University Libraries Awards

Arthur Benton University Librarian’s Award for Excellence Recipients:

2020- Pete Balestrieri, Popular Culture Curator, Special Collections & Archives
2019 – Kim Bloedel, Head, Pomerantz Business Library
2018 – Duncan Stewart, Cataloging Librarian, Cataloging-Metadata
2017 – Lisa Gardinier, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian, RLI
2016 – Brett Cloyd, Reference & Government Info Librarian, RLI
2015 – Greg Prickman, Head, Special Collections
2014 – Kari Kozak, Head, Lichtenberger Engineering Library
2012 – Jen DeBerg, Clinical Education Librarian
2010 – John Forys, Engineering Librarian; Dottie Persson, Psychology/Education Librarian
2008 – Edward Miner, International Studies Librarian
2006 – Kathy Magarrell, Coordinator, Instructional Services
2004 – Kären Mason, Curator, Iowa Women’s Archives
2002 – John Schacht, Reference Librarian
2000 – Dave Martin, Head, Business Library

University of Iowa Awards

2021 – Katie Buehner, Rita Benton Music Library
Improving our Workplace Award

2018 – Kären Mason, Head, Iowa Women’s Archives
UI Susan C. Buckley Distinguished Achievement Award for Staff

2016 – Sue Julich, Head, Library Information Technology
David J. Skorton Staff Excellence Award for Public Service to the University of Iowa

2013 – Edward Miner, International Studies Librarian
Hawkeye Leadership & Service Award for Outstanding Student Organization Advisor

National Awards

2018 – Nancy Kraft, Head, Preservation and Conservation
Association for Library Collections and Technical Services’ Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Award for excellence in library preservation

2017 – Janet Weaver, Assistant Curator, Iowa Women’s Archives
Association of College and Research Libraries Women and Gender Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement in Woman’s Studies Librarianship.

2014 – University of Iowa Libraries
Library of the Year, U.S. Government Printing Office

2014 – Janna Lawrence, Assistant Director, Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award, Medical Library Association

2013 – Ruthann McTyre, Head, Rita Benton Music Library
A. Ralph Papakhian Special Achievement Award, Music Library Association

2013 – Jen Wolfe, Metadata Librarian
Primary Source Award, Center for Research Libraries