Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station
RG 23.03
Collection Dates: 1917-1975
34.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Photographs: Box 8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Organization History Note

Program was founded as the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station in 1917; name changed to Institute of Child Behavior and Development in 1964; institute closed in 1974.



Box Contents List

Box 1:

Emergency Education Program, 1934-1935

Financial Current Reports, 1930-1931

----. 1931-1932

Form letters and notices to staff, 1930-1931

Millis, Cora B., 1930-1931

Historical file: Hillis and Seashore correspondence, 1913-1917

Box 2:

Publications

Publicity for Station

Reading Clinic

Rooms

Staff lists

Staff meeting summaries

Students

Box 3:

Hillis-Seashore correspondence, 1918-1921

Historical file: miscellaneous

History

Home Laboratory

Institute of Character Research

Language Behavior Studies

McCloy, C.H.

Manry, James C.

Manual of Pre-School Practice, 1931-32

Mental Hygiene Institute, 1930-1931

Parent Education

Spelman Reports (financial)

1930-1931

1931-1932

Spelman Fund

1934-1935

1936-1937

Box 4:

Stoddard, George D.

Radio Child Study Club

Elementary School Child, 1941-1945

Radio Child Study

Understanding Iowa Children, 1943-1944

Radio Child Study Club, 1941-1942

Understanding Iowa Children, 1941-1942

Radio Child Study Club

              The Family, 1941-1942

Radio Child Study Club, 1943-1944

Box 5 & 6:

Radio Child Study Club

Box 7:

Annual Reports, 1942-1944

Assistantships and scholarships, 1943-1944

Bibliography-Anthropometry

Bird T. Baldwin memorial

Bivin Foundation

Boy Scouts of America, 1942-1943

Cobb, W.H., 1942-1943

Commission for Younger Children

Committee on War Research

Committee to Study the Child Welfare Research Station

Conference, June 1941-1944

Council on Children & Youth, 1952-1953

Current courses

Equipment lists

Financial current reports

Form letters and notices to staff

General Education Board

Iowa State Council on Child Study and Parent Education

Iowa Remedial Education Program

Irwin Film

Miscellaneous file

Morrissey, Mary

National Research Council on Nutrition Study

Parents Magazine

Personnel, 1942-1943

Pre-school administration

Box 8:

Photographs of classroom activity, height measurement of children; n.d., possibly 1930s

"Informal Report of Recommendations and Researches," April 17, 1929

Conferences and workshops, 1952-1957 (11 folders)

 

Addendum 1

Box 1 & 2:

Preschool, 1950-1962

 

Addendum 2

Box 1 - 6:

Child Welfare subject files, received 12/1980; 1917-1933, 1960-1972; 3.0 ft.

Box 7 & 8:

Child Welfare subject files, received 1/1993; 1965-1975; 1.0 ft.

Box 9 - 11:

Pamphlets and leaflets, sorted by type and date; 1.75 ft.

Box 12:

Child Welfare Review, 1972 ("Institute of Child Behavior and Development"); 0.25 ft.

Box 13 - 40:

Staff files, about 1917-1960, arranged alpha by last name of individual; 14.0 ft.

 

Addendum 3: Institute of Child Behavior / Preventive Psychiatry Research Program

Box 1:

Correspondence A-J 1959-1960

Box 2:

Correspondence K-Z 1959-1960

Box 3:

Correspondence A-G 1961-1962

Box 4:

Correspondence A-H 1960-1961

Box 5:

Correspondence I-Q 1960-1961

Box 6:

Correspondence R-Z 1960-1961

Box 7:

Correspondence H-O 1961-1962

Box 8:

Correspondence P-Z 1961-1962

Box 9:

Correspondence A-J 1962-1963

Box 10:

Correspondence M-Z 1962-1963

Box 11 & 12:

Preventive Psychiatry Research Program reports, 1950-1960

 

Oversize Box 1:

Scrapbook (fragile), 1915-1926

Oversize Box 2:

Scrapbook (fragile), 1927-1952