Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Records of the School of Library and Information Science
RG 06.20
Collection Dates: 1966-2000
6.5 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the School of Library and Information Science have been transferred from the School to the University Archives at various times. The Course Syllabi and Notes series, 1969-70, was donated by Corinne Stutts, an alumna. Guide posted to the Internet November 2007.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

The Records of the University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science are arranged into eight series: Administrative, Printed Material, Student-Produced Projects, Beta Phi Mu (Beta Beta Theta Chapter), Director's Files, Course Syllabi and Notes, Alumni Correspondence, and Comprehensive Exams. In the Comprehensive Exams series, names of the students associated with the files were removed to ensure privacy, and a sampling of exams representing activity every four years was retained.


Historical Note

The University of Iowa School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) was created in 1965 by an act of the Iowa state Board of Regents, with the first classes offered in September 1967. Prior to this time, courses in librarianship were offered at UI through the College of Education. The School's first director, Frederick Wezeman, was appointed in September 1966 and served until his retirement in 1980. He was succeeded by Carl Orgren, who served until 1996, Padmini Srinivasan from 1996 to 2000, Joseph Kearney (interim director) from 2000 to 2002, David Eichmann from 2002 to 2006, and James Elmborg in 2006 (interim director), becoming director in 2007.

The School achieved accreditation by the American Library Association for the first time in 1971. In 1983 the School's name was changed from School of Library Science to School of Library and Information Science. In 2000, during a program reorganization, SLIS moved from the College of Liberal Arts to the Graduate College.


Related Materials

Papers of Frederick Wezeman (RG 99.0123)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Administrative

ALA Accreditation Report, 1974

----. 1980

Application procedures, 1973-1976

Public programs, 1969-1974

Self-study, 1973

----. 1979

Printed Material

Library School News Notes; Information and Schedule; SLIS Newsletter, 1968-

Bulletin, 1967-1970

Student Guide, 1973-1976

Student Newsletter, 1973-1976

Student-Produced Projects

Carnegie Libraries in Iowa calendar project, 2007

Handbook for the University Main Library, 1972

Information Resources in Iowa City, 1970

Selected and Annotated List of Government Publications on Drug Abuse and Misuse for the High School Library, 1971

Sources of Information on Censorship in Iowa, 1971[?]

Beta Phi Mu (Beta Beta Theta Chapter)

Newsletter, 1989-

By-laws

Box 2

Director's Files

Correspondence, 1967-1968

----. September-December 1968

----. January-July 1969

----. August-December 1969

----. January-August 1970

----. September-October 1970

----. November-December 1970

----. January-March 1971

----. April-June 1971

Box 3

----. July-September 1971

----. October-December 1971

----. January-March 1972

----. April-June 1972

----. July-September 1972

----. October-December 1972

----. January-March 1973

----. April-June 1973

----. July-September 1973

----. October-December 1973

Box 4

----. January-March 1974

----. April-June 1974

----. July-September 1974

----. October-December 1974

----. January-March 1975

----. April-June 1975

----. July-September 1975

----. October 1975-March 1976

----. April-June 1976

----. July-September 1976

----. October-December 1976

----. January-March 1977

----. April-June 1977

Box 5

----. July-September 1977

----. October-December 1977

----. January-March 1978

----. April-June 1978

----. July-September 1978

----. October-December 1978

----. Public relations, January 1971-December 1976

Board of Regents talk regarding liquor at University of Iowa, July 1974

Iowa City Public Library directorship, July 1974

Memoes, 1967-1976

Box 6

Lectures, speeches and reviews, 1963-1978

Clippings, 1966-1976

Course Syllabi and Notes

Cataloging and Classification, Spring 1969

Reference I, Spring 1969

Box 7

Book Selection, Spring 1969

Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Summer 1969

Advanced Reference, Fall 1969

History of Libraries and Librarianship, Fall 1969

Multi-Media Concept in Libraries, Fall 1969

Box 8

Bibliography of the Humanities, Spring 1970

College and University Libraries, Spring 1970

Introduction to Information Science, Spring 1970

Supplement: Deere and Company Library, Spring 1970

Bibliography of the Sciences, Summer 1970

Information about course syllabi and registration; requirements; comprehensive exams; list of library journals, 1969-1970

Alumni Correspondence

Stutts, Corinne, 1984-1996

Box 9

Comprehensive Exams

Questions used in exams, 1981-1996

Exams, Summer 1972 (3 folders)

----. Fall 1972

Box 10

----. Fall 1976

----. Spring 1980 (2 folders)

----. Summer 1980

Box 11

----. Summer 1980

----. Fall 1980

----. Spring 1984

----. Summer 1984

----. Fall 1984

Box 12

----. Spring 1988

----. Summer 1988

----. Fall 1988

----. Spring 1992

Box 13

----. Spring 2000

----. Summer 2000