Finding Aid
|
Records of the University Libraries Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet 2000; updated January 2008. Photographs: None |
|
Box Contents List
Box 1
Librarian's Reports, 1857 -- 1904
Report of the Librarian, bound in scrapbook, 1905 -- 1913
Annual Reports of the Library, 1913/1914 -- 1923/1924
Report of Director of Libraries, 1926
Library Reports, 1924 -- 1927
Box 2
Annual Reports, 1927/1928 -- 1945 (no report written for 1930/1931)
Annual Reports, Ellsworth, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946
Box 3
Annual Reports
Acquisitions Department, 1949/1950
Art Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946, 1948/1949
Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library, 1948/1949 -- 1949/1950
Campus Special Library, 1949/1950
Cataloging Department, 1906/1907 -- 1944/1945
Circulation Department, 1924/1925 -- 1947/1948
Box 4
Departmental Libraries, 1924/1925 -- 1947/1948
Box 5
Dental Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946
Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library, 1933/1934 -- 1950/1951
Education/Psychology Library, 1951/1952 -- 1952/1953
English Reading Room, 1949/1950
Foreign Languages Library, 1932/1933 -- 1949/1950, incomplete
Government Documents Department, 1931/1932 -- 1949/1950
Inter-library Loan Department, 1948/1949 -- 1949/1950
Iowa Authors Collection, 1948/1949 -- 1953/1954
Library Instruction Department, 1932/1933 -- 1944/1945 (1942/1943 missing)
Math Library, 1944/1945 -- 1945/1946
Medical Library, 1924/1925, 1929/1930, 1932/1933
Public Service Division, 1945/1946 -- 1947/1948
Box 6
Order and Binding Department, 1923/1924 -- 1934/1935
Order and Binding Department, 1935/1936 -- 1942/1943
Order Department, 1943/1944 -- 1944/1945, 1948/1949
Binding Department, 1943/1944 -- 1944/1945, 1948 -- 1949
Box 7
Reference Department, 1923/1924 -- 1947/1948
Reference and Circulation Department, 1948/1949
Reserve Reading Room, 1923/1924 -- 1947/1948
Serial Department, 1927/1928 -- 1949/1950
Serial-Reserve Department, 1948/1949
Undergraduate Study Halls, 1924/1925 -- 1925/1926, 1927/1928 -- 1929/1930
Box 8
Art Library
Correspondence, 1937 -- 1951
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures, July 1948
Botany/Chemistry/Pharmacy Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1926 -- 1944
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Inventory, 1947
Campus Special Library
Attendance Reports, 1946 -- 1949
Correspondence and Memos, 1939 -- 1951
Inventory, 1945? -- 1949?
Cataloging Department
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1935, 1941 -- 1946
Box 9
Circulation Department
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1949
Commons Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1942 -- 1943
Inventory, 1942 -- 1943
Policies and Procedures, 1942
Communication Skills Reading Room
Attendance Reports, 1948 -- 1951
Correspondence and Memos, 1946 -- ?
Inventory, 1947 -- 1949
Currier Hall Library
Attendance Reports, 1948? -- 1949
Correspondence and Memos, 1939 -- 1949
Box 10
Dental Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1930 -- 1948
Inventory, 1944 -- 1948
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1946
Periodical Data
Departmental Libraries
Correspondence, 1924 -- 1926
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1935, 1942 -- 1949
Reports and Budgets, 1924 -- 1949
Box 11
Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library
Child Welfare Collection, November 1929
Correspondence and Memos, 1929 -- 1952
Curriculum Laboratory
Inventory, 1943
Monthly Reports, 1944 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures
Manual for the Administration of the Education/Philosophy/Psychology Library
Special Reports, Statistics, Diagrams, and Manuals
Summer Session, 1931 -- 1932
Engineering Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1930 -- 1948
Inventory, 1943, 1945
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Box 12
English Reading Room
Correspondence, 1939 -- 1948
Inventory, 1949
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1947
Foreign Languages Library
Correspondence, 1923 -- 1947
Inventory, 1945 -- 1949
Monthly Reports, 1932 -- 1951
Reports
Geology Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1927 -- 1952
Inventory
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures
Box 13
Government Documents Department
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1949, incomplete
Hillcrest Library
Bookplate
Correspondence and Memos, 1938 -- 1948
Inventory and Attendance Records, 1939 -- 1943
Monthly Reports, 1948 -- 1951
Journalism Library
Correspondence, 1947 -- 1950
Monthly Reports, 1948 -- 1949
Library Instruction
Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1945, incomplete
Math/Physics Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1933 -- 1946
Inventory
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures
Medical Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1924 -- 1953
Inventory
Monthly Reports, 1925 -- 1931, incomplete; 1945 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures, 1942
Box 14
Memorial Union Library
Correspondence, memos, and reports, 1932 -- 1939
Military Library
Correspondence, 1930 -- 1948
Inventory, 1939
Music Library
Monthly Reports, 1957 -- 1960
Order and Binding Department
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1943, incomplete
Order Department
Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1946
Binding Department
Monthly Reports, 1943 -- 1946
Periodical Reading Room
Monthly Reports, 1928 -- 1931
Box 15
Quadrangle Library
Bookplate
Correspondence, 1935 -- 1950
Policies and Procedures
Reports, 1947 -- 1950
Reference Department
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1931; 1934 -- 1935; 1942 -- 1949, incomplete
Reports
Reserve Reading Room
Monthly Reports, 1924 -- 1931; 1934 -- 1935; 1943 -- 1949
Box 16
Serial Department
Correspondence and Memos, 1931 -- 1949
Monthly Reports, 1934 -- 1949
Undergraduate Study Hall
Monthly Reports, 1925 -- 1931
Westlawn Library
Inventory ?
