Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Records of the University Libraries
RG 21.01
Collection Dates: 1857-2003
62.75 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Box Contents List

Box 1

Librarian's Reports, 1857 -- 1904

Report of the Librarian, bound in scrapbook, 1905 -- 1913

Annual Reports of the Library, 1913/1914 -- 1923/1924

Report of Director of Libraries, 1926

Library Reports, 1924 -- 1927

Box 2

Annual Reports, 1927/1928 -- 1945 (no report written for 1930/1931)

Annual Reports, Ellsworth, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946

Box 3

Annual Reports

Acquisitions Department, 1949/1950

Art Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946, 1948/1949

Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library, 1948/1949 -- 1949/1950

Campus Special Library, 1949/1950

Cataloging Department, 1906/1907 -- 1944/1945

Circulation Department, 1924/1925 -- 1947/1948

Box 4

Annual Reports, cont.

Departmental Libraries, 1924/1925 -- 1947/1948

Box 5

Annual Reports, cont.

Dental Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946

Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library, 1933/1934 -- 1950/1951

Education/Psychology Library, 1951/1952 -- 1952/1953

English Reading Room, 1949/1950

Foreign Languages Library, 1932/1933 -- 1949/1950, incomplete

Government Documents Department, 1931/1932 -- 1949/1950

Inter-library Loan Department, 1948/1949 -- 1949/1950

Iowa Authors Collection, 1948/1949 -- 1953/1954

Library Instruction Department, 1932/1933 -- 1944/1945 (1942/1943 missing)

Math Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946

Medical Library, 1924/1925, 1929/1930, 1932/1933

Public Service Division, 1945/1946 -- 1947/1948

Box 6

Annual Reports, cont.

Order and Binding Department, 1923/1924 -- 1934/1935

Order and Binding Department, 1935/1936 -- 1942/1943

Order Department, 1943/1944 -- 1944/1945, 1948/1949

Binding Department, 1943/1944 -- 1944/1945, 1948 -- 1949

Box 7

Annual Reports, cont.

Reference Department, 1923/1924 -- 1947/1948

Reference and Circulation Department, 1948/1949

Reserve Reading Room, 1923/1924 -- 1947/1948

Serial Department, 1927/1928 -- 1949/1950

Serial-Reserve Department, 1948/1949

Undergraduate Study Halls, 1924/1925 -- 1925/1926, 1927/1928 -- 1929/1930

Box 8

Art Library

Correspondence, 1937 -- 1951

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures, July 1948

Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1926 -- 1944

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Inventory, 1947

Campus Special Library

Attendance Reports, 1946 -- 1949

Correspondence and Memos, 1939 -- 1951

Inventory, 1945? -- 1949?

Cataloging Department

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1935, 1941 -- 1946

Box 9

Circulation Department

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1949

Commons Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1942 -- 1943

Inventory, 1942 -- 1943

Policies and Procedures, 1942

Communication Skills Reading Room

Attendance Reports, 1948 -- 1951

Correspondence and Memos, 1946 -- ?

Inventory, 1947 -- 1949

Currier Hall Library

Attendance Reports, 1948? -- 1949

Correspondence and Memos, 1939 -- 1949

Box 10

Dental Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1930 -- 1948

Inventory, 1944 -- 1948

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1946

Periodical Data

Departmental Libraries

Correspondence, 1924 -- 1926

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1935, 1942 -- 1949

Reports and Budgets, 1924 -- 1949

Box 11

Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library

Child Welfare Collection, November 1929

Correspondence and Memos, 1929 -- 1952

Curriculum Laboratory

Inventory, 1943

Monthly Reports, 1944 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures

Manual for the Administration of the Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library

