To: UI
Archives Homepage
Collection Guide
Collection Dates: 1920-1991; bulk, 1930-1985
29.0 linear ft.
This document describes
a collection of materials held by the
University of Iowa Archives
Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1420
Phone: 319-335-5921
Fax: 319-335-5900
e-mail: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Access and
Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but
does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this
collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections
Department.
Copyright: Please read
The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on "Property Rights,
Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials"
Use of Collections: The
University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and
unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be
restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors,
and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for
reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Processed by: William
Heald, 1992; edited for the Web by Matthew Friedman and David McCartney, 2003
Biographical Note
Gustav
Bergmann, Ph.D., was born on May 4, 1906, in Vienna, Austria, a son of Fritz
and Therese Bergmann. He received a
doctorate degree in mathematics in 1928 and a law degree in 1935, both from the
University of Vienna.
The rise of Nazism in Austria forced Bergmann to emigrate
to the United States in 1938, joining the University of Iowa one year later as
a guest lecturer in the Department of Psychology. He married Leola Nelson in
1943 in Iowa City. He was named an assistant professor in 1944, and from 1950
until his retirement in 1974 he was a professor of philosophy and psychology.
In 1962, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Gothenberg in
Sweden. He was president of the American Philosophical Association in 1967, and
in 1972 was appointed a Carver Professor of Philosophy. He died on April 21,
1987, at age 80 following a lengthy illness.
A detailed discussion of Gustav Bergmann’s life and his
contributions, written by William S. Heald, appears in the journal Books at Iowa 56 (April
1987).

Gustav
Bergmann, attending the
13th
International Congress of Philosophy
Venice,
Italy
September
1958
Scope and Content Note
The papers
almost entirely chronicle Gustav Bergmann’s academic career at the University
of Iowa but also encompass his educational and professional career in Austria
and Germany prior to his arrival in the United States in 1938. The collection
spans 1920 to 1991, the bulk of which is concentrated on the period of 1930 to
1985. Included are lecture notes, chapter drafts and revisions for
publications, correspondence, article reprints, photographs, and personal
memoirs, notably of the Vienna Circle.
Series
Description
The papers consist of 13 series:
Including notes on Wittgenstein,
mathematics, and ontology; “Diversity,” “Pre-Zermelo,” “Post-Zermelo.”
II.
1960’s
Material: “Realism”
III.
1970’s
Material
IV.
1970’s
Material: “New Foundations of Ontology”
VI.
Post-“Realism”
Published Papers and Associated Notes
VIII.
Public
Lectures, Delivered Papers, Pre-“Realism” Published Papers
IX.
Correspondence
XI.
Books,
Journals and Journal Reprints
XII.
Manuscript
Drafts
XIII.
Photographs
Addis, Laird. "The
Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Algemeen Nederlands Tijdschrift voor
Wijsbegeerte 63 (April 1971): 78-98, notes, bibliog. Main.
Bergmann, Gustav. “Collected
Works of Gustav Bergmann.” Frankfurt-am-Main
: Deutsche Hochschulschriften, 2002-2003. Main.
Ibid. “Filosofía
del la ciencia.” Madrid: Editorial Tecnos, [1961] Main.
Ibid. “Logic and
Reality.” Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1964. Main.
Ibid. “Meaning
and Existence.” Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1960. Main.
Ibid. "Memories of the
Vienna Circle: Letter to Otto Neurath (1938)." Edited and translated by
William Heald and Gunter Zoeller. In Scientific Philosophy: Origins and
Developments, edited by Friedrich Stadler, pp. 193-208, notes. Vienna
Circle Institute Yearbook, 1. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1993. Main.
Ibid. “The Metaphysics of
Logical Positivism.” New York: Longmans, Green, 1954. Main.
Ibid. “The Metaphysics of
Logical Positivism (Papers).” Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.
Ibid. “New Foundations of
Ontology.” Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1992. Main.
Ibid. "Oral History
Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 4. 21 pp. 1976. University Archives.
Ibid. “Philosophy of
Science.” Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1957. Main.
Ibid. “Realism; a critique of Brentano and Meinong.” Madison:
University of Wisconsin Press, 1967. Main.
Farber, I.E.
"Bergmann's 'History and Systems of Psychology' with Penultimate
Reflections on Behaviorism." In Psychology at Iowa: Centennial Essays,
edited by Joan H. Cantor, pp. 19-36, notes. Hillsdale, N.J.: L. Erlbaum, 1991.
At Psychology Library; University Archives.
Heald, William. "From Positivism to
Realism: The Philosophy of Gustav Bergmann." Books at Iowa 56
(April 1992): 25-46, illus. Main.
Papers of Edward
W. Chittenden
Box Inventory / Folder List
Box 1
A. Notes on Wittgenstein, Mathematics, and Ontology
(1)
Bergmann's N.E.H, Grant proposal; topic:
Wittgenstein's Remarks on the Foundations of
Mathematics; 1965.
(2) Handwritten Notes; Ontology, Mathematics; 1966.
(3) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Tractatus;
1966.
(4) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Notebooks; date unclear.
(5) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations;
1966.
(6) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Blue and Brown Books; date
unclear.
(7) Handwritten Notes;
Wittgenstein's Remarks on the Foundations of Mathematics; 1966.
(8) Handwritten Notes; Gödel; 1966.
(9) Handwritten Notes; Properties, Classes, "The Nonextensionality
of the Trunk"; date unclear.
(10) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Remarks;
1968.
(11) Handwritten Notes; Wittgenstein's Philosophical Remarks;
1966.
(12) Handwritten Notes; "Introduction to Part Two",
"Homomorphism, Isomorphism, Meaning and Thought"; 1966.
(13) Handwritten Notes; Classes, Relations, Sameness and Identity,
Criticism of Russell; 1966.
B. "Diversity"; "Pre-Zermelo";
"Post-Zermelo".
