Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Records of the University News Service
RG 23.05.01
Collection Dates: 1942-1997
57.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Collection processed by Melissa Vetter and David McCartney in 2001. Guide posted to the Internet 2001; updated January 2008.

Photographs: Interfiled throughout the collection in a small portion of folders.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

The subject files of the University News Service date from 1942 to 1997 and measure about 57.0 linear feet. They are arranged in a single, alphabetical series. Within each file, materials are arranged chronologically.

Files generally consist of news releases prepared by UNS staff, supplemented with related newspaper clippings and other published material. The title of each file indicates the subject and date span.


Historical Note

The University News Service, as of 2002, is a program of the Office of University Communications and Outreach. Its purpose is to help OUCO fulfill its mission of “promoting awareness, understanding, and support for the University’s missions of teaching, research, and service, both within the University community and among the general public.”  UNS staff members supply news and information about the University to print, broadcast, and electronic media.

An office of external communications has existed in some form at the University since 1896, the first year in which the annual general catalog refers to university publications. Since then, the office has undergone numerous organizational changes.


Related Materials

University News Service Photographs Collection (RG 30.01.06)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Agricultural Medicine and Occupational Health prior to 1993

Anatomy, Dept. of prior to 1993

Athletics: Men's prior to 1991

Athletics: Men's 1992

Athletics; Men's 1992

Athletics: Men's 1991 May-December

Athletics: Men's 1991 Jan-April

Argonne Universities Association

Art and Art History, School of prior to 1991

Art Education 1953-1969

Arts center Capital Program 1963-1987

As A Matter of Fact Columns 1977-1981

Box 2

Annual Meeting of Iowa College Presidents Sept. 18-19, 1977 Des Moines

Association of Iowa College Presidents 1962-1979

Athletics, Gator Bowl 1983

Audio-Visual 1955-1977

Awards and Scholarships 1957-1984

Bacteriology 1951-1987

Bands 1958-1984

Barracks Housing 1958-1975

Bicentennial 1973-1976

Biochemistry/pharmacy/toxology Unit 1965-1974

Blades Report 1973-1976

Board for Public Program in the Humanities 1971-1976

Board of Regents 1951-1988

Box 3

Briefs 1984

Bucky O'Connor Award 1959-1968

Budget (UI) 1989-1990

Budget (UI) 1987

Budget (UI) prior to 1987

Budget and Finance Control 1953-1983

Building Hours 1975-1983

Business Administration 1953-1984

Business Office 1970-1985

C.A.S.E. 1968-1980

C.I.C.S. 1961-1984

Cambus 1957-1982

Campus-General Condition 1954-1980

Hall Ottens Case 720.4

Box 4

Campus Issues, General (H.Ottens case, Jim Speed Law, Lettuce, Rape Prevention Committee) 1973-1983

Campus Notes Releases 1992-1994

Campus Notes Releases prior to 1992

Campus Bites 1995-June 1997

Campus Planning 1970-1980

Campus Security 1970-1980

Box 5

Campus Solicitation Policy 1975-1976

Campus Transportation 1967-1976

Campus Visits 1955-1988

Cancer Research, General 1947-1984

Capital financing Plan 1970-1988

Careers, Counseling, Placement 1967-1986

Cars and Parking 1955-1975

Center for Labor Management 1951-1980

Center for New Performing Arts 1969-1986

Box 6

Center for the Arts 1963-1986

Center for Urban DGV and RSH 1962-1974

Center of Excellence 1965-1975

Changing Family Conferences 1971-1982

Clapp Recital Hall (performances) 1983-1988

Classics 1953-1965

College of Industry Conf. 1956-1968

Columns-Understanding Iowa Kids 1957-1967

Command and Officers Training 1952-1968

Commencement 1986

Commencement 1985-1986 Correspondence

Summer 1985 Commencement

Spring 1985 (May 18, 1985) Dean's, President's, and Commencement

Box 7

Commencement 1948-1986

Committee on Human Rights 1963-1980

Committee on Student Life

Committees, University general 1970-1987

Community Service Program 1965-1976

Computers/Computing/Computerization 1989-1994

Computers/Computing/Computerization 1995-Sept. 1996

Conferences (Dental)

