Finding Aid
|
Papers of Walter A. Jessup Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of the President; date undetermined. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006. Photographs: |
|
Biographical Note
Walter A. Jessup served as the eleventh president of the University of Iowa, from 1916 to 1934.
First as an educator and later as university president, Jessup won important support to improve and enlarge the University of Iowa. He later led the Carnegie Corporation in New York.
Jessup received the Bachelor of Arts degree from Earlham College in 1903 and the Master of Arts degree from Hanover College in 1908, both in Indiana. In 1911, he received the Doctorate of Philosophy degree from Columbia University.
He became professor and dean of Iowa’s School of Education in 1912. During his 18 years as president, the campus expanded from 42 to 324 acres, the faculty nearly doubled from 273 to about 500, and the student body nearly tripled to 10,000. Within the College of Liberal Arts, several schools emerged: Journalism, Religion, Fine Arts, and Letters.
In 1934, Jessup became president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in New York, and, in 1941, took on the additional duty of president of the Carnegie Corporation.
Jessup was born in Richmond, Indiana, on August 12, 1877. He married Eleanor Hines on June 28, 1898, and they adopted two children. He died in New York City on July 5, 1944, at age 66.
Related Materials
Carstensen, Vernon. "Jessup, Walter Albert." Dictionary of American Biography, suppl. 3 (1941-1945): 386-388, bibliog. Main reference.
In Memory of President Emeritus Walter Albert Jessup, 1877-1944. Iowa City: State University of Iowa, 1944. 30 pp. Main.
Box Contents List
Since the Walter Jessup administration in 1916, the President's Office has maintained an index of Presidential Correspondence in the form of a Kardex file to which name and subject entries are posted. A new alphabetical sequence is begun approximately each fiscal year. These cards files have been photocopied and a bound copy is available in the University Archives; these primary files are not yet available on-line. They are, clearly, essential to tracing correspondence on specific subjects.
The Kardex entries consist of the name or subject and reference to a folder number (which may change from year to year for a particular subject although in a short span of years it often remains the same). To find the current physical location of the referenced folder, readers must consult the photocopied Kardex entries, note the number of any folder they wish to review, and then determine from the list which follows the number of the storage box in which the folder has been placed.
Box - Folders
1916-1917
1 1-4
2 5-9
3 10-21
4 22-35
5 45
6 36-44, 46-74
7 75-113
8 114-194
9 195-234
10 235-271
11 272-369 (294 in legal-size box)
12 294, 399, 631
13 370-550 (399 in legal-size box)
14 551-600
15 601-679, (631 in legal-size box), 712
16 745, 753-808 (762 in legal-size box)
17 762, 810-813
18 813A, (1916-1917 Registration); Original Figures of budget (1914-1915, 1915-1916, Annual Income of the State University of Iowa, 1916-1917)
19 Budget Figures(1916-1917); Association of Separated State Universities
1917-1918
20 1
21 2-21
22 22-36 (31 in legal-size box)
23 31
24 37-45
25 46-53
26 54-82
27 83-127
28 128-164
29 165-210
30 211-229
31 230-236, 251-340 (237, 323 in legal-size)
32 237, 323, 379
33 341-495 (379 in legal-size box)
34 496-630
35 631-669 (B)
1918-1919
36 1-2
37 3-6
38 7-17
39 18, 30, 84-86, 100
40 19-28 (18 in legal-size box)
41 29-43 (30 in legal-size box)
42 44-46
43 47-57
44 58-82, 87-95, (84-86 in legal-size box)
45 96-110 (100 in legal-size box)
46 111-125
47 126-166b
48 166c-197
49 198-230
50 231-268
1919-1920
51 1
52 2-4a
53 4b-7 (4c in legal-size box)
54 8-14
55 15-16
56 4c, 18, 19
57 17, 20-28
58 28-38
59 39-45
60 46-52
61 53-70
62 71-85
63 86-99