Zoology Library
Correspondence and Memos, 1925 -- 1952
Inventory, 1942
Monthly Reports, 1945 -- 1960
Policies and Procedures
Box 17
Books at Iowa: Correspondence, 1964-1965
----. 1966-1967
----. 1968-1969
----. 1970
----. 1971
----. 1972-1973
----. 1974-1975
----. 1976-1979
----. 1980
----. Barnes, Warner
----. Hanlin, Frank
Amert, Kay. "Works Printed by K. K. Merker: The Stone Wall Press, The Windhover Press, and Others" 25:21-24,29-33;
Benkovitz, Miriam J. "Edmund Blunden and the Incitements of Japan" 32:1 5-24.
Bogue, Allan G. "Herbert Quick's Hawkeye Trilogy" 16:3-13,23 (illus).
Bush, Cynthia. "The Perishable Press Limited" 29:36-52.
Bush, Sargent, Jr. --"Longfellow's Letters to Cornelia Fitch" 6:13-18, 23; ----. "The Achievement of John T. Frederick" 14:8-22, 2,3 (illus), 27-30;
Carney, Thomas L. & Joyce Crawford. "The Torch Press: A Preliminary History" 21:3-25. ----. See also 31:35-36. 46; ----. See also Maddigan, Mike. Also Torch Press Addenda (two folders total)
Clyne, Patricia Edwards. "Thomas O. Mabbott as Teacher" 34:29-36
Dill, Vicky Schreiber. "The Books of William Everson" 28:9-24.
Haight, Gordon S. "Letters From George Henry Lewes To Richard Hengist Horne" 18:18, 23-25.
Kellner, Bruce. "Baby Woojums In Iowa" 26:3-18
Mabbott, Thomas Olive. "The Books in the House of Usher" 19:3-7,17 (illus);
----. "Observations on Poets and Poetry" 29:14-28, 30 (illus.), 33-35.
----. See also 34:26 (illus.), 29-36.
Martin, John. "Musings on a Pleasant Disease: A Nonmedical Report" 28:3-8; "The Vesalian School of Anatomy in Renaissance Padua" 18:3-17, 19-21 (illus);
Moeller, Dorothy. "Wendell Johnson: The Addiction to Wonder" 20: 3-22, 23 (illus), Bibliography.
Peich, Michael. "The Toothpaste Press: A Checklist" 36:23-25, 28-39, 41-42
Richmond, Mary L. "The Cummington Press" 7:9-22,27-31.
Rostenberg, Leona. "Robert Hooke's Scientific Library: Books From Duck Lane and Moorfields" 33:3-21.
Service, Robert W. The Cremation of Sam McGee 2:21 (illus).’
Tanselle, G. Thomas. "George Cram Cook and the Poetry of Living, with a Checklist" 24:3-30,35-37.
Weber, Richard B. "Paul Engle: A Checklist" 5:11-24,29-37.
Wulling, Emerson G. "Carroll Coleman on Printing, with a Prairie Press Checklist, 1965-1975" 23:11-24, 29-33;
Wylder, Delbert E. "Frederick Manfred: The Quest of the Independent Writer" 31:16-30.
Box 18
Gifts: Iowa – Des Moines National Bank
Gifts and Appraisals – 1986
----. 1984
----. 1983
Appraisals: Inquiries 1962 – 67
Appraisers
Appraisals: Policy
----. Boyd, President Willard R. U.S. Presidents Collection
----. Carter, Corrine
----. Cedar Rapids Public Library, 1974
Cheever Appraisal, 1971, working copy
Appraisals: Cheever, 1968
----. Cheever, L. O., 1969
----. Cheever, L. O., 1971
----. Cheever, L. O., 1972
----. Foster, T. Henry
----. Foster, T. Henry (auction)
----. Green, Edwin B. Posters
----. Gutenberg Bible Leaf
----. Inquiries 1968
----. Iowa State Education Association Correspondence (related to Clyde Walton 1955 appraisal of Salisbury House Library)
----. Iowa State Education Association (Clyde Walton 1955 appraisal of Salisbury House Library)
Kaplan Appraisals
Appraisals: Knowles – Clemens
----. Larimer, Dr. R.N.