(14) Table of Contents, Preface, part of an Introduction to a
post-Realism multivolume book on ontology and Wittgenstein's Philosophy of
Mathematics;
undated; typed.
(15) Roughly typed notes; the "Old Introduction" to the
"Post-Zermelo Manuscript"; no date.
Box 2
(1) Typed notes; for chapter one of "Post-Zermelo M.S."; no
date.
(2) Roughly typed notes;
chapters three through ten of "Post-Zermelo M.S.; 1967.
(3) Handwritten notes; "Post-Zermelo Fragments"; 1967.
(4) Typed notes; "Post-Zermelo
Sketches and Memoranda for Diversity"; 1967.
(5) Typed notes; "Typed Fragments for Diversity; Pre-Zermelo";
1967.
(6) Typed notes; Diversity, Pre-Zermelo, 1967.
(7) Typed and Handwritten notes; Diversity, Pre-Zermelo; 1967.
(8) Handwritten notes filed
by G.B with Diversity/Pre-Zermelo material; axiomatics and ontology, whether
arithmetic is analytic or
categorial; 1968.
(9) Handwritten notes; "Immediately before the Fourth Way,
Pre-Zermelo" ;collections and complexes; no date.
(10) Some typed, mostly handwritten notes; "Assorted Notes from
before Lake '67, Pre-Zermelo"; senses of "constituent"; 1967.
(11) Table of Contents for "Diversity, the Ontology of
Arithmetic", and a typed fragment on thought and language; 1967.
(12) Handwritten notes; "The Fourth Way, July 18,1967 until April
10, 1967"
(13) "Handwritten Notes, March 1, 1968".
(14) Typed notes; form, classes; date not clear but filed with '67/'68
material.
(15) Handwritten notes; "used 12/19/66".
(16) Handwritten notes; facts, complexes and functions; 1967.
(17) Handwritten notes; revision of the sameness criterion, internal
relations, formal complexes; 1968.
(18) Handwritten notes; "Well-order and Activity"; date not
clear, but topic places it with 66-68 material.
(19) Typed and Handwritten
notes; ties, facts, the uniqueness of forms; 1967.
Box 3
(1) Typed and Handwritten notes; ontology of mind, ontology of
arithmetic; Table of Contents for
prospective 3-volume work the
first volume of which was to be called "Diversity"; 1967.
(2) Handwritten notes; order, typed fragment about intuitionism and
Wittgenstein; 1968.
(3) Handwritten and typed notes, "Definitions, Ontological
Hypotheses in the case of connections
and derived characters, with
a digression on circumstances, facts and mixed complexes", 1968.
(4) Handwritten and typed notes; categories, internal syntactical
properties, derived properties; 1968.
(5) Handwritten notes; internal relations, inseparability; 1968.
(6) Typed and Handwritten notes;
"1968A", "complex actions, trellises, lattices and
ordinals", Russell and Peano axioms; 1968.
(7) Typed notes;
"1968H", "Relations, Pairs and Order"; 1968.
(8) Typed and Handwritten notes; "Collections and Diversity",
"The Ground of Simplicity", "Existence, Sameness and
Identity"; 1968.
(9) Typed fragments and some Handwritten notes; "Sketches for Diversity as an Internal Relation"; 1968.
(10) Typed fragments; collections, existents, simplicity, constituency;
1968.
(11) Typed fragments; collections and internal relations, the
Burali-Forti Paradox, Relations, Pairs, and Order; 1968.
(12) Handwritten notes;
"Last Tries I", "4-valued logic of Modes"; suspected 1968.
(13) Handwritten notes;
"Last Tries II"; suspected 1968.
(14) Handwritten notes;
"Last Tries III" [much of this document is in German]; suspected
1968.
(15) Handwritten notes; "Last Tries IV", definition of syntactical
kinds; suspected 1968.
(16) Typed and Handwritten fragments; "Last Tries V", basic
categories, functions, derived entities,
sameness and impredicativity;
suspected 1968.
D. Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments; 1967
-1968.
(17) Handwritten notes; "The Second Try"; 1967.
(18) Handwritten notes;
"The Third Try; the Combined Approach"; 1967.
(19) Handwritten fragments; "Third Try drafts"; 1967.
Box 4
(1) Typed and Handwritten fragments; "Compound Actions",
classes, selections, infinity, transparency of form; suspected 1968.
(2) Typed fragments; showing, saying and the ideal language; date
unclear.
(3) Handwritten fragments; functions, ultimate sorts, things vs.
subsistents; suspected 1967.
(4) Handwritten notes; "Three Valued Modes"; date unclear.
E. Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments 1968 -
1969; notes suspected to be from late 60's or early
70's but not more precisely
dateable.
(5) Handwritten notes; things, complexes,logical forms, functions,
internal relations; 1968.
(6) Handwritten notes; ties, M-functions,classes; 1968.
(7) Handwritten notes; functions; 1968.
(8) Handwritten notes; formal
characters and categories, recursion; 1968.
(9) Handwritten fragments and notes; "formation rules and
functions", "circumstances and ties"; 1968.
(10) Handwritten and typed fragments; classes, sameness, derived
characters, the axiomatic
method, "the limits of
the thought and the minimal metalanguage"; 1969.
(11) Handwritten notes; ultimate sorts and modes; 1969.
(12) Handwritten notes; on the range of the argument of a function,
logical form; 1969.
(13) Handwritten notes; M-functions, simples and complexes; 1969.
(14) Handwritten fragments and notes; internal properties and relations,
1969.
(15) Handwritten notes; categories, definition of syntactical kinds; no
date apparent, but seems to belong to late 60's or early 70's.
(16) Handwritten notes; classes, sameness, diversity are the apparent
topics; no date, but appears to be late 60', early 70's.
(17) Handwritten fragment and a short Typed fragment; the constituency
connection; no date, but appears
to belong to late 60's or
early 70's.
