The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Administrative Records Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet February 2007. Initial accession of materials reprocessed February 2011. Photographs: None |
|
This collection includes various documents relating to the general administration of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Iowa. Materials include budgets and budgetary documents, individual program and departmental reviews, and self-studies/reviews for the College as a whole. There are also numerous files relating to assorted CLAS subjects.
The materials relating to the 1986 - 1987 CLAS Self-Study, most of which are reference documents, were originally the property of Professor Robert Cruden, who served on the study committee.
Box Contents List
Box 1
Annual Report of the College of Liberal Arts, 1939-1940 (including 'Needs of the College for 1941-1943)
Budgets
Budget Summaries
School of Fine Arts to School of Letters, 1916/1917 - 1938/1939
Botany to Military Science, 1916/1917 - 1938/1939
Philosophy to Zoology, 1916/1917 - 1938/1939
College of Liberal Arts, 1938/1939 - 1942/1943
Box 2
Budget Summaries
College of Liberal Arts, 1943/1944 - 1945/1946
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1912 - 1913
Budget Years 1917 - 1919
Budget Year 1919 - 1920
Budget Year 1920 - 1921
Budget Year 1921 - 1922
Budget Year 1922 - 1923
Budget Year 1923 - 1924
Budget Year 1924 - 1925
Budget Year 1925 - 1926
Box 3
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1926 - 1927
Budget Year 1927 - 1928 (2 folders)
Budget Year 1928 - 1929 (2 folders)
Budget Year 1929 - 1930 (2 folders)
Box 4
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1930 - 1931 (2 folders)
Budget Year 1931 - 1932
Budget Year 1932 - 1933 (2 folders)
Budget Year 1933 - 1934
Box 5
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1934 - 1935
Budget Year 1936 - 1937
Budget Year 1937 - 1938 [General]
Budget Year 1937 - 1938 [By Department] (2 folders)
Box 6
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1937 - 1938 [By Department] (2 folders)
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [CLAS Administration, Departments B-C]
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [Departments G-J]
Box 7
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [Departments M-P]
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [Departments P-R]
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [Departments S-Z]
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [Admin., Classical Languages, English, German, Romance Languages, Phonetics Lab]
Budget Year 1938 - 1939 [School of Fine Arts]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [CLAS Administration, Departments B-C]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Departments G-J]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Home Economics]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Departments M-P]
Box 8
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Departments P-R]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Departments S-Z]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [Admin., Languages, English, Phonetics Lab]
Budget Year 1939 - 1940 [School of Fine Arts]
Budget Years 1939 - 1941
Budget Years 1940 - 1942
Budget Years 1941 - 1943
Budget Years 1944 - 1946
Budget Years 1947 - 1948
Budget Year 1950 - 1951
Budget Year 1952 - 1953
Budget Year 1953 - 1954
Budget Year 1954 - 1955
Box 9
Budget Documents
Budget Year 1955 - 1956
Budget Year 1956 - 1957
Budget Year 1957 - 1958
Budget Year 1958 - 1959
Budget Year 1959 - 1960
Budget Year 1960 - 1961
Budget Year 1961 - 1962
Budget Year 1962 - 1963
Budget Year 1963 - 1964
Budget Year 1964 - 1965
Budget Year 1965 - 1966
Budget Year 1966 - 1967
Budget Year 1967 - 1968
Budget Year 1969 - 1970
Box 10
Program Reviews [By Department]
Aerospace Studies and Military Science, 1996 - 1997 and 1996 Self-Study
African Studies, 1996
African Studies, 1995 - 1996 Self-Study
Aging Studies, 1994 and 1993 Self-Study
American Studies, 1995
American Studies, 1994 Self-Study
Anthropology, 1993 - 1994
Anthropology, 1993 Self-Study
Anthropology, 2001
Art and Art History, 1998 - 1999
Art and Art History, 1998 Self-Study
Asian Languages and Literatures, 1992 - 1993
Asian Languages and Literatures, 1992 Self-Study
Biological Sciences, 1998 - 1999 and 1998 Self-Study
Center for the Book, 1994
Center for the Book, 1993 Self-Study
Center for the Book, 2000 - 2001 and 2000 Self-Study
Chemistry, 1994 - 1995
Chemistry, 1994 Self-Study
Classics, 1995 - 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
Communication Studies, 1992
Communication Studies, 1991 Self-Study
Comparative Literature, 1994 - 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Computer Science, 1995
Computer Science, 1994 Self-Study
Dance, 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
English, 1991 - 1992
English, 1991 Self-Study
English As A Second Language, 1994
English As A Second Language, 1993 Self-Study
Box 11
Program Reviews [By Department]
Exercise Science, 1992 - 1993
Exercise Science, 1992 Self-Study
French and Italian, 1993 - 1994
French and Italian, 1993 Self-Study
Geography, 1994 - 1995