----. Mabbott, T.O,
----. Maurs
----. Martin, Dr. John
----. Means, Betty 1985
----. Midland Collection
----. Oberembt, Kenneth,1980
----. Oberembt, Kenneth
----. Oberembt, Kenneth, 1981
----. Oberembt, Kenneth, 1982
----. Paracelsus
----. Stout, G.D.
----. von Groschwitz, Gustave
----. Welty, Susan
----. Woods Fielding Library
Appraisal Report, Method of Appraisal
Appraisals: General MsL and MSS 1976 – 1977
----. xMS and MsC 1976-1977
----. Archives 1976-1977
----. Blunden Collection 1976-1977
----. Bollinger-Lincoln 1976-1977
----. Cheever Collection
----. History of Hydraulics Collection 1976-1977
----. Leigh Hunt Collection 1976-1977
----. Ingham Collection 1976-1977
----. Iowa Author Collection 1976-1977
----. Iowa Author Manuscripts 1976-1977
----. Mabbott-Poe Collection 1976-1977
----. Map Collection 1976-1977
----. Presidential Letters 1976-1977
----. Ranney Collection 1976-1977
----. Reference Collection (Special Collections) 1976-1977
----. Springer Collection 1976-1977
----. Typo Lab 1976-1977
----. W Collection 1976-1977
----. X Collection 1976-1977
Gifts: A-L
----.: M-Z
----. Bromsen, Mary
----. Fahnestock, Mrs. Snowden A.
----. Feinburg, Charles
----. Garnett, Miss W. Leslie
----. Horn, Ernest
----. Ink, Mrs. R.P.
----. Kuhl, E.P.
----. Martin, John T.
----. Meek, Hazel
----. Shaw, Professor Marlow A.
----. Temple
----. Wilcox, Dr. Jan
----. Miscellaneous
Box 19
2012 Addendum
Blah Blah Archive
When the first floor was remodelled in 2012 parts of the basement, where Special Collections stored items that did not fit in their space on third floor, had to cleared out to accommodate infrastructure for the new Information Commons. The move was accomplished in-house during the spring semester using student labor. These students moved thousands of books and thousands of feet of manuscript material. The move was documented using photographs. These and other materials relating to the move were kept and named the Blah Blah Archive, at the students suggestion. The collection was organized by the manuscripts processor and presented at the banquet celebrating the end of the project.
---. Cart labels. The cart were given names so that if one misbehaved they knew to avoid using that one. (No one used the one named "Emotional Roller Coaster.") They were given the names of actors who played Dr. Who and when these got work-worn, they were replaced with the names of prominent women.
---. Paperwork we will never forget. A lot of planning was done before the move and lists made. They are kept here.
---. Photographs
---. Student artwork. Students were kept well-fed and hydrated during the move and were given frequent breaks. During these breaks they took advantage of pen and paper and produced some interesting artwork
---. Treasure hunt! Some collections were split up in the basement and an attempt was made to reunite their disparate parts. Instructions were written out and flagged with purple. When students came upon a purple flag, the cry went up "Treasure Hunt!"
Collection also includes the following unprocessed materials:
ADMINISTRATIVE SERIES
ARL statistics, 1952-1985. 0.25 ft.
Library Strategic Plan 1998 & 1993. 0.25 ft.
Library Self-Study 1985 and 1998, Review of Libraries 1999, 2007. 0.25 ft.
Library Annual Report 1857-1948, bound volumes. 1.0 ft.
Libraries Annual Report, 1989- , in archives cataloged.
Library Reports.
Library Personnel Directory. 0.5 ft.
Library Subjects (early admin files). 0.5 ft.
Early history: Libraries book lists, 3 volumes, pre-1900; Libraries correspondence, 1895-98; Libraries' Medical and Homeopathic topic catalogs, pre-1900; Libraries Accessions, 2 volumes, 1873-1899; Libraries Accessions Serials, pre-1893. All in flat boxes. 10.0 ft.
PUBLICATIONS AND OUTREACH SERIES
Library catalogued and delayed. 2.0 ft.
Library Publication Projects. 0.25 ft.
Library Publications. 0.5 ft.
Library Handbooks. 0.5 ft.
Library Bibliographies. 0.25 ft.
Bookplate Samples. 0.25 ft.
Library Exhibit Catalogs. 0.25 ft.
Library Exhibits (pamphlets and guides). 0.5 ft.
