Finding Aid
|
Papers of Howard R. Bowen Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President at various times between 1975 and 1978. Inventory by Xuefan Sun, July 1996. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; revised December 2006. Photographs: |
|
Biographical Note
The fourteenth president of the University of Iowa, Howard Rothmann Bowen was born in Spokane, Washington, on October 27, 1908. He received his B.A. degree from the State College of Washington in 1929, and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Iowa in 1933 and 1935, respectively. He and his wife, Lois, raised two children.
Mr. Bowen held a variety of academic and government positions before assuming the university presidency in 1964. From 1935 until 1942, he was a member of the faculty of the University of Iowa’s College of Commerce. During World War II, he was employed by the U.S. Department of Commerce and served as chief economist for the U.S. House Ways and Means and Senate Finance committees. In 1945, he joined Irving Trust in New York as an economist. From 1947 until 1952, he was a member of the faculty of the University of Illinois and served on the Williams College faculty in Massachusetts from 1952 until 1955. He returned to Iowa that year to become president of Grinnell College, a post he held until 1964, when he was named University of Iowa president.
In 1969, he joined the Claremont Graduate School in California as a member of the economics faculty, serving as the school’s president and chancellor from 1970 to 1974. At the time of his death he was a professor emeritus at Claremont. Howard Bowen died on December 22, 1989.
Related Materials
Bowen, Howard R. Academic Recollections. Washington, D.C.: American Association for Higher Education and American Council on Education, 1988. 155 pp.
Bowen, Howard R. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 29. 49 pp. 1977.
Solberg, Winton U., and Robert W. Tomilson. "Academic McCarthyism and Keynesian Economics: The Bowen Controversy at the University of Illinois." History of Political Economy 29 (spring 1997): 55-81, notes. Howard R. Bowen and George D. Stoddard.
Bowen was also the author of numerous articles and monographs pertaining to economics.
Box Contents List
Since the Walter Jessup administration in 1916, the President's Office has maintained an index of Presidential Correspondence in the form of a Kardex file to which name and subject entries are posted. A new alphabetical sequence is begun approximately each fiscal year. These cards files have been photocopied and a bound copy is available in the University Archives; these primary files are not yet available on-line. They are, clearly, essential to tracing correspondence on specific subjects.
The Kardex entries consist of the name or subject and reference to a folder number (which may change from year to year for a particular subject although in a short span of years it often remains the same). To find the current physical location of the referenced folder, readers must consult the photocopied Kardex entries, note the number of any folder they wish to review, and then determine from the list which follows the number of the storage box in which the folder has been placed. Please note that folder numbers are not necessarily sequential in Archives holdings, and some folders may have been withdrawn from the sequence by the Office of the President.
Box / Folder number
1964 -- 1965
1 / 1 -- 2D (unnumbered folders, "Old Gold Development Fund Materials", "UI Foundation")
2 / D -- 4A
3 / 4B -- 4O
4 / 4P -- 6
5 / 6 -- 10
6 / 11 -- 23
7 / 24 -- 27C (unnnumbered folder, "Student Housing")
8 / 28 -- 35
9 / 36 -- 46 (unnumbered folder, "Spriestersbach, Materials regarding")
10 / 47 -- 55
11 / 56 -- 6OQ (unnumbered folder, "Zuberi File")
12 / 60R -- 64
13 / 65 -- 74
14 / 75 -- 79
15 / 80 -- 80E
16 / 80F -- 80Q
17 / 81 -- 84 (unnumbered folder, "SUI -- Congratulations and Personal")
18 / 85 -- 97B
19 / 98 -- 105C (unnumbered folder, "National Committee on Technology")
20 / 105D -- 112
1965 -- 1966
21 / 1 -- 3
22 / 4 -- 4N
23 / 4P -- 5B
24 / 6, letters to State Board of Regents
25 / 6 -- 6B
26 / 6B -- 16
27 / 17 -- 25
28 / 27 -- 31
29 / 32 -- 43
30 / 43 -- 47
31 / 48 -- 51 (unnumbered folder, "Measurement Research Center")
32 / 52 -- 60M
33 / 60N -- 61A
34 / 61B -- 61F
35 / 62 -- 70
36 / 71 -- 80B
37 / 80E -- 82
38 / 84 -- 93
39 / 93 -- 104
40 / 105 -- 112
1966 -- 1967
41 / 1A -- 4A
42 / 4B -- 4I
43 / 4J -- 5B
44 / 6 -- 9B
45 / 10 -- 25
46 / 25 -- 28
47 / 29 -- 40
48 / 41 -- 47
49 / 48 -- 54
50 / 55 -- 60R
51 / 60S -- 62
52 / 63 -- 69
53 / 69 -- 79
54 / 80A -- 85R
55 / 87 -- 93B
56 / 94 -- 105H
57 / 106, 108, 110w, 111, remodeling projects
1967 -- 1968
58 / 1 -- 4B
59 / 4B2 -- 4P
60 / 4D -- 5
61 / 6 -- 6A1
62 / 6A1 -- 20
63 / 21 -- 29
64 / 29 -- 36A
65 / 38 -- 46
66 / 47 -- 51A
67 / 51B -- 60P2
68 / 60P3 -- 65
69 / 65 -- 76
70 / 76 -- 80F; Personnel matters, civil service, etc.
71 / 80G -- 90
72 / 91 -- 93B
73 / 94 -- 105C
74 / 105D -- 112; 200
1968 -- 1969
75 / 1 -- 4
76 / 4A -- 4P
77 / 4Q -- 6
78 / 6A -- 9
79 / 9 -- 20
80 / 21 -- 28 (unnumbered folder, "Haisman Case")
81 / 29 -- 38H
82 / 39 -- 43
83 / 44 -- 48D; Dongguk University
84 / 48E -- 60M
85 / 60N -- 60Z11
86 / 62 -- 65J
87 / 65K -- 74
88 / 76 -- 80E
89 / 80E -- 82
90 / 84 -- 93A
91 / 93B -- 105H
92 / 106 -- 113
Addendum
1-7 / Speeches
8 / Inauguration, 1964
9 / Inauguration, news releases
10-11 / University News Service Bowen folders
12 / Letters to Regents, 1964-64
13 / Letters to Regents, 1965-67
14 / Letters to Regents, 1967-69
15 / Correspondence, 1969-72
16 / Correspondence, 1973-74
17 / Commissions and Studies
18 / Publications, Higher Education
19 / Publications, 1970-79
20 / Publications,
Iowa,
Small Business,
Analyses of Current Business Conditions,
Economics of Health,
Technology
21 / Publications,
Social and General Economics,
Business and Society,
Taxation and Public Finance,
Thailand (2 photographs)
22 / Notes, Humanistic
23 / Resignation
24 / Statements and Press Clippings
25 / Inauguration,
Correspondence with Office of Public Information
26 / "University Report 1968", "University Report 1969",
WMT - TV