Special Reports, Statistics, Diagrams, and Manuals

Summer Session, 1931 -- 1932

Engineering Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1930 -- 1948

Inventory, 1943, 1945

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Box 12

English Reading Room

Correspondence, 1939 -- 1948

Inventory, 1949

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1947

Foreign Languages Library

Correspondence, 1923 -- 1947

Inventory, 1945 -- 1949

Monthly Reports, 1932 -- 1951

Reports

Geology Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1927 -- 1952

Inventory

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures

Box 13

Government Documents Department

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1949, incomplete

Hillcrest Library

Bookplate

Correspondence and Memos, 1938 -- 1948

Inventory and Attendance Records, 1939 -- 1943

Monthly Reports, 1948 -- 1951

Journalism Library

Correspondence, 1947 -- 1950

Monthly Reports, 1948 -- 1949

Library Instruction

Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1945, incomplete

Math/Physics Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1933 -- 1946

Inventory

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures

Medical Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1924 -- 1953

Inventory

Monthly Reports, 1925 -- 1931, incomplete; 1945 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures, 1942

Box 14

Memorial Union Library

Correspondence, memos, and reports, 1932 -- 1939

Military Library

Correspondence, 1930 -- 1948

Inventory, 1939

Music Library

Monthly Reports, 1957 -- 1960

Order and Binding Department

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1943, incomplete

Order Department

Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1946

Binding Department

Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1946

Periodical Reading Room

Monthly Reports, 1928 -- 1931

Box 15

Quadrangle Library

Bookplate

Correspondence, 1935 -- 1950

Policies and Procedures

Reports, 1947 -- 1950

Reference Department

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1931; 1934 -- 1935; 1942 -- 1949, incomplete

Reports

Reserve Reading Room

Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1931; 1934 -- 1935; 1943 -- 1949

Box 16

Serial Department

Correspondence and Memos, 1931 -- 1949

Monthly Reports, 1934 -- 1949

Undergraduate Study Hall

Monthly Reports, 1925 -- 1931

Westlawn Library

Inventory ?

Zoology Library

Correspondence and Memos, 1925 -- 1952

Inventory, 1942

Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960

Policies and Procedures

 

Collection also includes the following unprocessed materials:


ADMINISTRATIVE SERIES

Library Strategic Plan 1998 & 1993. 0.25 ft.
Library Self-Study 1985 and 1998, Review of Libraries 1999. 0.25 ft.
Library Annual Report 1857-1948, bound volumes. 1.0 ft.
Libraries Annual Report, 1989- , in archives cataloged.
Library Reports.
Library Personnel Directory. 0.25 ft.
Library Subjects (early admin files). 0.5 ft.
Early history: Libraries book lists, 3 volumes, pre-1900; Libraries correspondence, 1895-98; Libraries' Medical and Homeopathic topic catalogs, pre-1900; Libraries Accessions, 2 volumes, 1873-1899; Libraries Accessions Serials, pre-1893. All in flat boxes. 10.0 ft.

PUBLICATIONS AND OUTREACH SERIES

Library catalogued and delayed. 2.0 ft.
Library Publication Projects. 0.25 ft.
Library Publications. 0.5 ft.
Library Handbooks. 0.5 ft.
Library Bibliographies. 0.25 ft.
Bookplate Samples. 0.25 ft.
Library Exhibit Catalogs. 0.25 ft.
Library Exhibits (pamphlets and guides). 0.5 ft.
Hawkeye Library Notes, 1937-1946. 0.25 ft.
"Bindings" (University Libraries Publication), 1997-. 0.5 ft.
Hawkeye Library Notes, 1937-46. 0.5 ft.
Iowa City Library Club, Book Arts Rag. 0.25 ft.
Hoover Presidential Library newsletter, The American Road. 0.25 ft.
"Books at Iowa" Numbers 1-10, bound; numbers 11-65 unbound; at archives cataloged serials. 2.0 ft.