SEE ALSO: DEPARTMENT AND SERVICES SERIES, Special Collections, North Lobby Exhibits
Hawkeye Library Notes, 1937-1946. 0.25 ft.
"Bindings" (University Libraries Publication), 1997-. 0.5 ft.
Hawkeye Library Notes, 1937-46. 0.5 ft.
Iowa City Library Club, Book Arts Rag. 0.25 ft.
Hoover Presidential Library newsletter, The American Road. 0.25 ft.
"Books at Iowa" Numbers 1-10, bound; numbers 11-65 unbound; at archives cataloged serials. 2.0 ft.
COMMITTEES SERIES
Committee minutes, memoranda; 1988-1998 (acc. 2001-13). 5.0 ft.
Library Self-Study Committee, 1984-1986. 0.25 ft.
University Library Committee minutes, correspondence. 2.0 ft.
Heads of Library and Library Staff Meeting. 0.25 ft.
Department Heads/Administration Council Minutes. 1.0 ft.
Library Administrative Council Minutes, 1949-1994; called Department Heads, 1949-1981; Admininstrative Council 1974-1994. 1.0 ft.
University Library Committee. 1.0 ft.
FACILITIES SERIES
Library Buildings. 0.25 ft.
GRANTS AND GIFTS SERIES
Gift Records. 0.5 ft.
Library Gifts, Dunlap. 2 ft.
Box 1
Gifts 1973/74, 1974/75
Gifts Bequest Clauses
Adler, Philip D.
Allen, Don Cameron, Mrs.
Baldwin, C.B
Bean, William B.
Birdsall, Benjamin P.
Bond, Perry A.
Bowen, Howard R.
Braverman, David
Bromsen, Maury A.
Brown, William L., Dr.
Bush, Raymond M.
Calkin, Homer
Carter, Corinne W., Mrs.
Chamberlin, J. Gordon, Prof.
Cheever, L.O.
Coe, Charles J.
Constantine, Aeneas
Culver, John, Senator
Culver, J.F., letters
Culver, J.F., book
Darling, Jay N. 'Ding'
Dodge, Homer L.
Dorsey, John M., M.D.
Dyke, Lester, Dr. & Mrs.
Dyke, Lester Maris
Elliot, Owen, Mr. & Mrs.
Fahnestock, Snowden A., Mrs.
Fairall, Laurence, Mrs.
Frank, Lewis C., Mrs.
Freeman, Laura H.
Funke, Erich, Mrs.
Box 2
Gieser, Karl F.
Gerber, John C.
Gilbert, Allan H.
Goldman, Richard Franko, Dr.
Gram, Moltke S.
Gross, H.R.
Hall, Reeves
Hall, W. Earl
Hansen, Harry, Mrs.
Hanson, Clem T.
Hardin, Robert C.
Harrison, John M., Mr. & Mrs.
Hayes, Ernest A.
Hearst, Wm. Randolph, Gift
Hockridge, Robert G.
Hoover, Alan
Hoover Library
Hughes, Harold E.
Jacobson, Fred, Mr. & Mrs.
Johnson, Donald R.
Johnson, Nicholas
Jordan, Phillip D.
Kaser, David
Keefner, Irene
Kent, Frederick W., Photograph Collection
Keys, Thomas E.
Knowles, Harvey
Koss, Richard B.
Kruidenier, David
Kuhl, E.P.
Larimer, R.N., M.D.
Leary, Bernice E.
Lisle, Vern, Mrs.
Livingston, W. Ross
Loveless, Herschel C.
Lynch, P.H.
Clyne, Patricia Edwards, Thomas O. Mabbott as Teacher
Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs., Bright Salvage
Fisher, Benjamin Franklin, IV
Pollin, Burton R.
Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. 1978/79
Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. 1975/77
Mabbott, Maureen, Mrs. 1971/74
Box 3
Mabbott, Thomas O., 1963/70
Correspondence. with Prof. John Reilly regarding Thomas O. Mabbott's article
Poe's correspondence with Carpenter
Mabbott Collection
Macbride, Thomas H.
Martin, John, Dr., Catalog of history of Medicine Collection
Martin, John, M.D.
Martin, John, M.D., Alumni Association
Mac Donald, Kenneth
Mayne, Wiley
Meek, Hazel
Miller, Jack R.
Mezvinsky, Edward, Hon. 1975/76, 1976/ 77
Milstein, Stanley, M.D.
Moredock, A.E.
Murphy, Donald R.
Natcher, William H.
Noun, Louise R., Mrs.
Olson, Robert A.
Olmsted, George
Orton Material
Overholt, James R.
Paff, William J.
Pearson, Paul E.
Perrin, Joyce
Piper, Janet, Mrs.
Ray, Robert, Gov.
Reynolds, Conger
Box 4
Richards, Paul C.
