by faculty and students of the Writers' Workshop and other UI writing programs.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Communities

Downtown Grinnell

Bonaparte
|
|
Demographics and Economics

Farmers market, Iowa City
|
|
EducationEducation

Longfellow Elementary |
- Iowa Department of Education,the home page. http://www.iowa.gov/state/main/education.html
School districts, community colleges, universities and colleges, teacher licensing, etc.
- Iowa Department of Natural Resources Education,the DNR page. http://www.iowadnr.gov/education/index.html
Citizens, educators and youth leaders, and kids: activities, resources, 4-H clinics, etc.
- Area Education Agencies
http://www.edinfo.state.ia.us/web/re_address.asp?b=13&r=all&q=1
A directory of Iowa's 16--now 10--AEAs, maintained by the Iowa Department of Education.
- Bill Sackter (1913-1983) Film biography of beloved Iowa Citian. Earlier version starred Mickey Rooney.
•Wild Bill's Coffeeshop to reopen in the School of Social Work at the University of Iowa. Operated by
adults with major disabilities, the shop also provides practicum opportunities for students.
|
- Iowa City Community School District http://www.iowa-city.k12.ia.us/
Home pages for each school in the district, also school board, staff directory, job openings.
- Iowa Distance Learning Database
http://www3.iptv.org/iowa_database/default.cfm
Access to opportunities for both K-12 and higher education, via Iowa Public Television.
- Iowa four-year colleges
http://www.edinfo.state.ia.us/web/re_address.asp?b=15&1=4&2=0&q=1&r=web
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Geology

Mississippi River
WEBCAM:

Lake Okoboji
|
|
Government
See also politics

State capitol

Iowa flag
|
- State of Iowa home page http://www.iowa.gov/
Government, business, education, employment, state agencies, etc.
- Code of Iowa http://www2.legis.state.ia.us/IACODE/
Not all sections have been formatted yet for electronic distribution.
- Governor's office http://www.governor.state.ia.us/
Features the Iowa governor's "desk" & monthly schedule, a photo tour, current legislation information and a searchable list of state boards and commissions.
- Herbert Hoover Presidential Library
http://www.hoover.nara.gov/
West Branch birthplace. See also Hoover Presidential Library Association.
- Iowa Communications Network (ICN) http://www.icn.state.ia.us/
ICN is a state-administered fiber optics network offering classrooms, state phone directory, domain name registrations and long distance voice communications for distance learning, telemedicine, telejustice, and state and federal agency service needs.
- Iowa Constitution
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/Constitution.html
- Iowa Commission on the Status of Women (ICSW)
http://www.state.ia.us/government/dhr/sw/index.html
In 1972 the Iowa General Assembly voted to create the ICSW. Other state commissions began in the 1960's.
- Iowa Freedom of Information Council
http://www.drake.edu/journalism/IFOICWebSite/index.html
Non-profit consortium of newspapers, radio and tv stations, media associations, educators, publishers, broadcasters and others interested in openness in government and First Amendment rights. -from the website
- Iowa General Assembly
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/
Legislative news, laws from the Senate and House of Representatives. see also General Assembly directory.
- Iowa government boards, commissions, services, agencies and departments Nov2008."BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS" http://www.iowai.net/iowa/governor/boards/ moved to http://www.iowa.gov/state/main/govagencies.html
List is alphabetised and searchable.
- State depository for government information
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/ref/guides/iowa.html
Government Publications is a permanent depository for the state of Iowa; the UI Main Library receives government information of U.S., State of Iowa, and international governments and shares with the public.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
History

