Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Papers of Dean Mason Ladd, College of Law
RG 14.01.07
Collection Dates: 1939-1966
24.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The University of Iowa College of Law records (correspondence of deans), 1901-1966, were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives in the 1970s. The records of the Ladd deanship received preliminary processing by Earl M. Rogers, August 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Biographical Note

Mason Ladd (1898-1980) served as dean at Iowa, 1939-1966. Earlier he was a professor of law at the University of Iowa and after his retirement from Iowa in 1966 Ladd became the founding dean of the Florida State University law school.


Related Materials

Writings on Ladd’s career include Samuel M. Fahr, “Mason Ladd,” Iowa Law Review 66 (May 1981): 709-724.

The law dean records arranged under Wiley B. Rutledge’s name (RG 14.01.06) overlap other deanships, especially that of Ladd.



Box Contents List

Box 1

Miscellaneous 1947-1953,

1955/56 M-O

Box 2

----. P-U

Box 3

----. U-Z

Miscellaneous 1941-1955

1956/57 A

Box 4

A-H

Box 5

H-M

Box 6

1958/59 I-R

Box 7

R-Z

1959/60 A

Box 8

A-C

Box 9

C-I

Box 10

I-R

Box 11

R-Z

1960/61 A

Box 12

A-B

Box 13

C-I

Box 14

I-N

Box 15

O-W

Box 16

1961/62 A-B

Box 17

B-E

Box 18

E-K

Box 19

L-P

Box 20

R-Z

1962/63 A

Box 21

A-E

Box 22

F-L

Box 23

M-P

Box 24

P-W

Box 25

1963/64 A-D

Box 26

E-J

Box 27

K-P

Box 28

R-Z

Box 29

1964/65 A-B

Box 30

C-E

Box 31

E-F

Box 32

G-L

Box 33

M-P

Box 34

R-Z

Box 35

1965/66 A-C

Box 36

D-I

Box 37

J-S

Box 38

S-Z

Miscellaneous 1950s

Box 39

Miscellaneous 1950s

American Bar Foundation Research Committee, 1959-1960

Box 40

Miscellaneous 1940s-1960s

Box 41

Miscellaneous 1930s-1960s

Box 42

Faculty appointments, B-M

Box 43

Faculty appointments, O-W (includes Wiley B. Rutledge transportation)

Box 44

Miscellaneous 1950s

Box 45

Miscellaneous 1950s

Box 46

American Bar Association Special Committee on Military Justice, 1959-1960

Faculty applications, 1960

Box 47

American Bar Association Special Committee on Military Justice, 1960-1961

Judicial Conference of the United States Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, 1960-1961

President [Hancher, University of Iowa], 1955-1960

Miscelllaneous, 1959-1961

Box 48

Books and Publications

Cases and Materials on the Law of Evidence, 2nd ed. Chicago: Callaghan and Co., 1955

Iowa Probate Practice Problems, 5th ed. Iowa City: State University of Iowa College of Law, 1947, 1951

Iowa Probate Practice. Iowa City: State University of Iowa College of Law, 1957