Smith, G. Fred & Marcia Isabel
Smith, Mary Louise
Smith, Thomas R., Mrs.
Stokes, Diana
Swink, L. Jack
Teichert, Curt
Thompson, H.L., Dr.
Van Ek, Jacob
Wallace, H.A., Gift to ISU
Wallace, Henry A., Papers
Moore, Earl E., Wallace Letters
Starr, Louis, H.A.W.
H.A. Wallace Index
Henry A. Wallace Papers
H.A.W. Papers
Wallace Brochure
H.A. Wallace Papers, Microfilm Edition & Index
Annual Tax Report Figures
Henry A. Wallace, Deed of Gift
Letter written by Hubert H. Humphrey to Henry Wallace
Library of Congress, National Historical Publications Mr. Fred Shelley, Dr. Holmes, Dr. Roy Basler, etc.
Publicity on the Diary of Henry A. Wallace
Wallace Inquiries
Metzdorf Appraisal
Box 5
Wallace, Robert B., Mr.
Bruggmann, Mrs.
Wallace, James W.
Douglas, Leslie, Mrs.
F.D.R. Interment Train
Wallace's Recollections of the funeral of Franklin D. Roosevelt, 1945
Wallace, H.B.
Wallace, Henry A., Mrs.
Wallace, James M.
Wallace, John B.
Wallace Papers
Ward, Donovan F.
Wearin, Otha D.
Wehman, Herbert
Willson, Meredith
Library Gifts, Bentz. 0.25 ft.
Gifts by Dale Bentz
Bean, William B., M.D.
Horner, George L.
W. Schwarz, Leo W., library and papers [moved to Special Collections Administrative Files]
Library Grant Applications. 1.25 ft.
Frank S. Hanlin Book Fund. 0.25 ft.
DEPARTMENTS AND SERVICES SERIES
Acquisitions Dept. records (Wachel). 4.5 ft.
Automation Dept.: OASIS manuals, 1988-92. 0.5 ft.
Library Acquisitions: An Update. 0.25 ft.
Cataloging Dept. records: 1949-1962. 0.5 ft.
Cataloging Dept. records (Monson). 1.5 ft.
Government Documents (Iowa Documents). 0.5 ft.
Information Arcade. 0.5 ft.
Information Arcade Bulletin. 0.25 ft.
Maps Dept. Maps at Iowa. 0.25 ft.
Goldman Band Library (administered by Welch at School of Music). 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Leigh Hunt Bicentennial 1984. 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Sheets, George M. Iowa Historical Documents, 1956-1959. 0.25 ft.
Special Collections Dept. Includes Iowa Authors Annual Reports. 0.25 ft.
Box 1: Special Collections Dept. accession records (spiral bound notebooks stuffed with chronologically-organized acquisition notes primarily regarding books and manuscripts purchased individually; books cover 1966-1972; 1972-1977; 1977-1985; 1985-March 2001); Statistical Chart of Accessions 1960-1969; 1970-1979; 1980-1989; Report 1959 "Catalog of Iowa Historical Documents Collections"; Manuals: "What We Collect" (April 1969 plus undated later edition); "Processing Manuscripts" (April 1969); "The Use of Manuscripts" (April 1969). Other boxes hold accounts of field trips and other acquisition activity (acc. 2003-88). 1.5 ft.
Exhibit Records: Special Collections, North Lobby Exhibits 4.5 ft
Box 1
Correspondence, 1959
Correspondence, 1960
Correspondence, 1961
Correspondence, 1962
Correspondence, 1963
Correspondence, 1964-1968
Correspondence, 1970
General Information
Library Exhibit Schedule 1955-2009
Proposed Exhibits
Exhibits Prior to 1959
[N.D.] Bibles
[N.D.] Black Press in America
[N.D.] Book Display Labels for In-department showing for Council of Friends
[N.D.] Bryan- Chautauqua
[N.D.] Children's Books by Lynn Hall
[N.D.] Christmas Cards
[N.D.] Compromise of 1850
[N.D.] Ding Darling
[N.D.] Early Manuscripts and Incunabula
[N.D.] Elderhostel Exhibit
[N.D.] First Works by American Authors
[N.D.] French Revolution
[N.D.] Glaspell, Susan
[N.D.] Greek Literature in Early Editions
[N.D.] Hoover Centennial Exhibit 1 of 2
[N.D.] Hoover Centennial Exhibit 2 of 2
[N.D.] Iowa and Wisconsin
[N.D.] Iowa Authors Autobiographies
[N.D.] Jonson, Ben
[N.D.] Leary Collection Exhibit
[N.D.] Les Miserables
[N.D.] Motion Picture Scripts
[N.D.] Needlework Exhibit
[N.D.] Private Press
[N.D.] Sabin, Joseph
[N.D.] Science Fiction
[N.D.] Short Fiction Awards
[N.D.] Smithsonian Institution
[N.D.] Some Books on the American West by Iowa Authors
[N.D.] Thoreau, Henry David
[N.D.] Torch Press Christmas Books
[N.D.] Travel Books by Iowa Authors
[N.D.] Wallace, Henry
[N.D.] Washington, George
[N.D.] William Morris and the Keimscott Press
[N.D.] Windhover Press