Box 5
Series II. 1960’s
Material: Realism
A. Clean Typed Chapters and Sections; photocopies of
Brentano Material used as Research Source for Realism.
(1) Preface, Fontnotes, Bibliography, Chapter One, Chapter Two, Chapter
Three.
(2) Chapters Four, Five and Six.
(3) Chapters Seven, Eight and Nine.
(4) Photocopy of Introduction to Brentano's Kategorienlehre.
(5) Part One of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
(6) Part Two of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
(7) Part Three of Brentano's Kategorienlehre
(8) Footnotes for Brentano's Kategorienlehre
B. Roughly Typed Early Drafts of Realism.
(9) Chapters One, Two, and Three.
(10) Chapters Four, Five and Six.
(11) Chapters Seven, Eight and Nine.
Box 6
(1) Chapters Ten and Eleven.
(2) Chapters Twelve, Thirteen and Fourteen.
(3) Chapters Fifteen, Sixteen and Seventeen.
(4) Chapters Eighteen and Nineteen.
(5) Chapters Twenty and Twenty-One.
Series III. 1970’s Material
A.
Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments - 1970.
(6) Typed fragments; ontology of set theory and related topics; 1970.
(7) Handwritten fragments; classes, functions, recursion for molecular
complexes; 3/8/70 up to 4/1/70.
(8) Handwritten fragment; exemplification and class membership, internal
properties and relations; 1970.
(9) Handwritten fragment; diads, coasses, facts, constituency; 1970.
(10) Handwritten fragment;
"Criticism of Peano"; 1970.
(11) Annotated folder without contents; 1970.
(12) Handwritten fragments; defintion of generality, forms, functions,
pervaders; 1970.
(13) Handwritten fragments; diads, quantification, modes; 1970.
Box 7
(1) Handwritten fragments; forms and modes as
pervaders, classes; 1970.
(2) Handwritten fragments; "Agenda for the Operator Story";
1970.
(3) Handwritten notes and a fragment; quantification; 1970.
(4) Handwritten notes; defining the form: being-a-diad; 1970.
(5) Handwritten notes and fragments; quantification, syntactic form,
classes; 1970.
(6) Three groups of handwritten notes; properties and classes; 1970.
(7) Handwritten notes; propositional calculus, quantification [in German
and logicese]; 1970.
B. Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments:
1971-1974.
(8) Handwritten fragments; [in German]; 1971.
(9) Handwritten fragments; diads, functions; 1971.
(10) Handwritten fragments; [mostly in German]; 1971.
(11) Handwritten fragments; diads, formation rules, constituency, 1971.
(12) Handwritten fragment; analyticity and functions; 1972.
(13) Handwritten and Typed fragments; classes, analyticity, the
difference between determinates and non-determinates; 1972.
(14) Handwritten fragments; classes; 1972 - 1974.
(15) Handwritten fragments; classes, canons, intentionality as an internal
relation,
stratification of classes;
one 1972 but most 1974.
(16) Handwritten fragments; canons, classes, forms; 1973.
(17)
Handwritten fragments; definition of syntactical forms: the form of
being-a-clas, the form of being-a-circumstance; 1973.
Box 8
(1) Handwritten fragments; syntactical forms quantification; 1974.
C. Handwritten
Notes and Fragments: 1975 - 1979.
(2) Handwritten notes and fragments; "The Wound and the
Arrow", form, transparency, the thinkability and sayability of logical
form; 1975.
(3) Handwritten fragments; "The Wound and the Arrow,
auxiliary", syntactical form and transparency; 1975.
(4) Handwritten fragments; "The Wound Healed?"; generality,
transparency and the axioms for the L.F.C.; 1975.
(5) Handwritten fragments; "The Summary of State of Affairs,
Oct.29, 1975", sameness, analyticity; 1975.
(6) Handwritten fragments; transparency, axioms, analyticity; 1975.
(7) Handwritten fragments; comments and notes on Chapter VII of New
Foundations of Ontology [the book]; 1975.
(8) Handwritten fragments and notes; analyticity, Gödel, Skolem; 1975.
(9) Handwritten fragment and notes; "The New Sameness, Constituents
and Well-formed Parts"; 1975.
(10) Handwritten fragments and notes [contains journal offprints on set
theory]; 1975, 1976.
(11) Handwritten fragments; definitions of syntactical forms; 1977.
(12) Handwritten fragments; quantification over complexes; 1978.
(13) Handwritten notes; thought and language; 1978.
(14) Handwritten fragments; thought and language; 1979.
(15) Handwritten fragments; 1979.
D. Undated Notes and Fragments. Suspected to be from
Seventies.
(16) Handwritten notes and a short Typed fragment containing a statement
of G.B. conception of
ontology [with some footnotes
for this latter fragment]; early 70's.
(17) Handwritten fragments, limits of atomism, accessibility of mode of
generalities; early to mid seventies.
Box 9
(1) Handwritten fragments and notes, classes; early seventies.
(2) Handwritten notes and fragments [much in German]; classes; early
seventies.
(3) Handwritten fragments; quantification, classes, mid to late
seventies.
(4) Handwritten fragments;
logical form, ultimate sorts, limitation of representing logical form in the
ideal language; mid seventies.
(5) Handwritten notes [some
in German]; intentional nexus; early to mid seventies.
(6) Handwritten fragments; classes; mid to late seventies, perhaps even
early eighties.
(7) Handwritten fragments; quantification, order, early or mid
seventies.
(8) Handwritten fragments; "Modes, Acts and Conscious States -
Preorganized Notes"; mid to late seventies.
(9) Handwritten fragments; constituency; early seventies.
(10) Handwritten fragments; sameness, classes; early to mid seventies.
(11) Handwritten notes and a short Typed piece; functions, Meinong,
Frege and Wittgenstein on functions; early to mid seventies.