Hoover's Quaker birthplace

Almshouse, Clarinda
--------------

Black Hawk
------------

Carrie Chapman Catt

Irving Weber
|
- Iowa Heritage Digital Collections http://www.iowaheritage.org/
Online collection of Iowa history and culture culled from material held by a wide range of organizations throughout the state.
- State Historical Society of Iowa (SHSI) http://www.iowahistory.org/
User-friendly site providing quick access to historical sites, services and cultural affairs. - Historic sites in Iowa. Includes the 1857 "Spirit Lake Massacre" of New York homesteaders at Arnolds Park in which Abbie Gardner Sharp returned to Iowa, forgave her captors and sold her story to travelers in the years afterward.
- The Amanas: "Community of True Inspiration" www.cr.nps.gov/nr/travel/amana/ origins.htm
Seven villages in eastern Iowa which trace their utopian origins to 1714 Germany.
- Carstens 1880 farmstead http://www.thefarmstead.org/
This farm in Pottawattamie County is listed on the National Register of historic places.
- Circuit Chautauqua in the 20th Century http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/traveling-culture/
The first circuit Chautauqua appeared in 1904 and traveled to 15 towns in Iowa. This digital exhibit, "Traveling Culture," was prepared by UI Libraries for the American Memory Project.
- Carrie Chapman Catt http://www.catt.org/
Charles City native Catt founded the League of Women Voters.
- Gravestone Photo Project http://iowagravestones.org/index.php
Using IowaGenWeb for genealogical research, browse over 16,400 Iowa records.
- Herbert Hoover National Park & Historic Site http://www.nps.gov/heho/
31st president of the United States, Hoover was born in West Branch in 1874 and became known as "the Great Humanitarian" globally though a scapegoat in his own land.
- Hoover Online. Presidential Library and Museum, with extensive biography.
- Iowa history essay http://publications.iowa.gov/archive/00000135/01/history/7-1.html
"In the summer of 1673, French explorers Louis Joliet and Father Jacques Marquette traveled down the Mississippi...." An essay by Dorothy Schwieder, ISU history professor.
- Iowa Women's Archives, UI Libraries http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa/collections.html
Includes personal papers, photographs and publications concerning politics, religion, abortion, civil rights, the suffrage movement, the arts, rural life, the war effort, and immigration.
- Living History Farms http://www.ioweb.com/lhf/
Easily navigable pages provide photos, map, LHF history and an events calendar.
- Kalona's Old Order Amish http://kalonaiowa.org/
See comparisons between this enthno-religious group to Mennonites and founders of the Amana Colonies.
- Kinyon Digital Library http://www.kinyon.com/iowa/index.htm
A few Iowa historical documents available online.
- Mesquaki Indian settlement http://www.american-native-art.com/publication/native_history.shtml
The only federally recognized tribe in Iowa, the Mesquaki (Fox) purchase land until their holdings have grown to almost 5,000 acres.
- Parish histories of northwest Iowa (CatholicGlobe.org)
http://www.catholicglobe.org/parhist/index.html
Detailed histories of Sioux City diocese parishes and the people who migrated there.
- Poorhouses http://www.poorhousestory.com/poorhouses_in_iowa.htm
In the 1800s poor houses were authorized by individual counties to house unfortunates.
- Secretary of Agriculture Henry A. Wallace
http://www.winrock.org/wallace/wallacecenter/wallace/HAWhome.html
Also Vice President under FDR and Secretary of Commerce under Truman, Wallace was "perhaps the greatest Secretary of Agriculture that the United States has ever known," and a philosopher of the New Deal. He was born on a farm and raised in Ames.
- The University of Iowa 1847-1997 http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/Archives/HISTB.htm
http://tango.lib.uiowa.edu:8003/proj/history/keyword.qry?function=form
2009:searchable guide revised.
- Virtual history, Iowa State University http://www.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/exhibits/online.html
Includes Petersen sculptures, Carrie Chapman Catt, and long ago VEISHEA's.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Libraries

Carnegie-funded library, Cedar Rapids
|
- State Library of Iowa http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/
Library services on a statewide basis. Site includes statewide searching via SILO.
- Iowa library directory http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/ld/directories
Public libraries, institution libraries, academic libraries, you name it libraries.
- Iowa City Public Library http://www.icpl.org/
Used by researchers the world over, so they say.
- Iowa Digital Library http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/
Photographs, maps, sound recordings and documents—from libraries, private collectors, and archives.
- Library catalog, Iowa State University http://www.lib.iastate.edu
- Library catalog, University of Iowa http://infohawk.uiowa.edu/F?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=uiowa
- Library catalog, University of Northern Iowa http://www.library.uni.edu/
- PublicLibraries.com for Iowa http://www.publiclibraries.com/iowa.htm
A cool, clean, fairly up-to-date list, maintained by an independent content provider.
- SILO (State of Iowa Libraries Online) http://z3950.silo.lib.ia.us/cgi-bin/zform.CGI?SILO
Search the holdings of over 700 libraries in the state.
- University of Iowa manuscript archives http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/NARR.HTM
More than 10,000 letters or manuscript pieces, principally from the 19th and 20th centuries, including over 75 Iowa authors.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Magazines