Geography, 1994 Self-Study
Geology, 1997 - 1998
Geology, 1997 Self-Study
Global Studies, 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
History, 1994 - 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Honors Program, 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Honors Program, 2003 - 2004
Interdepartmental Studies, 1997 - 1998 and 1997 Self-Study
International Business Certificate, 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
International Writers Program, 1994 - 1995, 1999 and 1994 Self-Study
Iowa Social Science Institute, 1994 - 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Iowa Social Science Institute, 2002
Journalism and Mass Communication, 1997
Journalism and Mass Communication, 1996 Self-Study
Language Media Center, 1995 - 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
Latin American Studies, 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
Liberal Studies, 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Library and Information Science, 1991 - 1992 and 1991 Self-Study
Library and Information Science, 1999
Box 12
Program Reviews [By Department]
Linguistics, 1993 and 1992 Self-Study
Literature, Science and the Arts, 1995 - 1996, 2006 and 1995 Self-Study
Mathematics, 1992 and 1991 Self-Study
Museum Studies, 1998 - 1999
Philosophy, 1993 - 1994 and 1993 Self-Study
Physics and Astronomy, 1993 and 1992 Self-Study
Political Science, 1996 - 1997 and 1996 Self-Study
Psychology, 1992 - 1993 and 1992 Self-Study
Psychology, 2001 and 2000 Self-Study
Religion, 1992 and 1991 Self-Study
Rhetoric, 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Russian, 1994 - 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies, 1996 and 1995 Self-Study
Social Work, 1992 and 1991 Self-Study
Sociology, 1994 and 1993 Self-Study
Sociology, 2002 - 2003 and 2002 Self-Study
Spanish and Portuguese, 1995 - 1996
Spanish and Portuguese, 1995 Self-Study
Speech Pathology and Audiology, 1994
Box 13
Program Reviews [By Department]
Speech Pathology and Audiology, 1993 Self-Study
Sport, Health,. Leisure and Physical Studies, 1997 - 1998 and 1997 Self-Study
Statistics and Actuarial Science, 1996 - 1997 and 1996 Self-Study
Theatre Arts, 1995 and 1994 Self-Study
Box 14
Program Reviews [By Department]
Unified Program, 1996 Self-Study
Womens Studies, 1992 - 1993 and 1992 Self-Study
Writer's Workshop, 1992 - 1994 and 1992 Self-Study
Box 15
External Reviews
External Review (1978): Evaluation Visit Report, April 1978
External Review (1984): Documentation and Review, 1984 - 1985
Self-Studies [CLAS]
Self-Study (1983): "The State of the College" (April 1983, 2 copies)
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): FYI (Assorted Issues), 1986 - 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Governance Committee - Reports and Proposals, 1982 - 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Manuals of Procedure, 1966 - 1986
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Miscellaneous, 1986 - 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Mission and Structure of UI, 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Mission and Structure Subcommittee, 1986 - 1987
Box 16
Self-Studies [CLAS]
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Mission Statements from Various Universities, 1986
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Report on Long-Range Academic Planning (April 1986)
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Responses to NCA Criteria, 1986
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Self-Study Committee Reports, October-December 1986
Box 17
Self-Studies [CLAS]
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Self-Study Plan, 1986 - 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Self-Study Report Outline - Report from Omsbudperson, 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): Subcommittee Reports, 1987
Self-Study (1986 - 1987): UI Mission Statement, 1987
Miscellaneous
Absence Rules, 1935, 1937, 1941 - 1942, 1957
Academic Programs Office, 1985 - 1986, 1992
Advisors, 1944 - 1950, 1955, 1973 - 1974, n.d.
Assorted Correspondence, 1918 - 1975
Assorted Documentation, 1936 - 1987, n.d.
Cooperative Education Internship News, November 1981
Courses, 1932, 1947, 1950, 1952, n.d.
Enrollments, 1917 - 1938
Box 18
Miscellaneous
Faculty Statistics, 1945 - 1946, n.d.
Freshman Policies, 1934 - 1935, 1938
General Education Requirements, 1943, 1948
History of the Collegiate Department from 1879-1900 [William C. Lang], 1941
Instruction and Administrative Lists, 1963 - 1973
Manual of Rules and Procedure, 1949 - 1974, n.d.
The Next Decade: Plans and Programs [Preliminary Draft], 1965, 1969
The New Program in Liberal Arts, 1945
Performance Appraisal and Functional Job Analysis, n.d.
Personnel Data Forms [Blank], 1952, 1955
Questionnaires, 1938, 1940, 1942
Registration, 1946 - 1948
Rules and Regulations, 1906 - 1931
Box 19
Miscellaneous
Rules and Regulations, 1932 - 1959, 1966, 1976, n.d.
Scholarship Report of Undergrad Males, 1916 - 1917
Sophomore Year Course Rule, n.d.
A Study of the Relationship Between the Educational Background of Seniors and Their Performance in the Area Tests of the Graduate Record Examination, 1955
Veterans, 1936, 1941, 1944