Conferences-Drama 1959-1977

Conferences-General 1964-1988

Conferences-General 1974-1988

Box 8

Conferences-Journalism 1954-1987

Conferences-Library 1956-1969

Conferences-Nursing 1962-1988

Conferences-Medical 1956-1987

Continuing Education 1948-1984

Coralville Reservoir Project 1959-1979

Correspondence Study 1952-1983

Cosmic Ray 1957-1987

Counseling Research 1962-1987

Council on Teaching 1962-1987

Crippled Children's Service 1976-1983

Cuban Refugees 1963-1965

Cultural Affairs Committee 1966-1986

Daily Iowan 1961-1979

Dance, Dept. of prior to 1993

Box 9

Demonstrations 1967-1986

Dentistry, College of 1949-1979

Dentistry, College of 1990-1992

Dentistry, College of prior to 1990

Dentistry, College of 1993-June 1997

Dentistry, College of July 1997-April 2000

Drugs and Alcohol 1967-1983

Education, College of 1955-1984

Box 10

Education Visitation Committee 1973-1977

Elliot Art Collection 1962-1984

Emotionally Disturbed Children 1956-1979

Energy Division 1970-1984

Engineering, College of 1952-1986

English, Dept. of 1951-1982

Environmental Clearinghouse 1967-1979

Box 11

Esquire Lit Symposium 1967-1974

Exam Service 1961-1986

Eye Bank 1957-1981

Facts and Figures 1948-1984

Faculty senate 1956-1978

Family Practice 1970-1983

Family Practice, Dept. of 1980-1995

Fellowships 1971-1988

Field House 1950-1982

Fight Song 1951-1984

Finance 1967-1985

Box 12

Financial Reports 1955-1965

Forensic League 1959-1978

Foundations (general) 1974-1986

Foundation, U of I

Fuel Shortage 1969-1988

General and Children's Hospital 1947-1979

Geography 1966-1983

Geology 1952-1982

Gerontology 1963-1986

Gifts and Grants 1955-1989

Governing Boards 1964-1986

Box 13

Governor of Iowa 1973-1980

Governor's Budget 1968-1979

Graduate College 1955-1983

Greek Life/Greek Week 1956-1982

Greek System prior to 1991

Guidance/Counseling 1955-1987

Hancher Auditorium performances 1995

Hancher Auditorium performance 1994

Hancher Auditorium performances 1993

Hancher performances 1992-July-December

Hancher performances 1992 January-June

Box 14

Hancher performances 1991 January-June

Hancher performances 1990 October-December

Hancher performances jan. 1989- Sept. 1900

H.E.W., Dept. of 1971-1983

Hancher Auditorium NA

Hancher/Finkbine Awards 1966-1979

Handicapped Accessibility (Disabilities) 1969-1980

Box 15

Harrison Hall 1966-1967

Hawkeye Park Apartments 1977

Head v. UI Lawsuit 1983

Health Occupation Education 1973-1986

Health Science Campus 1963-1986

Health Science Research Center 1975-1986

Health wanted Column 1978-1990

Hearing Officer 1969-1971

Hernstein (or Herrnstein; Hernnstein) Controversy 1972-1978

High School Art Conf. 1956-1987

High School Biology Teachers 1962-1965

High School English Teachers 1962-1975

High School Press Association 1964-1988

Box 16

Higher Education Issues 1945-1988

Higher Education Study Committee 1959-1987

Historical Society, State 1947-1987

History, Department of 1959-1983

Box 17

History of the University 1950-1987

History and Social Science co 1962-1987

Home Economics 1955-1980

Homecoming 1955-1983

Hometown Stories 1984-1988

Honorary Groups 1972-1987

Honors Program 1966-1981

Hospital Nursing Service 1953-1967

Hospital School 1952-1977

Housing, Student 1966-1979

Human Relations 1953-1985

Humanities 1957-1985

Hygienic Lab 1954-1983