Flyway magazine

Quilt, Midwest Living
|
- ArtScene http://www.artsceneiowa.com/ What's happening here, if not necessarily from here.
- Briar Cliff Review (Sioux City)
Fiction, poetry, nonfiction, book reviews, art, essays, photography.
- Cityview (Des Moines) http://dmcityview.com/ Newsmagazine coverage of central Iowa and the arts.
- Flyway (Iowa State University) http://www.engl.iastate.edu/publications/flyway/ Poetry, fiction, reviews.
- Iowa Ag Review (Iowa State University, Ames) http://www.card.iastate.edu/iowa%5Fag%5Freview
- Iowa Farmer Today (Cedar Rapids) http://www.iowafarmer.com/
Check out the live camera shots--CornCam!
- Iowa Heritage Illustrated •TABLE OF CONTENTS only http://www.iowahistory.org/publications/
- Iowa Law Review (University of Iowa) http://www.law.uiowa.edu/journals/ilr/
- Iowa Review, The "TIR" (University of Iowa) http://www.uiowa.edu/~iareview/mainpages/tirweb.html
Fiction, poetry, non-fiction, book reviews, art, essays, photography.
- Iowa Source, The (Fairfield) http://www.iowasource.com/ Arts and entertainment from southeast Iowa.
- Iowan, The (Des Moines) http://www.iowan.com/
- Little Village (Iowa City) http://www.icpl.org/resources/newspaper/ Index for area magazines & newspapers.
- Midwest Today (Panora) http://www.midtod.com/ Entertainment, religion, fitness, travel, people, etc.
- North American Review (Cedar Falls) http://www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR/
Fiction, poetry.
- State Historical Society of Iowa publications • TABLE OF CONTENTS only (Des Moines)
- University of Iowa serials list • NO LINKS HERE (Special Collections, University of Iowa Libraries) http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/archives/guides/RG01.09.02.htm
Over 200 past and current university-produced publications representing a wide range of interests.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Maps

Relief map |
- DOT city and county maps http://www.iowadotmaps.com/
Sharp & detailed information, if your technology can handle it.
- Iowa Department of Transportation http://www.dot.state.ia.us/
Maps, parks, scenic roads, railroads, weather, driver's license, traveler information. Bridges on the prairie .
- Iowa in 1895 http://www.livgenmi.com/1895/IA
Very large & detailed, these maps may take a while to load. From Cyndi's List of Michigan, www.cyndislist.com/
- Maps University of Iowa Libraries http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/maps/cartographic.html/
Online Maps of Iowa include university maps, county atlases and aerial photos of Iowa.
- Mapathon.com http://www.mapathon.com/ia.shtml
- Transportation map for bicyclists http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/pdf/bikemappdf.html
The state map of bicycle trails is now available online, using the requisite software.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Museums

