The University of Iowa Libraries has World Bank publications, including monographs and serials, dating from the 1950s to the present. This guide is meant to provide users a means for identifying and locating information that is available in the collection or via the WWW. Many World Bank print items can be located via the Library Catalog. Please stop by Government Publications if you have questions or need assistance with your World Bank research questions.
Background Information
Overview:The World Bank Group consists of five closely associated institutions, all owned by member countries that carry ultimate decision-making power. These institutions are: The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD); The International Development Association (IDA); The International Finance Corporation (IFC) ; The Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA); and The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). "World Bank" refers specifically to two of the five, IBRD and IDA. (source: World Bank "About Us")
- World Bank home page
- World Bank Annual Report. 1953- . Gov Pubs Stacks HG3881.I552. Recent issues available on IIS Microfiche 4530-S10. 1996-present available from World Bank web site .
- A Guide to the World Bank.
Gov Pubs Reference HG3881.5.W57 G853 2003. Provides an overview of the Bank's history, organization, mission, and purpose.
- World Development Report. 1978- . Government Publications Stacks HC59.7 .W65. 1992-present available from World Bank web site . Includes statistical analysis. Each year, the report focuses on a different development issue.
Indexes & Databases
- World Bank E-Library
. Electronic portal to full-text versions of World Bank publications.
- World Development Indicators
. Produced by the World Bank, this database is a good place to start when looking for statistical information for countries around the world. In this one database, you can expect to find comprehensive data for 575 development indicators, time series from 1960 to the present, for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data can be indexed, graphed, and exported in standard formats, including Excel. It is also easy to compare indicators of two or more countries. Additionally, you may want to try the “tree views” to see clusters of indicators geared to subjects such as “people,” “environment,” and the “economy.”
- GDF Online
. GDF online includes a comprehensive set of tables with statistical data for 136 countries that report debt under the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, as well as summary data for regions and income groups. It contains data on total external debt stocks and flows, aggregates, and key debt ratios, and provides a detailed, country-by-country picture of debt.
- World Bank Data & Statistics Division
- Index to International Statistics (IIS). Many statistical sources from World Bank are indexed through IIS (1983-, Gov Pubs Ref fAI1.I49), and the web counterpart Lexis Nexis Statistical. The contents of these sources are available in the IIS microfiche collection and some are available in the print collection. Some of the series available from IIS include:
- Global Development Finance
- World Bank Annual Report
- World Bank Atlas
- World Bank Country Studies
- World Bank Economic Review
- World Bank Operations Evaluation Studies
- World Bank Technical Papers
- World Demographic Trends
- World Development Report
World Bank Series in Print
- African Development Indicators. 2000- . Gov Pubs HC800.A1 A63 (most recent in Main Reference)
- World Bank Technical Paper Series. These titles are cataloged separately in the library catalog. Some of the earlier volumes are available in the Government Publications collection, others in the Main Library.
- World Bank Country Study Series. These titles are cataloged separately in the library catalog and available in the Main Library Collection
|