Box 18

IMU/Iowa House Lawsuit 1959-1962

Industry/Agriculture Production 1953-1987

Industry/Education Coop 1953-1978

Influenza 1951-1988

Information Engineering 1976-1981

Institute for Economic Research 1957-1979

Institute for Defense Analysis 1968

Institute for Ins. Ed/Research 1959-1988

Institute for Preventive Psych 1960-1966

Institute for Science Tech 1963-1984

Institute for Urban/Regional Research 1970-1979

Institute on Writing 1977-1980

Instruction-Nursing 1950-1985

Instruction-Pharmacy 1951-1953

Instruction-UIHC 1951-1982

Insurance-University 1955-1987

Box 19

Intercollegiate Athletics-Women1968-1988

Intercollegiate Forensics 1948-1975

Internal Medicine 1948-1985

Internal Medicine, Dept. 0f 1997-Oct. 1998

Internal Medicine, Dept. of 1993-1996

Internal Medicine, Dept. of 1991 and 1992

Internal Medicine, Dept. of  prior to 1991

International Center 1952-1983

International Education Services 1955-1980

International Education and Services general prior to 1992

International Writing Program 1961-1983

Box 20

Intercollegiate Athletics-Men 1950-1988

Iowa Center for Education in Politics 1955-1975

Iowa Center for Research in School Administration 1969-1987

Iowa City, City of 1948-1982

Iowa City, Plum grove 1961-1980

Iowa Memorial Union 1950-1983

Iowa Memorial Union general prior to 1993

Iowa Peru Project 1961-1986

Iowa Shakespeare Festival 1982-1985

Box 21

Iowa State University Oct-Dec. 1989

Iowa State University Jan.-Sept. 1989

Iowa State University 1987

Iowa State University Jan.-Sept. 1990

Iowa State University Oct.-Dec. 1990

Iowa Testing Program 1951-1979

Iowa vs. Iowa StateUniversity Football 1977-1987

Iowa 2000 1973-1988

Box 22

Journalism, School of 1955-1984

Junior College Study 1950-1986

Kinnick Scholarship 1967-1987

KSUI/WSUI 1950-1979

Lakeside Lab 1947-1984

Land Acquisition /Dep 1956-1984

Law, College of 1947-1984

Law Enforcement Agency 1967-1987

Lawsuits/Litigations 1989-1991

Lawsuits/Litigations prior to 1989

Lectures 1965-1988

Box 23

Lecture Committee 1995-1996

Lecture Committee 1991-1994

Legal Institute 1952-1987

Legislation 1969-1987

Legislative Information Program 1958-1961

Legislature and Legislative Relations 1968-1987

Letters, School of 1956-1983

Library Science Program 1966-1980

Medicine, College of general July 1996-May 1997

Medicine, College of general June 1997-May 1998

Medicine, College of general June 1998-May 1999

Box 24

Medicine, College of general April 1995-Dec. 1995

Medicine, College of general Nov. 1994-March 1995

Medicine, College of general Jan. to July 1994

Medicine, College of general 1993

Medicine, College of general July-December 1992

Medicine, College of general Jan.-June 1992

Medicine, College of general 1986-1987

Medicine, College of general prior to 1986

Museum of Art 1995-1996

Box 25

Museum of Art 1994

Museum of Art 1992-1993

Museum of Art 1989,'90,'91

Music, School of General 1989-1990

Music, School of General prior to 1989

NCAA 1990

NCAA 1987-1989

Nursing, College of/General July 1997- May 1999

Nursing, College of/ General 1995- June 1997

Nursing, College of/General 1987-1991

Box 26

Neurology, Dept. of Clinical Electrophysiology, Behavioral Neurology, Alzheimer's Center July 1997-1999

Nursing, College of general 1985-1986

Old Capitol Scoreboard (attendance)