(12) Handwritten notes; topic unclear; early seventies.
(13) Handwritten notes; topic unclear; seventies.
Series IV. 1970’s Material: New Foundations of Ontology
A. Chapter One ["Simples and Canons"] and
Chapter Two["Facts and Modes"].
(14) Handwritten fragments
of, and notes for, Chapter One.
(15) Typed "First Draft" of Chapter One [Two version, with
corrections].
(16) Typed "Second Draft" of Chapter One.
(17) Typed version of Chapter One [different from above versions, at least slightly].
(18) Final prepublication
version of Chapter One [edited by Heald and with ed. footnotes by Heald]
(19) Slips and cut sections of Chapter Two [apparently the remains of
G.B.'s editing process].
(20) Typed "First Draft" of Chapter Two [with marginal
corrections, additions and deletions].
(21) Cleaned up version of First Draft of Chapter Two.
(22) Initial roughly typed "Second Draft" of Chapter Two.
(23) Photocopies of Chapter Two.
Box 10
(1) Photocopies of Chapter Two [appears slightly different than version
mentioned in (10) above]
(2) Final prepublication
version of Chapter Two [edited and with ed. footnotes by Heald].
B. Chapter Three ["Diversity and Order"] and Chapter
Four ["Functions and Analyticity"].
(3) Typed First Draft of
Chapter Three [two versions, only slight differences]; also, small sheaf of
slips and cut out strips that are the
remains of G.B's editing
process.
(4) Roughly Typed "Second Draft" of Chapter Three.
(5) Photocopy of Chapter Three [note title: "Diversity and
Functions", which marks it as a somewhat earlier version than the final
one.]
(6) Photocopy of Chapter Three [the title has been changed here to
"Diversity and Order", that of the final version]
(7) Final prepublication version of Chapter Three [edited by Heald]
(8) Photocopy of Bergmann's "final" typed draft of Chapters
One, Two and Three [dated "2/11/75"]
(9) Short Typed fragment of Chapter
Four [fragment concern recursion and syntactical form]
(10) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Four.
(11) Handwritten fragments of Chapter Four [dated 1972]
(12) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Four [dated 1972]
C. Chapter Four ["Functions and Analyticity"]
(13) Typed and Handwritten draft of Chapter Four; ["used for
preparing the corrections, additions and deletions for later drafts, 1974"]
Box 11
(1)
"Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Four; specified by
G.B. as his "final copy, 12/14/74".
(2) "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Four;
also designated by G.B. as his "final copy, 12/14/74" [note, however,
that
there are several differences
between the material filed here and the similarly designated material in the
previous folder]
(3) Typed draft of Chapter Four; characterized by a "First
Draft" by G.B.
(4) Typed draft of Chapter Four.
(5) Last prepublication version of Chapter Four [edited by Heald]
D. Chapter Five: "Thought and Language".
Chapter Six:
"Classes"
(6) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Five [1975]
(7) Handwritten fragment and notes for Chapter Five.
(8) "Corrections, Additions and Deletions" for Chapter Five
[1975]
Box 12
(1) "Final Copy" of "Corrections, Additions and
Deletions" for Chapter Five [1975]
(2) "First Draft" of
Chapter Five
(3) Photocopy of Chapter Five
(4) Last prepublication version of Chapter Five [edited by Heald]
(5) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six.
(6) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six.
(7) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Six.
E. Chapter Six ["Classes"] and Chapter Seven
["The Linguistic Turn Contained"]
(8) Early
draft of Chapter Six [some Handwritten, mostly Typed]; "started,
1974".
(9) "Corrections,
Additions and Deletions" for pp. 56 to (approx.) 80 of Chapter Six.
(10) Bergmann's "final copy" of Chapter Six; "completed
2/26/75".
Box 13
(1) Photocopy of Chapter Six.
(2) Photocopy of Chapter Six [there are only very slight differences
between this version and that contained in previous folder - see p. 80,
for example]
(3) Last prepublication version of Chapter Six [edited by Heald; ed.
footnotes by Heald]
(4) Typed fragment of Chapter Seven; some Handwritten notes.
(5)
Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven; a short typed fragment
concerning the
"new and expanded"
concept of analyticity; this could have been the core of the
"missing" subsection four of Chapter Seven.
(6) Handwritten notes for subsection five of Chapter Seven.
F. Chapter Seven ["The Linguistic Turn
Contained"]; Other material associated with New Foundations of
Ontology.
(7) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven.
(8) Mostly typed, some handwritten, fragments and notes for Chapter
Seven [notes on the "missing subsection" of Chapter Seven]
(9) Handwritten fragments and notes for Chapter Seven.
(10) Handwritten sketch of "2nd level hierarchy" for first
subsection of Chapter Seven [1975]
(11) Photocopy of G.B.'s final version of Chapter Seven; "zerox of
first part, subsection I, II, III, finished 7/1/75".
(12) Last
prepublication version of Chapter Seven [edited by Heald; ed. footnotes by
Heald].
(13) Handwritten fragments and notes on the missing
"Appendices" of N.F.O.; two typed copies of a
draft of "First Appendix" [versions have different
cross-outs, corrections, etc.]
(14) Handwritten fragments and notes; "Everything for
Appendices", "Everything for Preface", 1975.
Box 14
(1) Handwritten notes and a short typed piece that appears to be the
beginning of the missing subsection four of Chapter Seven [topic:
analyticity]; 1973.
Series V. 1980’s
Material
A. Handwritten and Typed Notes: 1980
(2) Handwritten notes; "New Material I"; 1979-1980.
(3) Handwritten notes; "New Material II"; 1980.
(4) Handwritten notes; "Old Notes or Section III", ultimate
sorts, quantification; 1980/81.
(5) Handwritten notes and fragments; sameness, classes, quantification;
1980.
(6)
Handwritten notes; quantification; 1980.