64 100-119
66 120-135
1920-1921
65 1
66 1a (also has 1919-1920 folders #120-135)
67 2-6
68 7-11c
69 11-11b
70 12-16a
71 15b-19
72 18a, 30
73 20-35
74 36-39
75 40-46
76 47-54
77 55-70
78 71-93
79 76
80 94-99
81 100-115
82 116-121
83 121 (Budget)
84 121a-133
1921-1922
85 1
86 1-4
87 5-10
88 11-14
89 15-17
90 18c, 28, 30
91 18-26 (18c in legal-size box)
92 27-38 (28, 30 in legal-size)
93 39-45
94 46-58
95 59-75 (note: folder 63 has letters marked 52 and 64, the latter at least indexed as 64)
96 76-94
97 91
98 95-99
99 100-121
101 122-130
1922-1923
100 1
101 1
102 2-5
103 6-15a
104 11
105 11a, 11b
106 15b-17, 19-26
107 18 (payroll)
108 18
109 27-30
110 30
111 31-38
112 39
113 40-52
114 53-64
115 80
116 65-79, 81-83
117 84-92
118 93-99
119 100-112, 116-129 (117-122, 123-125 are omitted)
120 113, 115
1923-1924
121 1-11
122 12-13
123 14-16
124 16- 21
125 22-32
126 33-38
127 39-51
128 52-57
129 58
130 58-60
131 61-73
132 74 (Medicine: A-P)
133 74-85
134 86-90
135 91-99
136 99a-106
137 106a-116a
138 116b-123
1924-1925
139 1-13
140 13-16
141 16 (Budget)
142 16a-25
143 25a-35
144 36-41
145 42-51a
146 52-59
147 57
148 60-72
149 73 (Medicine)
150 73-87
151 88-96
152 97-101
153 102-110
154 110a-120
155 121-131 (also has 1925-1926 folders #1-10)
1925-1926
155 1-10 (also has 1924-1925 folders #121-131)
156 11-13 (Boyd)
157 13-16
158 16-20
159 21-27
160 28-35
161 35-42
162 43-52a
163 53-57
164 57-57a (Hospital Payroll)
165 57b-59 (pt. 1)
166 59-70
167 70-73 (Med-General)
168 73-74 (pt. 1)
169 74-87a
170 87a-91
171 92-100
172 101-109
173 110a (pt), 115a
174 110-112
175 112a-130
1926-1927
176 1-10
177 11-12
178 12-15
179 15-22
180 23-32
181 33-38
182 39-50
183 51-56
184 57
185 57a-57b
186 57c-60a
187 61-69
188 67a, 67b
189 69-73
190 73-86
191 87-96
192 97-100
193 101-107
194 108, 110a
195 109-114, 121-129
196 117-120b
1927-1928
197 1-8
198 9-11
199 11-14
200 15-23
201 24-35
202 36-42
203 43-51
204 52-56
205 57
206 57a-57b
207 57b-59
208 60-68
209 69-73
210 73-75
211 76-81a
212 82-87a
213 88-96
214 97-100
215 101-103
216 104-110a
217 111-130
1928-1929
218 1-8
219 9-11
220 11-18
221 19-24
222 25-38
223 39-49
224 50-54a
225 55-57a
226 57b-57e
227 58-62b
228 63-67
229 67-67a
230 67
231 68-72
232 73-78
233 79-87
234 87a-96
235 97-101
236 101-108
237 109-110a
238 110a-129
1929-1930
239 1-5
240 5A-11
241 11-12A
242 13-21
243 22-33
244 34-39
245 40-51
246 50-52
247 53-57A
248 57A-59
249 59A-61
250 62-68
251 69-73
252 73-86
253 87-90
254 91-97
255 98-101
256 101a-110
257 110-110aa
258 111-122
259 123-129 (may also have some1930-1931)
1930-1931
260 1-9
261 10-11
262 11-14b
263 15-23
264 24-36
265 36a-43
266 44-50
267 51-57
268 57a-57b
269 57c-63a
270 64-66, 67a1-67a2
271 67
272 67a3-67a4
273 67a-67a8
274 67a9-67a11
275 67a12-67a14
276 67a
277 67a14, 67a16-67a17
278 67a18-67a19
279 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vols. 1 & 2)
280 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vols. 3 & 5)
281 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vol. #4)
282 67a (Legislative Investigation newspapers)
283 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vol. #6), 67B-68
284 69-73
285 73-78
286 79-87
287 88-96
288 97-100
289 101-109
290 110-110a
291 110a-116
292 117-129
1931-1932
293 1-5a
294 6-11
295 11
296 11-14a
297 14A-18
298 19-28
299 29-36
300 36a-41
301 42-44
302 44a-52
303 52-57
304 57a-58a
305 59-60
306 61-69
307 70-74
308 75-86
309 87-90
310 91-92
311 93-100
312 100-101
313 102-110
314 110a
315 111-129
1932-1933
316 1-6
311 7-11
318 11
319 11-14
320 14a-22a
321 23-34
322 35-40
323 41-45a
324 46-52
325 52-57
326 57-57a
327 57b-59c
328 60-67
329 67-67b
330 67c-73
331 73-76
332 76a-90
333 91-97
334 98-101
335 101-110
336 110-111
337 112-129
1933-1934
338 1-4
339 5-11
340 11-11c
341 12-14a
342 16-26
343 27-36
344 37-43a
345 44-50
346 50-52
347 52-57
348 57-58a
349 59-67a
350 68-73
351 73c-76
352 76-87a
353 88-95
354 95-97
355 98-101
356 102-110
357 111-129
