Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Dept. of Athletics Guides, Programs and Tickets Collection
RG 28.03.03
Collection Dates: 1900-
14.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of Athletics at various times. Inventory prepared by John Fitzgerald in November 2006. Additional processing by David McCartney in January 2007. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.

Photographs:

Football game program, Iowa vs. Penn State; November 15, 1930
Football game program
November 15, 1930


Scope and Contents

The collection consists of game programs, information guides produced for the news media, and game tickets. It is organized into 23 series, with materials arranged chronologically within each series. Media guides include information about team history, rosters, photographs of athletes and coaching staff, and records.

Series I: Men's basketball media guides
Series II: Men's basketball programs
Series III: Football media guides
Series IV: Football programs
Series V: Baseball
Series VI: Men's golf
Series VII: Men's gymnastics
Series VIII: Men's swimming and diving
Series IX: Men's tennis
Series X: Men's track and field / cross-country
Series XI: Wrestling
Series XII: Women's basketball
Series XIII: Women's tennis
Series XIV: Women's soccer
Series XV: Women's golf
Series XVI: Women's track and field / cross-country
Series XVII: Volleyball
Series XVIII: Softball
Series XIX: Women's gymnastics
Series XX: Women's swimming
Series XXI: Rowing
Series XXII: Field hockey
Series XXIII: Game tickets



Box Contents List

Series I: Mens basketball media guides   [return to top]

Box 1

1954-55--1956-57
1959-60---1971-72
1973-74---1979-1980
1981-82---1984-85
1986-87
1988-89
1990-91
1992-93
1993-94
1997-98
1998-99

Box 2

1999-00
2000-01
2001-02
2002-03

Box 3

2003-04
2004-05
2005-06
2006-07

Series II: Men's basketball programs   [return to top]

Box 1

February 20, 1926 Northwestern
December 4, 1926- St. Louis
December 13, 1926- Wabash
February 5, 1927- Ohio
February 12, 1927- Illinois
February 19, 1927-Purdue
February 26, 1927- Chicago
December 12, 1927, Notre Dame
January 21, 1928- Purdue
February 6, 1928- Minnesota
January 14, 1929- Minnesota
December 12, 1931- Carleton College
December 19, 1931- Nebraska
January 11, 1932- Northwestern
January 16, 1932- Ohio State
1940-41 Information Packet
January 22, 1945- Indiana
December 6, 1954- Nebraska
December 13, 1954- St. Mary's
December 30, 1954-Stanford
January 8, 1955 Minnesota
January 10, 1955- Michigan State
January 17, 1955- Illinois
February 5, 1955- Purdue
February 12, 1955- Indiana
February 14, 1955- Ohio State
December 3, 1955- Nebraska
December 9, 1955- SMU
December 17, 1955- Loyola
January 7, 1956- Michigan State
January 14, 1956- Minnesota
February 13, 1956- Purdue
February 18, 1956- Wisconsin
February 27, 1956- Northwestern
March 3, 1956- Illinois
March 5, 1956- Indiana
March 16-17 1956- Tournament
December 8, 1956- Denver
December 17, 1956- Loyola
December 22, 1956- Kansas State
January 5, 1957- Ohio State
January 12, 1957- Minnesota
February 2, 1957- Indiana
February 9, 1957- Purdue
February 23, 1957- Northwestern
March 2, 1957- Michigan
March 9, 1957- Wisconsin
December 7, 1957- Arizona
December 21, 1957- Oregon State
January 4, 1958- Michigan
February 1, 1958- Ohio State
February 8, 1958- Miami (Ohio)
February 17, 1958- Wisconsin
February 22, 1958- Illinois
March 1, 1958- Michigan State
December 1, 1958- Colorado
December 13, 1958- Texas Tech
December 20, 1958- Washington
January 5, 1959- Michigan State
January 31, 1959- Michigan
February 7, 1959- Minnesota
February 23, 1959- Purdue
February 28, 1959- Illinois
December 5, 1959- Southern Methodist
December 19, 1959- Oklahoma
December 22, 1959- Loyola
January 9, 1960- Northwestern
January 11, 1960- Michigan State
January 16, 1960- Purdue
January 25, 1960- Minnesota
February 15, 1960- Wisconsin
February 20, 1960- Indiana
March 5, 1960- Michigan
March 16-17, 1962- Tournament
November 30, 1968- Cal Poly
December 4, 1968- Northern Michigan
December 7, 1968- Wisconsin, Milwaukee
December 19, 1968- North Dakota
December 21, 1968- Creighton
January 4, 1969- Michigan
January 11, 1969- Indiana
January 14, 1969- Michigan State
January 18, 1969- Minnesota
February 11, 1969- Northwestern
February 25, 1969-Illinois
March 1, 1969- Purdue
December 9, 1969- St. Francis
December 11, 1969- Duquesne
December 20, 1969- Creighton
December 22, 1969- Drake
January 24, 1970- Tennessee Tech
January 31, 1970- Indiana
February 3, 1970- Minnesota
February 24, 1970- Northwestern
December 17, 1970- Cincinnati
February 2 1971- Illinois
February 13, 1971- Indiana
February 20, 1971- Purdue
February 27, 1971- Wisconsin
March 9, 1971- Michigan
December 1, 1971- Hardin-Simmons
December 23, 1972- Marquette
January 6, 1973- Minnesota
January 27, 1973- North Carolina
January 29, 1973- Michigan
February 12, 1973- Ohio State
February 17, 1973- Wisconsin
March 3, 1973- Indiana
March 10, 1973- Illinois
December 20, 1975- US International
February 25, 1982- Wisconsin
August 2, 1987- Shooting for Iowa Farm Scholarships
February 26, 1989- Purdue
December 30, 1989- Monmouth
January 20, 1990- Michigan
February 3, 1990- Northwestern
February 2, 1991- Northwestern
February 27, 1993- Michigan State
March 5, 1995- Michigan
December 23, 1995- Morehead State
January 11, 2003 - Michigan State
January 29, 2005 - Indiana
February 5, 2005 - Michigan State