(7) Handwritten notes; foundations of set theory, Peano Axioms, canons;
1980.
(8) Handwritten draft of an "Introduction" to a longer work,
obviously about the ontology of arithmetic; 1980.
(9) Handwritten fragments and notes; quantification; 1980.
(10) Handwritten notes; "Improved Sketches, etc, from 6/5/80",
quantification; 1980.
(11) Handwritten fragments; set theory, classes; 1980.
(12) Handwritten fragments; classes, recursion; 1980.
(13) Handwritten notes and fragments; classes; 1980.
(14) Handwritten notes; classes; 1980;
(15) Handwritten note cards; classes, canons; 1980.
(16)
Handwritten note card; classes canons, items [originally filed with contents of
previous folder]; 1980.
B. Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments: 1980
-1981.
(17) Handwritten notes; recursion, axioms and canons;1980.
(18) Handwritten notes "Varia, beginning 12/15/80", materials,
constituents, element; 1980.
(19) Handwritten fragment; extensionality; 1981.
Box 15
(1) Handwritten fragments; "Selected Pieces Starting 1/1/81", the
null set, other issues in set theory; 1981.
(2) Handwritten notes; quantification; 1981.
(3) Handwritten fragments; "Sameness axioms for W2";1981.
(4) Handwritten fragment; quantification; 1981.
(5) Handwritten draft of "Primary and Secondary Ontological Status
and also a typed piece on classes; 1981.
(6) Handwritten notes; "The Phenomenological Predicament, further
material, 10/6/81"; 1981.
(7) Handwritten notes and fragments, a draft of "Introduction to
Section Three" (concerning ontology of arithmetic); 1981.
(8) Handwritten notes; "Next to last section"; 1981.
(9) Handwritten notes; "Section Three, Construction of W2";
1981.
(10) Handwritten notes; ultimate sorts, syntactical form, classes; 1981.
(11) Handwritten and typed fragments; "Chapter Five; Set: the
Phenomenological Predicament"; 1980/81 or 82.
(12) Handwritten fragments; "1st Draft of Section Three: the
Phenomenological Predicament"; 1981, 1982.
(13) Handwritten notes and fragments; sameness, syntactical form; 1981.
C. Handwritten Notes and Fragments:
1981 - 1982.
(14) Handwritten Fragments; notes for "Essay Five" (concerning
analyticity); 1981-1982.
(15) Handwritten Notes; "Material on Extensionality in W1 Skeleton,
mostly for Fifth Essay"; 1981.
(16) Handwritten notes; sets; 1981.
(17) Handwritten notes; "Third Version of Section III
Material", set theory; 1981.
(18) Handwritten notes; apparent sketch of a Table of Contents for a
work to be called "New Foundations for the Ontology of Sets"; 1982.
(19) Handwritten fragments; "Notes for Section II, the
Phenomenological Predicament"; 1982.
(20) Handwritten fragments; "Preliminaries to III"; 1982.
(21) Handwritten fragments;" Skolem-Gödel I etc. for Last Essay,
1981", "Notes for Essay V, up to Feb. 82"; 1981,1982.
Box 16
(1) Handwritten notes; set theory, classes; 1982.
(2) Handwritten notes; "Section Three Notes: the Construction of
W2"; 1982.
(3) Handwritten notes; "Section IV, Final Material"; 1982.
(4) Handwritten notes; quantification; 1982.
(5) Handwritten notes "Chapter Three: the Construction of W2";
1982.
(6) Handwritten notes; "New Notes for Section III, started
9/3/82", set theory, classes; 1982.
(7) Handwritten fragments; "The L-schema and 6.12, final
draft"; 1982.
(8) Notes
(9) Handwritten notes; "Urgent Material for Section 3, Introduction
and Part I, II", sets and classes; 1982.
(10) Handwritten notes; "Still to be Sorted, 9/7/82"; 1982.
D. Handwritten and Typed Notes and Fragments: 1983 -1984.
(11) Handwritten fragment; "Notes on Last Essay", analyticity;
1983.
(12) Handwritten notes; "The New Connection between W1 and W2 with
classes not graspable"; 1983.
(13) Handwritten notes; "Sameness and Order for Chapter III",
order [included in the folder is a
reprint of G.B. 's
"Notes on Ontology" article responding to Hochberg's criticisms;
1983.
(14) Handwritten fragments
on a variety of topics; "The Last Hurrah!" [one fragment on
the"circular" I.L. is from 1981, the rest are from
1983; 1981-1983.
(15) Handwritten notes; classes, quantification, 1983.
(16) Handwritten notes and typed fragment; "Material for Chapter
Six", classes the null set, the ontology of the Zermelo system; 1983.
(17) Collection of loose
Handwritten notes; "To be checked before discarding"; up to 1984.
(18) Collection of loose Handwritten notes; 1983 [one from 1978].
(19) Handwritten fragments; modifications of set theory required by
ontology; 1983, 1984.
(20) Handwritten notes; quantification, 1983.
(21) Handwritten notes; quantification; 1983.
(22) Handwritten fragments; "L-hierarchy and axiom of
modification", class axioms, the axiom of choice; 1983.
(23) Handwritten fragments and notes; "Notes for Section
Three"; 1983, 1984.
Box 17
(1) Handwritten fragments; "The L-schema", basic axioms for
the L-schema; 1983.
(2) Handwritten notes and a
fragment; "lambda transformation"; 1983.
(3) Handwritten fragments; zero, the null set, quantification; 1983.
E. Handwritten Notes and Fragments: 1984 - 1985.
(4) Handwritten notes; quantification; 1984.
(5) Handwritten notes; "for Varia, to be taken home for
weekends"; 1984.
(6) Handwritten fragments; "The Yield of the February ('83)
Crisis", strict sameness, order, extensionality, 1983-1984.
