
|
William J. Haddock Papers Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, September 2007. Photographs: |
William J. Haddock, ca. 1895 |
Scope and Contents
The William J. Haddock papers include his publications and nine scrapbooks from the Currier Memorial Collection.
Biographical Note
William John Haddock was born February 28, 1832, at Toome Bridge, near Belfast, Ireland. His parents emigrated from Ireland to the United States in 1849, living first in Philadelphia, and then moving to Iowa in April 1856. He lived northeast of Iowa City, where he was introduced to and wrote about the Iowa prairie. He then lived briefly in Cedar Rapids, followed by Shueyville, where he worked at a saw mill. In 1859 he moved to Iowa City, where he entered the G.W. & Rush Clark law office as a student of law, learning about law from Mr. Clark, as no law schools existed west of the Mississippi in 1859. The University of Iowa Law School was established in 1868. Mr. Haddock and Mr. Clark became law partners in 1867.
While learning law from Mr. Clark, he also attended the University of Iowa Normal Department for teacher training, and graduated in 1861. He met a Normal Department classmate, Mary Emily Humphrey of Tipton, Iowa, and they married in August 1865.
Mrs. Haddock earned the Bachelor of Didactics (B.D.) degree in 1865, then attended University of Iowa Law Department courses and graduated June 29, 1875. According to John Springer's biographical sketch in The Iowa Alumnus, March 1906, Mary Haddock was the first woman to earn the Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) degree from the University of Iowa Law School, and the first woman to practice in the United States courts, appearing before Judge John F. Dillon at Des Moines.
Mr. Haddock served as Johnson County (Iowa) Superintendent of Schools, 1863-1864. He was appointed circuit court judge from 1872 to 1873. He was elected secretary of the executive committee of the Board of Trustees (Regents) on June 28, 1864. Mr Haddock served as secretary until 1902, under eight University of Iowa presidents and four acting presidents. Taking on what later became the duties of a registrar, administrator of buildings and grounds, supervisor of employees, and lobbyist for University appropriations, Mr. Haddock had great influence within the University for nearly four decades. William J. Haddock died February 28, 1906.
Related Materials
Records of the Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909 (RG 04.01)
Manuscript File Collection on Early University History (RG01.01.01)
William J. Haddock Collection of Photographs (RG30.01.29)
Box Contents List
Box 1
William J. Haddock publications
The Prairies of Iowa, and Other Notes; a Reminiscence. Iowa City, Iowa, 1901
About Festivals: a Copy of a Letter to Mrs. Margaret C. Haddock, Bedford, Iowa. Iowa City, Iowa, 1904
A Retrospect: State University of Iowa. Iowa City, Iowa, 1904
Up-to-date: Postscript to a Retrospect. n.p., 1905
The American Ivy and Utilizing the Same. Iowa City, Iowa, 1905
The American Ivy: Part Second. Iowa City, Iowa, 1905
Box 2
Scrapbook I
Student Handbooks, including student names and addresses, 1889-1895
Close Hall (housed Y.M.C.A.) and Liberal Arts Building (now Schaeffer Hall) blueprints, floor plans, articles, corner stone contents
Course lectures and lecture syllabi, 1892 -- 1900
Scrapbook III, 1883 -- 1901
Commencement programs
Box 3
Scrapbook IV, 1864 -- 1905
Literary Societies
Scrapbook V, 1871 -- 1903
Music and theatre programs
Contests and debates
Scrapbook VI, 1872 -- 1906
Commencement invitations
Scrapbook VII, 1874 -- 1908
Convocations
Assemblies
Class Day exercises, including lyrics and sheet music to Old Gold
Scrapbook VIII, 1889 -- 1904
Classification of colleges
Correspondence
Clippings
Statistics
Comparisons to now-defunct Iowa colleges, 1894
Scrapbook IX , 1873 -- 1901
Correspondence of the Board of Regents
Architects drawings of proposed Iowa City hospital
Museum of Natural History floor plan, 1898
Scrapbook X
Commencement programs, 1878 -- 1907
Baccalaureate exercises, 1899 -- 1906
Miscellaneous programs, 1877 -- 1907
Iowa Historical Building, Des Moines, corner stone ceremony, May 17, 1899
Alumni Association reunion banquets, 1877 -- 1907