Series III: Football media guides    [return to top]

Box 1

1952-1982

Box 2

1983
1986-1991
1993-1995
1997

Box 3

1998-2003

Box 4

2004-

Series IV: Football programs   [return to top]

Box 1

November 29, 1900 - Northwestern
November 24, 1906- Iowa State
November 2, 1907- Wisconsin
October 31, 1908- Nebraska
November 18, 1911- Iowa State
November 15, 1913- Iowa State
November 22, 1913- Nebraska
1916 Grinnell
October 20, 1917- Grinnell
October 6, 1917- Cornell
October 20, 1923- Illinois
November 3, 1323- Michigan
October 11, 1924- Ohio State
October 17, 1925- Illinois
October 25, 1924- Minnesota
November 6, 1926- Minnesota
November 20, 1926- Northwestern
October 8, 1927- Ohio State
November 3, 1928- South Dakota
October 19, 1929- Illinois
November 9, 1929- Minnesota
October 4, 1930- Oklahoma A & M
October 18, 1930- Purdue
November 15, 1930- Penn State
October 17, 1931- Indiana
October 3, 1931- Pittsburgh
October 24, 1931- Minnesota
November 21, 1931- Northwestern
October 22, 1932- Minnesota
October 7, 1933- Bradley
October 21, 1933- Wisconsin
November 4, 1933- Iowa State
September 29, 1934- South Dakota
October 20, 1934- Iowa State
October 27, 1934- Minnesota
November 10, 1934- Purdue
September 28, 1935- Bradley
October 5, 1935- South Dakota
October 12, 1935- Colgate
November 2, 1935- Indiana
November 9, 1935- Minnesota
October 3, 1936- Northwestern
October 17, 1936- Illinois
November 14, 1936- Purdue
October 9, 1937- Bradley
October 23, 1937- Michigan
November 6, 1937- Minnesota
October 22, 1938- Colgate
November 19, 1938- Nebraska