(7) Handwritten notes; notes for "Chapter Six"; 1984.
(8) Handwritten notes; class axioms, quantification; 1984.
(9) Handwritten fragments; order; 1984.
(10) Handwritten fragments; "L-hierarchy and analyticity";
1984.
(11) Handwritten fragments;
"Material for the two Appendices, The Global Hierarchy, Nuclei and related
matters"; 1984.
(12) Short Handwritten fragment; purports to show how all determinates
can be produced out of simples
in a finite number of
canonical steps; 1984(?).
(13) Handwritten notes, two
typed fragments on modes items, etc.; 1984.
(14) Handwritten notes; diversity; 1984.
(15) Handwritten fragment; quantification; 1984.
(16) Handwritten fragments; quantification, classes; 1984.
(17) Handwritten draft; "First Draft Sketch of Chapter Seven",
sets; 1984.
(18) Handwritten notes; "Collection for Chapter VII"; 1985.
(19) Two handwritten one page notes; ideal language notation, classes
and descriptions; 1985.
(20) Handwritten notes; "the logic of grasping"; 1985.
(21) Handwritten fragments and notes; "The Notion of Shape and
Range"; 1985.
(22) Handwritten notes; "for Chapter Seven"; 1985.
(23) Several folders containing typed fragments of a longer work on the
ontology of sets; late seventies to mid eighties.
(24) Handwritten notes and fragments; transparency, evidence, Cartesian
chains; eighties [notice note from '84]
(25) Handwritten notes; classes, ultimate sorts; early eighties.
(26) Handwritten notes; sameness and order; early eighties.
(27) Handwritten notes; 1984.
Series VI. Post-Realism Published Papers and Associated Notes,
Correspondence, etc.
A. 1966 "Diversity" paper through 1978
Valencia Lecture, "Sketch of an Ontological Inventory".
(28) Two Typed copies of "Diversity", the 1966 A.P.A.
Presidential Address [some handwritten material included].
(29) Correspondence with John Peterson, 1969-1971; includes the
"July 1, 1969" note [typed].
Box 18
(1) Original Typed copy of "Part One" of 1970 letter to
Reinhardt Grossmann; "Section One:p.1-
60", "Section Two:
p.60-97" [two copies of 2nd section, one of them containing
corrections, additions and deletions].
(2) "Second Copy" of the Grossmann letter contained in the
previous folder [p.1-97].
(3) Typed (partially handwritten) copy of "Part Two" of the
Grossmann letter [p.98-?].
(4) Correspondence concerning submission and eventual withdrawal of the
"New Foundations of
Ontology" paper written
for the 1972 Russell Centenary at Indiana University.
(5) Typed text of, and "supplement" to, the "New
Foundations of Ontology" paper.
(6) Clean Typed copy of the "New Foundations of Ontology"
paper; 1972.
(7) Two copies of the 1978 Valencia (Spain) Lecture:"Sketch of an
Ontological Inventory" [one typed,
in Italian, the other handwritten,
in English; also,
correspondence pertaining to the lecture.
B. 1978 paper "Notes on the Ontology of Minds"
through 1981 Grossmann letter containing copy of Grossmann's
review of G.B.'s 1980 paper
"Notes on Ontology"
(8) Correspondence with University of Minnesota at Morris concerning
publication of "Notes
on the Ontology of Minds"
[N.O.M.];1978-1980.
(9) Handwritten notes for N.O.M.; first typed version of N.O.M.; letter
from John Peterson concerning Peterson's review of Hochberg's
Thought, Fact and Reference;
1978-1981.
(10) Second and Third Typed versions of N.O.M.[date unspecified]
(11) Roughly typed version [which version is unclear] of sections I, II,
IV, and V of N.O.M. [date unspecified].
Box 19
(1) Two reprints of N.O.M., with marginal notes and corrections; reprint
of "Sketch of an Ontological Inventory" with marginal notes and
corrections; reprint of
"Notes on Ontology" [see below].
(2) Correspondence with Nous about "Notes on Ontology", in
which G.B. attempts to respond to
criticisms made by Herbert
Hochberg in Truth, Fact and Reference; 1978-1980.
(3) Handwritten notes that
appear to be notes for N.O.O.[date unspecified]
(4) Handwritten notes for N.O.O. [date unspecified].
(5) G.B. letter to Review of Metaphysics concerning N.O.O.; attached
abstract of N.O.O.; 1981.
(6) Two Typed copies of N.O.O.
with corrections, additions and deletions [date unspecified].
(7) Clean Typed copy of N.O.O.
(8) Letter from Grossmann; copy of Grossmann's review of N.O.O.; 1981.
Series VII. Class and Seminar Notes, Associated Material
A. 1951-1965.
(9) Math Logic notes; 1951/52 [some "Advanced Logic" question
sheets from 1956].
(10) Logic notes; 1953/54.
(11) Philosophy of Science notes; 1955/56.
(12) Course Reading List, Class Lists, for Philosophy of Social Science;
Summer, 1958.
(13) Math Logic notes and exam questions sheets; Spring, 1959.
(14) Math Logic notes; Spring, 1961.
(15) Math Logic notes; Spring, 1961.
(16) Class notes and Class lists for Seminar on Wittgenstein's Remarks
on the Foundations of Mathematics; Spring, 1964.
(17) Class notes, Exam question sheets; from 1962 to 1963/64.
Box 20
(1) Notes for Seminar in Philosophy of Science; Fall 1965.
(2) Math Logic notes; Spring, 1965.
(3) Class notes on "Gödel II and Related Matters"; 1957-1965.
(4) Class notes, Class lists and Reading lists for Philosophical
Problems of the Social Sciences; 1961-1965.
B. 1966-1970.
(5) Logic and Metaphysics Seminar; Spring 1966.
(6) Class notes and Class lists for Introduction to the Philosophy of
Science; Spring, 1966/67.