[N.D.] World's Columbian Exposition
1956 November 3-30: Philip Sang Collection of Historical Letters and Documents
1959: "Leigh Hunt, 1748-1859; One Hundred Years Later"
1961-1962: "Gifts to Special Collections, 1961-1962"
1962: Map Exhibit
1962 May 15-30: "Fifty Books of the Year," American Institute of Graphic Arts Exhibit
1962 July 1-31: "Colonial America and the Early Republic in Books by Iowa Authors"
1962 August: Gifts of Historical Materials Exhibit
1962 November 2-30: University Library Special Collection: "Maps of the Moon"
1963 March 11-30: "Lope de Vega Quadricentennial"
1963 April 1-14: 1st edition volume of Keats' poems, Leigh Hunt Collection
1963 April 14-May 4: National Library Week Accredited Library Schools Exhibit
1963 May 26-June 30: Home Economics Department Golden Anniversary sponsors: Smithsonian Institute American Textiles Exhibit
1963 July: Civil War Centennial
1963 August 1-30: 8th Annual Book Jacket Competition, "Best Jackets of 1962"
1963 September 1-30: "Iowa Authors Write About Iowa"
1964 March 2-30: "Antique Automobiles Prints"
1964 May 4-15: "Baron Corvo: Manuscripts and First Editions"
1964 July: "The Plains Indians"
1964 September 7- October 4: "Books from the Dime Novel Collection of Buckskin Bill"
1965 April 1-30: The Assassination of Abraham Lincoln
1965 May 1-15: "Dante: 700th Anniversary"
1965 August 16- September 30: "Books on Western Outlaws"
1966 January 1-31: "Boys' Books of the 1890's"
1966 February 1-28: Photographs of Carl Van Vechten
1966 April 1-30: "Ronald Firbanks: Manuscripts and First Editions"
1966 June 1-30: "The Chautauqua Circuit in Iowa"
1966 November 22-December 14: Scholarly Books from South America
1966 December 15-1967 January 6: The Christmas Story in Famous Bibles
1967 January 6-February 5: Materials in Esperanto
1967 March 1-30: Hobby Publications from the U.S. Government Printing Office
1968 September 9-28: Malraux (French Embassy)
1968 October: Hydraulics Exhibit
1969 January: The Latin American Novel: 1959-1969
1969: Motion Pictures from Books By Iowa Authors
1969 February: Space-Flight Paintings by Chesley Bonestell
1969 June 23-July 20: Fifty Biographies by Fifty Authors
1970 March 2-27: Unusual 19th and 20th Century Stamps
1970 March 30-April 10: First Editions of Beethoven
1970 April 13-30: Selected Books and Manuscripts Collected by Thomas O. Mabbott
1970 July: Midwestern Books Competition
1970 September: Children's Books, Original Illustrations of-
1970 December 25: Nineteenth-Century Children's Books
1971 January: William Henry Ireland Forgeries
1971 September: Association of University Presses
1971 November: Rare Slavic Materials
1971 December: Christmas Books from the Collection of Lawerence O. Cheever
1972: Black Facsimiles
1972: Dead Sea Scrolls
1972: Mark Twain Exhibit
1972: Midwest Research Institute
1972: Science Fiction Exhibit
1972: University Theatre
1972: Western Book Exhibit
Box 2
1972 February: Early American Readers
1972 February: Iowa Authors
1972 September: Gift Exhibit
1973: Midwestern Books Competition
1973: Private Printing in Iowa City
1973 January: Limited Editions Club Books, Gifts of Dr. John Martin
1973 February: Lincoln, Abraham: Books on Lincoln in Other Languages
1973 May: First Ladies' Letters
1973 October: Iowa Authors
1974 March: Frost, Robert Exhibit
1974 December-1975 January: Springer Collection of Typography
1975 February- March: Books by Iowa Authors
1975 April-May: Manuscripts
1975 September: Adelaide Anne Procter
1975 December: Jane Austen and Her World
1976: Chicago Book Clinic
1976: Gibson Girl
1976: Iowa Authors
1976 January 23-March 15: Iowa Authors
1976 July-December: Washington and Adams- Presidential Exhibition
1977: Bird and Bull Press
1977: Chicago Book Clinic
1977: Film Scripts
1977: Iowa Authors
1977 October: Kantor, MacKinlay Exhibit
1977 December: Books of Hours
1978: Homecoming Exhibit
1978 February: Carl Sandburg
1978 February 10-March 26: Books and Folios from the 19th and 20th Centuries
1978 April: Chicago Book Clinic
1978 April: Frost, Robert Exhibit
1978 April 10-May 26: Edgar Allen Poe