Lincoln Highway postcard
See also arts |
|
Music

See also arts
|
TO TOP OF PAGE
|
News &
newspapers

The Iowa Star, 1849
|
|
|
- Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center inrc.continuetolearn.uiowa.edu/directory/community/communityIndex.asp
Links to non-profits statewide. From The University of Iowa.
- Audubon chapters in Iowa•birding locations http://www.audubon.org/chapter/ia/
- Friends of the Prairie Learning Center http://www.tallgrass.org/
The Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge—established in 1990—is the largest prairie reconstruction project in the U.S.
- Iowa Association of County Conservation Boards http://george.ecity.net/iaccb/
Contains links to member county conservation boards.
- Iowa Barn Foundation http://www.iowabarnfoundation.org/
According to IBF, at least 1,000 Iowa barns a year are lost because of time and neglect.
- Iowa Environmental Council http://www.iaenvironment.org/
Alliance of organizations and individuals begun in 1994 to effect long-range environmental policy. Web site offers an impressive list of member organizations and links.
- Iowa Freedom of Information Council http://www.drake.edu/journalism/IFOICWebSite/index.html
"Incorporated in 1977 as a non-profit consortium of newspapers, radio and tv stations, media associations, educators, publishers, broadcasters and others interested in openness in government.... About 22 such statewide organizations are active in the nation today, and the Iowa FOI Council is among the oldest, if not the oldest." -from the Website
- Iowa Lincoln Highway Association http://www.lincolnhighwayassoc.org/iowa/
Lincoln's Highway began at Times Square, Broadway and 42nd, and ended at the Pacific in San Francisco, 3,389 miles to the west. It touched 13 counties in Iowa and crossed the Missouri River at Omaha.
- Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation http://www.inhf.org/
Priorities include permanent land protection, trail and greenway establishment, and promotion of improved land management. Provides the latest news on local conservation projects.
- Iowa Nonprofit Resource Center e-Newsletter•from Larned A. Waterman http://inrc.continuetolearn.uiowa.edu/ Links and current information for statewide services along with monthly updates, from The University of Iowa L. Waterman INRC.
TO TOP OF PAGE

|
Politics
See also government

Henry A. Wallace |
|
|
|
Tourism

Madison County bridge

Register's Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa, or RAGBRAI
|
- TravelIowa.com http://www.traveliowa.com/
Attractions, accommodations and destinations, Iowa Department of Economic Development.
- Amana Colonies http://www.iowacity.com/amanas/
The seven villages of the original Community of True Inspiration settled by German and Swiss craftspeople in the 19th century. Heritage, museums, lodging and events.
- Bridges of Madison County http://www.madisoncounty.com/
Comprehensive site for the county most famous for its historic covered bridges, popularized by Robert Waller's novel. Madison County is also the birthplace of John Wayne and home to the originator of Delicious apples.
- Des Moines attractions http://www.ci.des-moines.ia.us/departments/IC/Information/attractions.htm
Links for state capital, parks, botanical center, state fair, Adventureland and more.
- Dickinson County links http://www.co.dickinson.ia.us/departments/Links.asp
Settled by New Yorkers in 1856, Dickinson County is small in land area but large in lakes. (At one time named "Mystic Lake," Spirit Lake is the largest natural lake in Iowa.) Links to towns and vacation areas.
- Iowa Great Lakes Region The Iowa Great Lakes include Iowa’s largest natural lake--Spirit Lake--and five interconnected lakes: West Okoboji, East Okoboji, Upper Gar, Lower Gar and Minnewashta. map
- Eastern Iowa Tourism Association http://www.easterniowatourism.org/
Museums, festivals, historical societies, and other attractions, including riverboat casinos.
- "Field of Dreams" movie site http://www.fieldofdreamsmoviesite.com
Fanciful pages offering photographs and stories on the mythical baseball field, whose real location lies 200 miles west of Chicago. Virtual batting practice included.
- The Grotto of the Redemption http://www.westbendgrotto.com/map.htm
Photographs and background for this geological wonder in West Bend, whose construction was begun in 1912 by Father Paul Dobberstein. Site includes a mini-tour.
- Iowa scenic routes (NSBP) http://www.byways.org/browse/states/IA/
The National Scenic Byway Program (NSBP) includes two scenic Iowa driving routes and links for more.
- Iowa State Fair http://www.iowastatefair.com/
Beneath the promotional verbiage lies detailed information for visitors to the annual fair, including an events calendar and statistics on fairground facilities.
- Living History Farms http://www.ioweb.com/lhf/
Easily navigable pages provide photos, map, LHF history and an events calendar.
- RAGBRAI Des Moines Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa http://www.ragbrai.org
The newest west-to-east route is posted here as well as a countdown to day one.
- Silos and Smokestacks National Heritage Area http://www.silosandsmokestacks.org/
Comprehensive guide to farm country in northeast Iowa.
- Sioux City tourism bureau http://www.siouxcitytourism.com/
Area attractions for this western Iowa outpost. Note monument to Sgt. Charles Floyd, the only person to die on the 1804 Lewis and Clark Missouri River expedition, and walking tour of historic 4th Street.
TO TOP

|
Weather

Johnson County twister

Iowa City's Old Capitol building
|
|
| |
|