Box 2

September 30, 1939- South Dakota
October 28, 1939- Wisconsin
November 18, 1939- Minnesota
October 5, 1940- South Dakota
October 12, 1940- Wisconsin
November 2, 1940- Purdue
November 23, 1940- Illinois
November 1, 1941- Indiana
September 26, 1942- Nebraska
October 17, 1942- Illinois
October 31, 1942- Purdue
November 7, 1942-Wisconsin
November 28, 1942- Michigan
October 2, 1943- Wisconsin
October 21, 1944- Purdue
November 25, 1944- Seahawks
September 29, 1945- Air Troop Carriers
November 3, 1945- Wisconsin
November 24, 1945- Nebraska
September 28, 1946- Purdue
October 12, 1946- Nebraska
October 26, 1946- Notre Dame
November 2, 1946- Illinois
September 20, 1947- North Dakota State
September 26, 1947- UCLA
October 11, 1947- Indiana
October 16, 1948- Purdue
October 30, 1948- Wisconsin
November 13, 1948- Minnesota
September 24, 1949- UCLA
October 1, 1949- Purdue
October 8, 1949- Illinois
October 15, 1949- Indiana
October 29, 1949- Oregon
September 29, 1950- Southern California
October 14, 1950- Wisconsin
October 21, 1950- Purdue
November 18, 1950- Notre Dame
September 29, 1951- Kansas State
October 20, 1951- Michigan
October 18, 1952- Wisconsin
October 25, 1952- Ohio State
November 1, 1952- Minnesota
November 8, 1952- Illinois
November 22, 1952- Notre Dame
September 26, 1953- Michigan State
October 3, 1953- Washington State
October 17, 1953- Wyoming
October 24, 1953- Indiana
November 14, 1953- Minnesota

Box 3

September 25, 1954- Michigan State
October 2, 1954- Montana
October 30, 1954- Wisconsin
November 6, 1954- Purdue
November 20, 1954- Notre Dame
September 24, 1955- Kansas State
October 8, 1955- Indiana
October 15, 1955- Purdue
November 5, 1955- Minnesota
October 6, 1956- Oregon State
October 13, 1956- Wisconsin
October 20, 1956- Hawaii
November 3, 1956- Michigan
November 17 1956-Ohio State
November 24, 1956- Notre Dame
January 1, 1957- Oregon State- Rose Bowl
September 28, 1957- Utah State
October 5, 1957- Washington State
October 19, 1957- Wisconsin
November 9, 1957- Minnesota
September 27, 1958- Texas Christian
October 4, 1958- Air Force Academy
October 11, 1958- Indiana
October 18, 1958-Wisconsin
October 25, 1958- Northwestern
November 15, 1958- Ohio State
November 22, 1958- Notre Dame
October 3, 1959- Northwestern
October 10, 1959- Michigan State
October 17, 1959- Wisconsin
October 31, 1959- Kansas State
November 7, 1959- Minnesota
November 21, 1959- Notre Dame

Box 4

September 24, 1960- Oregon State
October 1, 1960- Northwestern
October 15, 1960- Wisconsin
October 22, 1960- Purdue
October 29, 1960- Kansas
November 12, 1960- Ohio State
November 19, 1960- Notre Dame
September 30, 1961- California
October 14, 1961- Indiana
October 21, 1961- Wisconsin
November 11, 1961- Minnesota
November 18, 1961- Michigan
September 29, 1962- Oregon State
October 6, 1962- Southern California
October 27, 1962- Purdue
November 3, 1962- Ohio State
November 17 1962- Michigan
September 28, 1963- Washington State
October 12, 1963- Indiana
October 19, 1963- Wisconsin
November 9, 1963- Minnesota
November 23, 1963- Notre Dame
September 26, 1964- Idaho
October 3, 1964- Washington
October 24, 1964- Purdue
October 31, 1964- Ohio State
November 14, 1964- Michigan
September 18, 1965- Washington State
October 9, 1965- Purdue
October 16, 1965- Minnesota
November 6, 1965- Michigan State
November 20, 1965- North Carolina State
September 17, 1966- Arizona
September 24, 1966- Oregon State
October 1, 1966- Wisconsin
October 22, 1966- Northwestern
October 29, 1966- Indiana
November 12, 1966- Ohio State

Box 5

September 23, 1967- Texas Christian
September 30, 1967- Oregon State
October 28, 1967- Purdue
November 4, 1967- Minnesota
November 25, 1967- Illinois
September 21, 1968- Oregon State
October 5, 1968- Notre Dame
October 12, 1968- Indiana
October 19, 1968- Wisconsin
November 9, 1968- Northwestern
November 16, 1968- Ohio State
September 20, 1969- Oregon State
October 4, 1969- Arizona
October 25, 1969- Michigan State
November 1, 1969- Minnesota
November 15, 1969- Michigan
September 26, 1970- Southern California
October 10, 1970- Wisconsin
October 17, 1970- Purdue
November 7, 1970- Indiana
November 21, 1970- Illinois
September 25, 1971- Penn State
October 9, 1971- Northwestern
October 16, 1971- Minnesota
October 30 1971- Wisconsin
November 13, 1971- Indiana
November 20, 1971- Illinois
September 23, 1972- Oregon State
October 7, 1972- Purdue
October 28, 1972, Michigan State
November 4, 1972- Wisconsin
November 11, 1972- Michigan
November 25, 1972- Illinois