Old Capitol 1927-1986

Old Dental Building 1975

Old Gold Days 1960

Opera Theatre 1974-1979

Ophthalmology, Dept. of through June 1997

Ophthalmology 1955-1980

Orchestra 1973-1979

Orientation 1954-1980

Box 27

Orthodontics 1971-1978

Otolaryngology 1950-1979

Outreach 197701979

Parent Times 1974-1988

Patients and Services 1951-1980

Pediatrics, Dept. of general prior to 1993

Pediatrics, Dept. of Jan. 1998-May 1999

Pediatrics, Dept. of 1993-1997

Box 28

Personnel-House/Senate 1950-1987

Pharmacy, College of general prior to 1991

Pharmacy, college of 1947-1979

Psychiatric Nursing 1961-1968

Photographic Service 1947-1987

President, Office of the prior to 1992

Preventive Medicine and Environ. Health prior to 1993

Preventive Medicine and Environ. Health 1993- 1996

Preventive Medicine/Envronmental Health 1997-May 1999

Psychiatry 1953-1979

Psychiatry, Dept. of prior to 1994

Box 29

Psychiatry, Dept. of 1994-1997

Psychiatry, Dept. of 1998-April 2000

Psychology, Dept. of 1953-1979

Public Affairs 1949-1979

Public Affairs Comm. 1974-1977

Public government-Role of the Senate 1970-1986

Public Figures 1956-1987

Public Health Nurses 1958-1967

Public Relations 1968-1980

Publication 1976-1986

Don McQuillen Fubs. Space needs

Public Safety, Dept. of prior to 1993

Race Relations 1950-1978

Box 30

Ratings 1992-1994

Ratings prior to 1992

Quality Control 1950-1970

Real Estate Clinic 1958-1966

Recreation Building 1968-1985

Recreation Education 1967-1977

Recreation Services 1968-1980

Recruit Training 1952-1987

Radio Television Courses 1959-1980

Radiology 1948-1979

Radios 1962-1987

Reading Clinic 1953-1987

Registrar's Office 1971-1985

Registration 1973-1983

Rehab Counseling 1968-1956

Religion, School of 1954-1984

Reports/Stats 1956-1988

Research: Nursing, Pharmacy, UIHC 1951-1987

Research, Office of the VP prior to 1993

Box 31

Research, Office of VP 1968-1987

Research Studies Students 1978-1988

Residence Services, Office of prior to 1994

Residence Services 1967-1987

Rights and Freedoms 1967-1987

Rose Bowl 1986

S.I.P.M. 1965-1968

S.O.S 1963-1968

S.P.O.T.S. 1986-1987

Salaries and Raises 1991-1992

Salaries and Raises prior to 1991

Salaries 1951-1987

Satellite-Ranger 1961-1965

Box 32

Satellites-Explorer 1958-1967

Satellites-General 1959-1987

Satellites-Hawkeye 1974-1978

Satellites-Helios 1974-1976

Satellites-IGY 1954-1960

Satellites-INSUN 1961-1972

Satellites-Mariner

Satellites-OGO 1961-1967

Satellites-Pioneer 1958-1975

Satellites-Russian 1955-1987

Saturday and Evening Classes 1971-1987

School Admin/Supervision 1965-1973

School Nurses 1953-1967

School Relations 1971-1967

Schools 1963-1971

Science Education 1972-1979

SCOPE prior to 1991

Seals 1963-1975

Secretarial Workshop 1964-1973

Seminar on University Relations 1970-1974

Box 33

Service gen/Pharmacy/UIHC 1952-1985

Sigma Xi 1971-1975

Sign Policies

Social Welfare 1952-1987

Social Work, School of 1948-1983

Sociology 1967-1979

Space Science Summer 1963-1986

Spanish and Portuguese 1966-1979

Speakers Bureau 1951-1965

Speakers/Lecturers 1985-1988

Speaking of Sciences 1975-1976

Speech and Dramatic Art 1953-1984

Speech and Hearing Center 1964-1980

Speech and Hearing Clinic

Speech Pathology and Audiology 1956-1979

Sports School

Staff 1970-1987

State Board of Public Inst. 1971-1987

State Security Hospital 1968-1972

Stradivari Quartet 1967-1986

Box 34

Student Assistance 1973-1987

Student/Campus Life 1966-1987

Student/Campus Life 1977-1980

Student Counseling 1974-1986

Student Financial Aid

Student Handbook

Student Health 1971-1980

Student Health Services 1980-1995

Student Services 1970-1987

Student Support Services 1968-1987

Subjects of Study 1965-1986

Summer School 1963-1983

Surgery, Dept. of 1977-July 2000

Surgery 1954-1980

Survey of Service 1974-1986

Systems Engineering 1979-1987

T.V. Reports "University Report" 1969-1970

Task Force 1986-1987

Tax Institute 1960-1984

Tax Study Committee (Regents) 1955-1970

Teacher Programs 1966-1987

Television Center 1954-1972

Television (general) 1964-1988

Testing, Measurements, Data 1942-1974

Box 35

Theatre Arts, Dept. of performances prior to 1991

Theatre Arts, Dept. of performances 1991-1992

Therapeutic Insemination 1953-1963

Transit Planning Short Course 1975

Transportation Safety Research Program 1969-1984

Transportation and Security 1950-1985

Tuition and Fees 1948-1981

Tuition and Fees 1990

Tuition and Fees prior to 1990

Tumor Registry 1950-1983

University Budget 1960-1978

UI Foundation 1993-1995

UI Foundation prior to 1990

UIHC 1993-1994

Box 36

UIHC/Administration/General January 1998-July 1998

UIHC Administration/General August 1998- June 1999

UIHC Administration/General July 1999-December 1999

UIHC Budget/Rates 1981-June 1999

UIHC General 1988-1989

UIHC General 1987

UIHC General 1996

UIHC/General 1997

UIHC Outreach Services Sept. 1994- March 2000

Box 37

UIHC Patients: care/reports/stories 1990-1994

UIHC Patients: care/reports/stories 1995-June 1999

University Hospital Transplants 1971-1979

UIHC Transplants prior to 1994

UISG-University of Iowa Student Government 1994-Dec. 1996

UISA 1993

UISG Sept. 1998-1999

UISA 1991-1992

UISA prior to 1990

UI and ISU Name Change and Confusion 1959-1987

Unions 1971-1977

Box 38

Unmet Needs 1969-1971

University House 1977-1980

Women's Issues prior to 1991

WRAC: Women's Resources Action Center March 1998-Jan 2000

WRAC: Women's Resource and Action Center  1995- February 1998

WRAC: Women's Resource and Action Center prior to 1995        

Writers' Workshop 1991-1992

Writers' Workshop 1986-1990

WSUI/KSUI 1993 to 1994

WSUI/KSUI prior to 1993