(7) Class Lists, Exam Question sheets and some Class notes for History and Systems of Psychology;
1961-1967.
(8) Class lists, Reading lists; Exam Question sheets and some Class
notes for Seminar in Philosophy
of Science ("Space, Time
and Relativity"); Fall, 1967/68.
(9) Math Logic notes; Fall 1968/69.
Box 21
(1) Class notes for History and Systems of Psychology; Spring 1968/69.
(2) Class lists, Reading lists and Exam Question sheets for History and
Systems of Psychology; Spring 1969/70.
(3) Notes for Seminar on C.D. Broad's Mind and Its Place in
Nature; Spring 1969/70.
C. 1966-1971.
(4) Notes and Class lists for Seminar on G.E. Moore;
Fall, 1966/67.
(5) Notes and Class lists for Seminar on G.E. Moore; Spring, 1966/67.
(6) Math Logic notes; Spring 1967/68.
(7) Class lists, Reading list. and Exam Question sheet for History and
Systems of Psychology; Fall 1968/69.
Box 22
(1) Notes for Seminar on C.D. Broad's Mind and Its Place in Nature;
Spring 1968/67.
(2) Notes for Philosophy of Science [both undergraduate and graduate];
1967-1970.
(3) Math Logic notes; Spring 1970/71.
D. 1971-1974.
(4) Class notes and Class lists for Seminar on Moore's Some Main
Problems of Philosophy; Fall 1971/71.
(5) Class notes for Seminar on Moore's Some Main Problems of Philosophy;
Spring 1971/71.
(6) Class notes and Exam Question sheets for Introduction to Philosophy
of Science; 1971/72.
(7) Math Logic notes; Fall 1970/71.
Box 23
(1) Math Logic notes and Class lists; Fall 1972/73.
(2) Math Logic notes; Spring 1972/73.
(3) Notes, Class lists, Exam Question sheets for Seminar on Broad's Mind
and its Place in Nature; 1973/74.
(4) Notes for Introduction to Philosophy of Science; 1971-1974.
Series VIII. Public Lectures, Delivered Papers, Pre-Realism
Published Papers
A. 1950-1962
(5) Bergmann's comments on Virgil Hinshaw's paper, "Levels of
Analysis". Midwest A.P.A. Meetings,
Minneapolis, May 1950 [Copy
of Hinshaw's paper included].
(6) Correspondence concerning lecture of logical positivism delivered at
the University of Omaha
(Town and Gown Club), Oct.18,
1951 [Handwritten copy of speech included].
(7) Handwritten notes for lecture on "The Nature of Logic"
delivered to the Drake Philosophical
Club, April 4, 1952.
(8) Handwritten notes for seminars at the University of Toronto on
"The Nature and Problems of Theory in Psychology" and
"Psychology and the
Behavior Sciences"; November, 1953.
(9) Handwritten notes for lecture on the "The Logic of
Psychology", delivered at: (1) Psychology
Colloquium, University of
Michigan, Aug.15,1953, and (2) University of Toronto, Nov.19, 1953.
(10) Typed copy of lecture on "Reduction", delivered at
University of Pittsburgh, March 12, 1954.
(11) Notes for, and correspondence concerning, seminar at Dartmouth on
Public Opinion, Research, Process Analysis, etc.; July 1954.
(12) Handwritten notes for lecture on "The Place of Psychology
Among the Sciences", delivered at Vassar College, Nov.11, 1954.
(13) Handwritten notes for,
correspondence concerning, lecture on "The Origins of Modern
Empiricism", University
of Pennsylvania, March 24, 1954.
(14) Handwritten notes for Philosophy of Science lecture at a
Pharmacology Seminar, Nov.7, 1955.
(15) Handwritten notes for a lecture on Psychology and the Social
Sciences, Jan.10, 1956.
(16) Machette Lectures (typed): I. Measurement, II. The Notion of
Process, III. Stimulus and Response; April 8, 9, 10, 1957.
(17) Typed lecture notes on
"Stimulus and Response", delivered at the University of Missouri,
Nov. 18, 1957.
(18) Original typed copy of "Physics and Ontology", lecture
delivered at Stanford Congress for Logic, Methodology and the Philosophy of
Science, August, 1960.
(19) Handwritten notes for lectures on Kant, Moore and Truth,
"Phenomenalism Revisited", 1961 [probably delivered at Lund, Sweden].
Box 24
(1) Handwritten notes for lectures on Philosophy of Science and the
Analysis of Mind; Göteborg, Sweden, 1961.
(2) Variety of notes and papers for Stockholm lecture on the Philosophy
of Mind; Handwritten
notes for Uppsala seminar on
G.E. Moore; 1961.
(3) Two typed papers, "Meaning" and "Inclusion,
Exemplification and Inherence in G.E. Moore";
First paper originally
delivered at University of Oslo, Nov. 1961; the second originally delivered at
Lund, 1961.
(4) Typed copy of "Stenius on the Tractatus"; handwritten
notes on Stenius, both for paper and lecture at Uppsala, 1961.
(5) Handwritten notes on Edmund Husserl; two typed copies of G.B.'s
paper, "The Ontology of Edmund Husserl", 1961.
(6) Typed copy [in Italian]
of "The Glory and Misery of Ludwig Wittgenstein", 1961.
(7) Handwritten notes for lecture on "Human Freedom and the Science
of Man", delivered at Wake Forest College, Dec. 1962.
B. 1961-1977
(8) Handwritten notes for the Lund Lectures, 1961.
(9) Typed notes on the Emotive Theory of Ethics [probably for Lund
Lectures, 1961].
(10) Notebook of handwritten notes - the "Sweden Book" - for
lectures in Sweden, 1961.
(11) Three Typed copies of "Diversity", G.B.'s presidential
address to the A.P.A. in 1966.
(12) Typed notes for lecture at the University of Texas, 1977.