1978 May-June: Emerson Hough
1978 May-June: Penumbra Press
1978 July: Kate Greenaway Exhibit
1978 September: Upton Sinclair
1979 January-March: Union Pacific Railroad
1979 March-April: Stegner, Wallace
1979 May: Chicago Book Clinic
1979 May-June: Facsimiles of Modern Literary Manuscripts
1979 September: Bewick, Thomas
1979 September-October: Ibn Batuta
1979 October: Leaf Books Exhibit
1979 November-December: Early English Dictionaries
1979 December-1980 January: Books By Charles Dickens
1979 December-1980 February: Limited Editions Club
1980-1981: Carl Sandburg
1980-1981: Masters, Edgar Lee Portrait Exhibit
1980 February-March: Spirit Lake Massacre
1980 March: The Chicago Book Clinic, 30th Annual Exhibit, 1979
1980 March-April: Martha Washington and Dolly Madison
1980 April: Fine Paintings from the Iowa City Area
1980 May: Justice, Donald
1980 June: Books First Published One Hundred Years Ago
1980 August: Broadsides
1980 September-October: Stefansson, Vilhjalmur
1980 October: Circle of Knowledge
1980 October-November: Catlin, George
1981: Science Fiction by Three Iowa Authors
1981 February: Aldrich, Bess Streeter: A Centennial Exhibition
1981 March-April: Sumac Press Exhibit
1981 March-June: Iowa Basketball
1981 April-June: Old New York: 1625-1875
1981 May-June: Autographs from the Collection of Forman and Peggy Lebold
1981 Summer: SPAS Exhibit
1981 August: Bollinger-Lincoln Exhibit
1982 February: Franklin DeLano Roosevelt
1982 March-June: Frederick Manfred
1982 March-August: Breckinridge and Clay Exhibit
1982 April: Abattoir Exhibit
1982 July: Black Hawk War
1982 August: Eyerly, Jeannette: Iowa Author Exhibit
1982 October-1983 February: Early Humanists
1982 November: Goethe (1749-1832)
1982 November-December: Trollope, Anthony
1983 January-February: Postcards
1983 March-April: The Sterns Family
1983 March-June: Hartzell Spence- Iowa Author Exhibit
1983 April: Washington Irving
1983 April-June: Treaty of Paris
1983 May: Aesop's Fables
1983 Summer: Sample of Books by Presidents
1983 July: Manifest Destiny
1983 July: Mormon Trek Through Iowa
1983 August-September: Chicago Book Clinic
1983 November: Ficke, Arthur Davidson: A Centennial Exhibition
1983 December-1984 February: Union Pacific Railway
1984 March: Truman, Harry
1984 April: Leigh Hunt Exhibit
1984 April-May: Brewer, Luther
1984 May-1985 January: Iowa Room: University of Iowa Library
1984 July-August: The Pentacrest
1984 August-October: Looking Back, 1884
1984 December-1985 January: Mother Goose
1985: Jim Julich
1985 January-April: The Inland Printer-Typography Journey: 1883-1900
1985 March: Lewis, Sinclair
1985 April: Prairie Press Exhibit
1985 June: Iowa In Fact and Fiction: 30 Points of View
1985 July: Chicago Book Clinic
1985 September: Early Theatre at the University of Iowa
1985 November: The Westward Movement
1986 January: Frank Miller
1986 March-April: The Lincoln Image
1986 May-June: Engle, Paul: Books of a Poet
1986 August: Chicago Book Clinic
1986 September: Dave Hudson Davenport Exhibit
1986 October-December: Recent Acquisitions
1987 March: Clark, Dick
1987 March 27: Luther College Exhibit
1987 April: Largely Lincoln
1987 July: Paper Books Covers from the 17th Century through the Present
1987 October 15-November 21: National Geography Awareness Week
1987 November 28-1988 January 13: Dada
1988: Where Wonder Waits
1988 January-February: Rubaiyats of Omar Khayyam Exhibit
1988 January 18-February 29: Modern Japanese Dance and Drama: Mirror of the Past
1988 March-April: Modern Latin American Writers
1988 March-May: Iowa Women: Some Notable
1988 June-July: Sweet Memories: Classes '38 and '48
1988 June-August: Stong, Phil: State Fair's Creator
1988 September 12 - October 16: Browsing Through Iowa City
1988 September-October: The Making of A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa
1988 October-November: Explore the World of Dance
1988 December; Saving Our Books and Words
Box 3
1989 January-February: Chicago Book Clinic
1989 February-March: Chronicle of Achievement: An Exhibition in Honor of the World's Women