Box 6

September 15, 1973- Michigan
October 6, 1973- Arizona
October 13, 1973- Northwestern
October 20, 1973- Minnesota
November 3, 1973- Purdue
November 24, 1973- Michigan State
September 21, 1974- UCLA
September 28, 1974- Penn State
October 12, 1974- Northwestern
October 26, 1974 Illinois
November 9, 1974- Wisconsin
November 16, 1974- Ohio State

September 13, 1975- Illinois

September 27, 1975- Penn State
October 4, 1975- Southern California
October 25, 1975 Minnesota
November 8, 1975- Wisconsin
November 22, 1975- Michigan State

September 18, 1976- Syracuse

October 9, 1976- Ohio State

October 16, 1976- Indiana

October 30, 1976- Northwestern

November 13, 1976- Purdue

September 10, 1977- Northwestern

September 17, 1977- Iowa State

October 8, 1977- Minnesota
October 15, 1977- Ohio State

November 5, 1977- Indiana


Box 7


September 16, 1978- Northwestern

September 23, 1978- Iowa State

October 28, 1978- Purdue

November 4, 1978- Michigan

November 18, 1978- Wisconsin

September 8, 1979- Indiana

September 22, 1979- Nebraska

September 29, 1979- Iowa State

October 20, 1979- Minnesota

November 3, 1979- Purdue

November 17, 1979- Michigan State

September 27, 1980- Iowa State

October 4, 1980- Arizona
October 11, 1980- Illinois

October 18, 1980- Northwestern

November 1, 1980- Wisconsin

September 12, 1981- Nebraska

September 19, 1981- Iowa State

September 26, 1981- UCLA

October 10, 1981- Indiana

October 24, 1981- Minnesota

November 7, 1981- Purdue

November 21, 1981- Michigan State


Box 8

September 18, 1982- Iowa State
October 2, 1982- Northwestern

October 16, 1982- Michigan
October 30, 1982- Illinois
November 13, 1982- Wisconsin

September 24, 1983- Ohio State
October 1, 1983- Illinois

October 8, 1983- Northwestern

October 15, 1983- Purdue

October 29, 1983- Indiana

November 19, 1983- Minnesota

September 8, 1984- Iowa State

September 15, 1984- Penn State

September 29, 1984- Illinois

October 20, 1984- Michigan

November 3, 1984- Wisconsin

November 10, 1984- Michigan State
December 1, 1984- Hawaii

 

Box 9

September 14, 1985- Drake

October 5, 1985- Michigan State

October 19, 1985- Michigan

November 9, 1985- Illinois

November 23, 1985- Minnesota

September 27, 1986- Texas-El paso

October 11, 1986- Wisconsin

October 25, 1986- Northwestern

November 1, 1986- Ohio State

November 15, 1986- Purdue

August 30, 1987- Tennessee

September 26, 1987- Kansas State

October 3, 1987- Michigan State

October 31, 1987- Indiana

November 21, 1987- Minnesota

 

Box 10


September 17, 1988- Colorado

September 24, 1988- Iowa State

October 8, 1988- Wisconsin

November 5, 1988- Northwestern

November 12, 1988- Ohio State

September 16, 1989- Oregon
September 30, 1989- Tulsa
October 7, 1989- Michigan State
October 21, 1989- Michigan
November 4, 1989- Illinois
November 25, 1989- Minnesota
September 15, 1990- Cincinnati
September 22, 1990- Iowa State
October 13, 1990- Wisconsin

October 27, 1990- Northwestern
November 3 1990- Illinois
November 10, 1990- Ohio State
November 17, 1990- Purdue

 

Box 11


September 7, 1991- Hawaii

October 19, 1991- Illinois

September 5, 1992- Miama

September 22, 1992- Colorado
October 17, 1992- Illinois
November 7, 1992- Indiana

November 14, 1992- Northwestern
November 21, 1992- Minnesota

September 4, 1993- Tulsa
October 23, 1993- Michigan State
October 1, 1994- Michigan
October 8, 1994- Indiana