COMMITTEES SERIES

Committee minutes, memoranda; 1988-1998 (acc. 2001-13). 5.0 ft.
Library Self-Study Committee, 1984-1986. 0.25 ft.
University Library Committee minutes, correspondence. 2.0 ft.
Heads of Library and Library Staff Meeting. 0.25 ft.
Department Heads/Administration Council Minutes. 1.0 ft.
Library Administrative Council Minutes, 1949-1994; called Department Heads, 1949-1981; Admininstrative Council 1974-1994. 1.0 ft.
University Library Committee. 1.0 ft.

FACILITIES SERIES

Library Buildings. 0.25 ft.

GRANTS AND GIFTS SERIES

Gift Records. 0.5 ft.
Library Gifts, Dunlap. 0.25 ft.
Library Gifts, Bentz. 0.25 ft.
Library Grant Applications. 1.25 ft.
Frank S. Hanlin Book Fund. 0.25 ft.

DEPARTMENTS AND SERVICES SERIES

Acquisitions Dept. records (Wachel). 4.5 ft.
Automation Dept.: OASIS manuals, 1988-92. 0.5 ft.
Library Acquisitions: An Update. 0.25 ft.
Cataloging Dept. records: 1949-1962. 0.5 ft.
Cataloging Dept. records (Monson). 1.5 ft.
Government Documents (Iowa Documents). 0.5 ft.
Information Arcade. 0.5 ft.
Information Arcade Bulletin. 0.25 ft.
Maps Dept. Maps at Iowa. 0.25 ft.
Goldman Band Library (administered by Welch at School of Music). 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Leigh Hunt Bicentennial 1984. 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Sheets, George M. Iowa Historical Documents, 1956-1959. 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Includes Iowa Authors Annual Reports. 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. accession records, includes Statistical Chart of Accessions, journals of accessions 1965-2001, accounts of field trips and other acquisition activity (acc. 2003-88). 1.5 ft.

BRANCHES SERIES

Education-Psychology Library. 0.25 ft.
Engineering Library Bulletin. 0.25 ft.
Hardin Library for the Health Science on-line newsletter "News@Hardin". 0.25 ft.
Hardin Library "News Notes" and staff reports, John Martin Rare Book Room support group material (1995-2002). 0.25 ft.
Health Science Library. 0.25 ft.
Rita Benton Music Library Commencement Oration. 0.25 ft.
Music librarian Jody Falconer- office files rcvd 6/18/00 and 8/00. 1.5 ft.
Rita Benton Music Library. 0.25 ft.
Mathematical Sciences Library. 1.0 ft.

TRAINING SERIES

Summer library school, 1902-1920s. 2.5 ft.

HISTORICAL SERIES

(NOTE: All of the following are in oversize boxes) 10.0 ft.
OS box 1: Book lists for classes, #1-999. 3 vol. n.d., likely pre-1900.
OS box 2: Correspondence, 1895-98. Medical and Homeopathic Library catalogs.
OS box 3: Accessions serials, 1-10,000. 2 vol. [?] to 1879.
OS box 4: Accessions, 20,001-30,000. 1893-97.
OS box 5: Catalog of classified titles. 1873-74. List of books in departmental libraries, 1 vol., 1896. Talbot Library catalog, 1894 (D.H. Talbot, Sioux City, Iowa).
OS box 6: Dewey Decimal Classification and Relativ Index, 1899. Talbot Library temporary charging list, 1895. C.A. Cutter's Alfabetic-Order Table. Picture Magazine article about library expansion, 12 Nov. 1972 (Des Moines Register). Correspondence and planning points for consideration of new library, 1915-1924. List of Subject Headings, pre-1900. List of Documents presented to S.U.I. by the Smithsonian Institution, 1873-74. Unbound periodical loans, 1870-80. Catalog of Books, 1869. Binding Lists, 1884-87. Guest register, 1953-60.
OS box 7: Accessions 30,001-40,000, 1896-98. Annual reports, 1893-98.
OS box 8: Accessions 40,001-50,000, 1898-99.
OS box 9: Accessions 1-15,438, 1873-89 (3 vol.).
OS box 10: Serials 10,001-20,000, 1879-93.