(13) Handwritten notes for lectures at the University of Texas, 1977;
included is a copy of paper by
Ed Allaire, "Relations:
Recreation and Remarks".
Box 25
Series IX. Correspondence
A. 1931-1950
(1)
1931-1944; including correspondence with Carl Hempel, Clark Hull, Ernest Nagel,
Felix Kaufmann, Rudolf Carnap, Walter Mayer.
(2) 1945-1946; Max Black, Marvin Farber, Herbert Feigl, Brand Blanshard,
Rudolf Carnap, C.J. Ducasse.
(3) Early Forties (1940-1945), but not more precisely dateable; Felix
Kaufmann, Walter Mayer, May Brodbeck.
(4) 1947-1948; Helene Reshovsky, Max Black, Herbert Feigl, Wilfred
Sellars, Tom Storer, Virgil
Hancher, John Von Neumann,
Gilbert Ryle.
(5) 1949; May Brodbeck, Rudolf Carnap, Wilfred Sellars, Alonzo Church,
James Conant.
(6) 1950; Howard Bowen, Rudolf Carnap, May Brodbeck, Everett Hall, Max
Black.
(7) Late Forties (1946-1950), but not more precisely dateable; Phillipp
Frank, May Brodbeck.
(8) Forties (1940-1950), but not more precisely dateable; Julius
Weinberg, Herbert Feigl.
(9) Late Forties (1947-1950) correspondence concerning philosophy of
science; Phillipp
Frank, W.H. Werkmeister,
Wilfred Sellars, West Churchman.
Box 26
B. 1951-1955.
(1) Jan.1, 1951 - Aug.15, 1951; Phillipp Frank, Wilfred Sellars, W.H.
Werkmeister, Victor Kraft, Henry Margenau, Paul Weiss.
(2) Aug.15, 1951 - Dec.31, 1951; Herbert Feigl, Bill Hay, W.H.
Werkmeister, Adolf Grünbaum.
(3) Undated, early 1950's; Herbert Feigl, Bill Hay.
(4) 1952; Bill Hay, Eliseo
Vivas, Victor Kraft, Gilbert Ryle, Alan Gewirth, Marshall Claggett, Fred Will.
(5) 1953; Edwin Boring, Bill Hay, F. Rossi-Landi, William Frankena,
Edward Madden.
(6) Correspondence concerning, and copies of, two G.B. mathematics
papers: (1) "Two Theorems of
Lattices" (1952), and
(2) "Multiplicative Closures" (1953).
(7) 1954; Mrs. Richard von Mises, Rudolf Carnap, J.O. Wisdom, Roderick
Chisholm.
(8) Correspondence concerning the publication of "The Russell Paradox in the Calculus of
Individuals" (G.B.,1954, Journal of Symbolic
Logic); copies of paper
included.
(9) Early Fifties (1950-1955), but not more precisely dateable; F.
Rossi-Landi, Bill Hay, Max Black.
C. 1955-1960.
(10) 1955; Norman Malcolm, Irving Copi, Marvin Farber, Eurico Castelli,
Reinhardt Grossmann, W.V. Quine.
Box 27
(1) Business correspondence concerning The Metaphysics of Logical
Postivism; 1953-1955.
(2) 1956; Henry Mehlberg, W.H. Werkmeister, Eurico Castelli, Tom Storer,
Manley Thomson, Paul Weiss,
W.V. Quine.
(3) 1954-1956, but not more precisely dateable; Herbert Hochberg.
(4) 1957; Paul Henle, Max Fisch, Alberto Giaquinto, Manley Thomson,
Philip Rieff.
(5) 1953-1957, but not more precisely dateable; Herbert Hochberg, Alan
Pasch.
(6) 1958-1959; John Rawls, Robert Sternfeld, Richard Solomon, Everett Nelson, Max Black, Eliseo
Vivas.
(7) Correspondence concerning papers published through 1958; 1950-1958;
Phillipp Frank, T.M.
Knox, Gilbert Ryle, S.C.
Kleene, Paul Weiss.
(8) Reprint requests for Meaning and Existence, 1959
(9) Correspondence concerning Italy and Italian philosophers, 1958-1959;
Eurico Castelli, John Marshall.
(10) Correspondence concerning (and copies of) "The Philosophical
Significance of Modal Logic" (by
G.B.), 1957-1960; Gilbert
Ryle.
D. 1960-1968
(11) 1960; Stuart Brown,
Howard Zieqler, Richard Millard, Chadbourne Gilpatrick, Adolf Grünbaum.
(12) 1958-1960, but not more precisely dateable; Edwin Boring, Max
Black.
(13) Correspondence with University of Wisconsin Press concerning
Meaning and Existence; Italian
correspondence concerning
same; 1958-1960.
Box 28
(1) 1961; Nicola Abbagnano, Eurico Castelli, Manfred Moritz, Fabio
Metelli, Reinhardt Grossmann.
(2) 1962; Reinhardt Grossmann, Torben Agersnap, Eivind Storheim, G.H.
von Wright, Torsten Dahlberg.
(3) 1963; Ho Tso-jen, Eivind Storheim, Paul Edwards, Reinhardt
Grossmann, Jaako Hintikka, Rosaria Egidi-Bianco, Richard Rorty.
(4) 1964-1965; W.U. Quine, Edwin Lewis, Hans Weisz, Ernst Topitsch,
Keith Donnellan, Adolf Grünbaum.
(5) Early Sixties (1960-1965), but not more precisely dateable; Milton
Hobbes, Torsten Dahlberg.
(6) 1966-1967; Max Fisch, Roderick Chisholm, Gerald Kreyche, A.L.
Hunsicker, F. Cioffi, Herbert Fiegl, E.D. Klemke.
(7) Correspondence concerning the business and proceedings of the A.P.A.
for 1966/67 [the year of Bergmann's presidency of A.P.A.]