University Archives: Citations to Primary Sources

The University of Iowa Archives is administered by the University Libraries as a unit of the Special Collections Department. The first citation of the location in each work should be to the “University of Iowa Archives” or, to avoid confusion with campuses at Ames and Cedar Falls, to the “University of Iowa Archives, Iowa City.”

Sample citations to University of Iowa official records and to personal papers in the University Archives follow:

Carl E. Seashore to Cora B. Hillis, December 2, 1913, Iowa Child Welfare Research Station Records, University of Iowa Archives.

Daily Iowan, November 12, 1922, and Iowa City Press-Citizen, November 18, 1922 in scrapbooks, Iowa Child Welfare Research Station Records.

John P. Irish to Thomas H. Macbride, October 2, 1923, Thomas H. Macbride Papers, box 6, folder 6, University of Iowa Archives.

Abraham Flexner to Walter A. Jessup, September 19, 1927, President’s Correspondence (Jessup), box 216, folder 104, University of Iowa Archives.

Vilhjalmur Stefansson to Bertha and Benjamin, April 24, 1934, House Book 25: 3807, Shambaugh Family Papers, box 23, folder 3, University of Iowa Archives.

Vernon Carstensen to Marie Haefner, April 21, 1936, Gustavus D. Hinrichs vertical file, University of Iowa Archives.

Virgil M. Hancher, “John Ely Briggs,” speech, Iowa City, Iowa, February 12, 1952, Virgil M. Hancher speech file, University of Iowa Archives.

Transcript, Susan Hancher Oral History Interview, July 23, 1976, p. 10, University of Iowa Archives.

The citation form can be changed to meet the requirements of whatever style manual is used. Only a few of the records and papers in the University Archives are fully processed, so most box numbers are tentative. The Macbride and Shambaugh personal papers in the sample citations are processed and their box and folder numbers are permanent. The official correspondence of university presidents from Jessup (1916-1934) onward is arranged and indexed by fiscal year and folder number and should be cited with the box number inserted.

Student newspapers and other printed materials in the University Archives are not unique items, at least at the time of publication, and many of them are available in more than one location in Iowa City, so the location of a given copy need not be cited.

An example of a photograph credit line is “Frederick W. Kent Collection, University of Iowa Archives.”

Please consult the Special Collections Department staff concerning citations to the department’s historical and literary manuscript holdings.

1/98

 

Return to Archives home