The University of Iowa Libraries
Special Collections and University Archives
Finding Aid
|
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Club and Association Records Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. The materials were processed in August-September 2011. Photographs: |
|
The materials in this collection include records of clubs and other organizations whose membership is comprised primarily of CLAS faculty and graduate students. Materials include foundational records, membership lists, minutes, and administrative records.
Also included are some scattered publications produced by the Liberal Arts Student Association.
Box Contents List
Box 1
Baconian Club [Natural and Physical Sciences]
Article on Club History and List of Papers/Reports (2 copies), 1911
Constitution [Original, Handwritten], 1885
Constitution [Printed], 1887, 1887 1889, 1895
Constitution [Printed, Bound], 1891
Constitution [Typewritten], n.d.
Minutes, 1885 - 1892
Box 2
Baconian Club [Natural and Physical Sciences]
Minutes, 1892 - 1898
Minutes, 1898 - 1906
Minutes, 1906 - 1911
Box 3
Baconian Club [Natural and Physical Sciences]
Minutes, 1911 - 1926
Miscellaneous, 1926, 1944, n.d.
Box 4
Humanities Society [Languages, later General Humanities]
Note: The Humanities Society was originally formed in 1897 as the Whitney Society and was devoted to the study of Languages. In 1907 it changed its name and focus and became the Humanist Society, devoted to general humanities. The name changed again in 1945 to the Humanities Society.
Minutes, 1897 - 1917
Minutes, 1917 - 1938
Minutes, 1939 - 1963
Box 5
Political Science Club
Constitution, 1900
History of Club, 1906?
Meeting Lists and Announcements, 1896 - 1902, 1932, 1934 - 1936
Meeting Notices, 1931
Membership Lists, 1900 - 1933, n.d. [Incomplete]
Minutes, 1896 - 1932
Miscellaneous, 1903, 1925, 1938, n.d.
Officers Lists, 1896 - 1907
Papers Read Before Club, 1896 - 1906, 1916, n.d.
President's Retirement Address, 1901
Receipts, 1920, 1926 - 1931, n.d.
Box 6
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
By-Laws, 1940 (revised)
"Confidential Lists" of Accepted Nominations, 1962 - 1963, n.d.
Invitation and Dinner Programs, 1930, 1940
Manual of Procedure [Printed], 1956?
Membership Lists, 1954, n.d.
Minutes [Bound], 1900 - 1922
Minutes [Bound], 1922 - 1941
Box 7
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
Miscellaneous, 1947, 1952 - 1956
Nominations for Membership, 1921 - 1955
Nominations for Membership (University of South Dakota), 1952
Petitions for Establishment of Sigma Xi Chapters, 1952 - 1953
Petitions for Establishment of Sigma Xi Chapters, 1955 - 1956
Box 8
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
Record and History of Sigma Xi [Published], covering 1886 - 1936
Box 9
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
Secretary's Notes [Containing correspondence, forms, membership lists, etc.], 1948 - 1960
Secretary's Notes, 1960 - 1962
Secretary's Notes, 1962 - 1965
Secretary's Notes, 1965 - 1967
Secretary's Notes, 1967 - 1969
Secretary's Notes, 1969 - 1970
Secretary's Notes, 1970 - 1971
Box 10
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
Signature Book of Initiates, 1901 - 1918
Treasurer's Books, 1933 - 1954
Year Books, 1921 - 1922, 1934 - 1935, 1937 - 1938, 1940 - 1941, 1944 - 1945, 1947 - 1948
Box 11
Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
Corresponding Secretary's Record, 1901 - 1953
Box 12
Liberal Arts Student Association
Course Evaluation Booklet, 1974 - 1975
Course Guide, 1976
Materials, 1972, n.d.
New Liberal Arts Review, December 1980
New Student Record, 1980