
|
Records of the Iowa State Board of Education / Board of Regents Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These records have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet October 2006. Photographs: |
|
The Iowa State Board of Education / Board of Regents records document oversight activity of the University's governing board following reorganization of the state's Regents institutions in 1909. Prior to that time, each of Iowa's public institutions of higher learning was governed locally by an autonomous board, independent of other institutions. Establishment of the Iowa State Board of Education in 1909 (later re-named the Iowa State Board of Regents in 1954) brought a coordinated, state level of authority to the institutions at Iowa City, Ames, and Cedar Falls. The collection covers 1909-1981; more recent records are maintained by Government Publications, Main Library.
Related Materials
Records of the Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909 (RG 04.01)
Box Contents List
Board Records 1909- (bound minutes). 8.0 ft.
Board of Education Minutes, 1935-1947. 2.0 ft.
Board Minutes, 1947-1960. 5.0 ft.
Regents Minutes, 1960-1981, including indexes through June 1982. 8.0 ft.
Regents, Facts About (1970-1971). 0.25 ft.
Regents Procedural Guide. 5.0 ft.
Regents Merit System. 0.25 ft.
Iowa Board of Education Biennial Report. 2.0 ft.
Legislative Askings. 0.25 ft.
Regents Intercollegiate Standing Committee. 0.25 ft.
Finance Committee Index, 1916-1972. 1.5 ft.
Regents Information, 1950s-1960s. 0.75 ft.
Finance Committee, University of Iowa, 1935-1937. 0.25 ft.
Finance Committee, 1937- . 6.0 ft.
Finance Committee, UNI 1947- . 0.5 ft.
Finance Committee, Vinton-State School for the Blind. 0.5 ft.
Finance Committee, Council Bluffs-State School for the Deaf. 0.5 ft.
Finance Committee, Oakdale. 0.5 ft.
Exhibits, Financial. 1.0 ft.
Regents Legislative Notes, 1971. 0.25 ft.
Regents Seminar Academic Planning. 0.25 ft.
Detailed Computation of Operating & Capitol Funds Requests. 0.25 ft.
Financial Requirements for the Biennium: Work Book. 0.5 ft.
Regents Indexes. 0.75 ft.
Board of Regents "Newsletter", and Annual Report. 0.25 ft.
Reports (University of Iowa Office of the President), 1970s. 0.5 ft.
Board of Education; Finance Committee minutes on microfilm; 1909-48.