Skip navigation.

print logo

Return to AZ List
Finding Aid

Bruce C. Heezen Papers
RG 99.0085
Collection Dates: 1938-2000
4.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marilyn Jackson in September 2000.  Finding aid created February 2008.

Photographs: Box 1; Box 2

Bruce C. Heezen

Bruce C. Heezen


Scope and Contents

The Bruce C. Heezen papers include correspondence, clippings, maps and photographs that document the career of Mr. Heezen as an oceanographer at the Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory of Columbia University in Palisades, New York.  One VHS tape documents the christening ceremony of the USNS Bruce C. Heezen. Correspondence from Marie Tharp, a colleague of Mr. Heezen, includes a list of every research cruise of Mr. Heezen between 1947 and 1977.  Maps created by Mr. Heezen are located at the Smithsonian Institution Archives, as well as material documenting his faculty research at Columbia.  Marie Tharp donated 40,000 maps to the Library of Congress in 1995.


Biographical Note

Bruce C. Heezen was born April 11, 1924 in Vinton, Iowa, to Charles C. and Esther (Schirding) Heezen.  When he was six years old his family moved to Muscatine, Iowa.  Mr. Heezen graduated from Muscatine High School in 1942.

 

He attended the State University of Iowa and received his B.A. degree in geology in 1948.  While attending S.U.I., he was influenced to study oceanography by Professor Maurice Ewing, a lecturer from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution in Massachusetts.  Mr. Heezen took his M.S. and Ph.D. at Columbia University in 1952 and 1957, where he studied under Mr. Ewing.  He was associate professor of geology and an oceanographer at the Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory of Columbia University from 1949 until his death on June 21, 1977.  His discovery of the central rift valley in the Mid-Atlantic Ridge while leading a team of Columbia University researchers advanced the knowledge of plate tectonics.

Mr. Heezen and his colleagues, Marie Tharp and Maurice Ewing, created their first map of the ocean floor in 1957.  Their physiographic maps appeared in National Geographic and featured the Indian Ocean (1967), Atlantic Ocean (1968), and the Pacific Ocean (1969).  They also mapped the world ocean floor, which was published by the U.S. Navy in 1977.  The U.S. Navy named an oceanographic survey ship after him in 1999.


Related Materials

Folder, "Heezen, Bruce C.," Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.01)

Jackson, Marilyn. “He Explored the Mountains of the Sea.“ Iowan 29, no. 3 (March 15,1981):14-17; 52-53



Box Contents List

Box 1

Muscatine High School Hall of Honor


plaque, 1998

program, 2000


Photographs


Color photocopy of a school photograph, ca. 1938

Black and white photographs


Dr. Heezen portrait, n.d.

Dr. Heezen and Captain Henry Kohler inspecting a dredge haul in the Pacific, 1977

Photograph of drawing of Dr. Heezen by Heinrich Berann, 1971

Photograph of drawing of Marie Tharp by Heinrich Berann, 1972

Marie Tharp with physiographic map, 1978

Marie Tharp and Dr. Heezen charting a map, n.d.

Dr. Maurice Ewing and Dr. Heezen working on a project, n.d.

Dr. Heezen, Roger Revell, and Dr. Maurice Ewing aboard a research vessel in New York, 1959

Dr. Heezen in his office at Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory, n.d.


Clippings

Marie Tharp

Marilyn Jackson article drafts

Bruce Heezen background material

Correspondence


Glenn Cray, 1980

Esther Christine (Schirding) Heezen Dauch, 1980-2000

Lamont-Doherty, 1986

Charles Hollister, Iowan article, 1980

Marie Tharp, 1980; 2000


Robert Ballard clippings, 1999-2000


USNS Bruce C. Heezen christening ceremonies, March 29, 1999


VHS tape

Clippings

Program and ceremony details

Box 2

Maps


Deep Sea topography with indications of mineral deposits, 44 x 76, 1978

World Ocean Floor, 24 x 38, 1977


Photographs


Photograph of artist's portrait of Dr. Heezen in color pastels, ca. 1961

Photographs of artist's portrait of Dr. Heezen in pen, n.d.

Dr. Heezen at Piermont dock, between 1962 and 1977

Bruce Heezen color portrait, ca. 1940

Photograph of drawing of Dr. Heezen by Heinrich Berann, 1971


Posters


"Name This Ship!" color, 1997

"The Exploration Continues: USNS Bruce C. Heezen" black and white line drawing, n.d.