September 9, 1995- Northern Iowa
October 21, 1995- Penn State
December 29, 1995- Washington (Sun Bowl)

September 7, 1996- Arizona

October 25, 1997- Indiana

September 5, 1998- Central Michigan

September 12, 1998- Iowa state

October 3, 1998- Michigan

October 10, 1998- Northwestern

November 14, 1998- Ohio State

October 23, 1999- Indiana

 

Box 12


September 9, 2000- Western Michigan

September 16, 2000- Iowa State

October 7, 2000- Michigan State

October 21, 2000- Ohio State

October 28, 2000- Wisconsin

November 4, 2000- Penn State

November 11, 2000- Northwestern
September 1, 2001- Kent State
October 27, 2001- Michigan
August 31, 2002- Akron

September 14, 2002- Iowa State
September 21, 2002- Utah State

October 12, 2002- Michigan State
August 30, 2003- Miami (Ohio)
September 6, 2003- Buffalo
September 20, 2003- Arizona State

October 25, 2003- Penn State

November 1, 2003- Illinois

November 15, 2003- Minnesota

 

Box 13


September 4, 2004- Kent State

September 11, 2004- Iowa State
October 2, 2004- Michigan State

October 16, 2004- Ohio State

October 23, 2004- Penn State

November 6, 2004- Purdue

November 20, 2004- Wisconsin
September 3, 2005 - Ball State
November 19, 2005- Minnesota
November 11, 2006 - Wisconsin

Series V: Baseball   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1985
1988
1990-1995
1998-

Series VI: Men's golf  
[return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1971-1985 folder (incomplete)
1990-1996
1998-

Series VII: Men's gymnastics  
[return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1982
1986-87
1987-88
1989-90
1990-91
1992-1997-98
1999-

Series VIII: Men's swimming and diving  
[return to top]

Box 1

Library Annex pool operation record, 1950-1961 (bound volume)
Media guides:
1980
1982-83
1984-1988-89
1990-91--1993-94
1995-96
1997-98--2004
2006-


Series IX: Men's tennis  
[return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1985
1988-1995
1997-

Series X: Men's track and field / cross-country   
[return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1984
1986-87
1988-1994
1996
1998-

Series XI: Wrestling  
[return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1973-

Series XII: Women's basketball  
[return to top]

Box 1

Rosters:
1981-82
1982-83
1983-84
1984-85
1985-86
1987-88
1989-90

Basketball Programs:
December 9, 1984- Illinois State
December 15, 1984- Iowa State
January 9, 1985- Nebraska
January 11, 1985- Minnesota
January 18, 1985- Michigan State
January 20, 1985- Michigan
February 22, 1985- Wisconsin
1986 NCAA Tournament
December 11, 1987- Nebraska
January 10, 1988- Northwestern
January 29, 1988- Indiana
February 12, 1988- Minnesota
February 19, 1988- Purdue
March 24 and 26, 1988- Tournament
December 10-11, 1988- Amana-Hawkeye Classic
1990- NCAA Tournament
November 30-December 1, 1991- Amana-Hawkeye Classic
February 28, 1993- Michigan

Media Guides:
1982-83
1985-86
1987-88
1988-89
1992-93
1993-94
1998-99
2000-01
2001-02
2002-03
2003-04
2004-05

Box 2

2005-06
2006-07

Series XIII: Women's tennis   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1985
1986
1994
1998
2000
2001
2003
2005-


Series XIV: Soccer   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1997
1998
2000-2004
2006

Series XV: Women's golf   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1986
1988
1994
1999
2000
2002-2005

Series XVI: Women's track and field / cross-country   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1985
1990
1994
1998-2004
2007

Series XVII: Volleyball   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1985-1987
1990
1993
1996-1998
2000-

Series XVIII: Softball   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1983
1985
1986-1988
1994
1998
2000-

Series XIX: Women's gymnastics   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1978
1983
1984
1994
1998
2000-

Series XX: Women's swimming   [return to top]

Box 1

Seals Women's Swimming Club programs - 1953, 1954
Programs, 1977-1985 (incomplete)
Media Guides:
1985-1988
1993
1997-2004

Series XXI: Rowing   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1996
1997
1999
2000
2002-2005

Series XXII: Field hockey   [return to top]

Box 1

Media guides:
1962
1981-1986
1989
1990
1992-1997
1999-

Series XXIII: Game tickets    [return to top]

Box 1

1925-26
1929
1953-2006