1989 March-May: Tamazunchale Press: An Exhibition of Miniature Books
1989 April-May: The Arts of Barry Moser (2 folders)
1989 June 21-August 11: The Golden Age of American Railroading
1989 July-August: Life at Iowa in World War II Era
1989 August-October: 100 Years of Iowa Football: 1889-1989
1989 September 11-October 13: Fortieth Annual Chicago Book Clinic Show
1989 November 1989-January 1990: The Work and Play of Adrian Wilson
1989 December 13-1990 February 2: Marguerite De Angeli: A Centennial Exhibition
1900 January-February: Black History Exhibit
1990 February-April: Presidential Letter: The First 50 Years
1990 March 1-April 3: Chicago Book Clinic, 41st Annual
1990 April 30-June 1: A. Craig Baird: An Exhibition Honoring the Father of International Debate
1990 August-October 15: Best Sellers of the 1890s
1990 October 16-November 19: Some Recent Books by Iowa Authors
1990 November: Edgar Allan Poe: The Haunted Imagination
1991 March 11: Limited Editions Club Exhibit
1991 April 5- 30: Shakespeare, Edition of, Over the Years
1991 June- August 30: Publish and Perish: Printed Ephemera and Social History Exhibition
1991 September 2 -November 4: A Hero Perished: Nile Kinnick
1991 October: Women of Courage
1991 November 4-December 6: Chicago Book Clinic
1991 December 6-1992 February 4: Range Cattle Industry Exhibition
1992 February: Iowa Women's Archives: Preview Exhibition
1992 April-May 2: Walt Whitman: Centennial Conference
1992 May 5 -July 14: Iowans Writing About New Mexico
1992 December: Ruth Suckow- An Exhibition on the Centennial of Her Birth
1992 December 23-March 4: Chicago Book Clinic
1993 March - May: The Reel Thing: Behind the Magic of Movies
1993 May: (Nancy Drew) The Many Books of Mildred Augustine Wirt Benson
1993 June-August: Oregon Trail: An Exhibition
1994: Coffee House Press Ten Years
1994: Traveling in Iowa
1994 Spring: Chicago Book Clinic
1994 Spring: Morrell, David, Writings of
1994 December: Christmas Books: An Exhibition
1995: All Aboard
1995: Aldus Mantius and Aldine Press Exhibit
1995: John Keats
1995: Merle Armitage
1995 February: Chicago Book Clinic
1996 Charlotte Smith Miniatures
1996 April-June: Murdoch, Iris
1997 July-September: Jell-O Celebrating 100 Years
1997 October-1998 February: The Blackhawk War
1998 May 12-July 20: Spanish American War
1998 July 20-October: Henry Wallace, the Progressive Party, and the Election of 1948
1998 October-1999 January 13: Fine Press Books from the Fin de Siecle: American and the British
1999 January 25-March 19: Prelude to Greatness: Celebrating Abraham Lincoln's 190th Birthday
1999 May 17-September: Some Recent Books by Iowa Authors
1999 October-December: The Arts of Barry Moser
2000 January-April 16: Fiery Trail: Lincoln As President
2000 April 24-June 21: 100 Years Ago: Life in America in 1900
2000 June 22- August 18; Ruth Suckow: "Iowa Interiors: The Writings of Ruth Suckow"
2000 August 19-December 1: Fur Trade in the Trans-Mississippi West: An Exhibition of Historic Books
2001 February 7-May 11: Personal Histories: An Exhibition of Diaries, Journals, and other Biographical Efforts
2001 May 12-June 29: Taking a Roman Holiday? An Exhibition of Some Antiquarian Books on the Eternal City
2001 September-October: Charles Leland Sonnichsen “Grass roots Historian: An Exhibition”
2001 November 1-2002 January 2: Aesthetics in 18th Century Europe
2002 January-March: “Old Cap: Remembrance and Renewal”
2002 September-2003 February: School of Religion 75th Anniversary
2003 February-April 1: Chautauqua: Culture for Everyone
2003 April 14-September: The Lewis and Clark Expedition: a Bicentennial Exhibition, 1803-1806
2004 March-May: Materiality of Text”
2004 June-September: Kan tor Art 100: An Exhibition Celebrating the Writings of Iowan Mac Kinley Kantor, 1904-1977
2006 July-August: 130 Years Ago: The Battle of Little Big Horn
2007 January-April: “As Long as Conditions Permit: Science Fiction Fanciness During World War II”
2007 June 23 - October 7: From Monks to Masters
BRANCHES SERIES
Education-Psychology Library. 0.25 ft.
Engineering Library Bulletin. 0.25 ft.
Hardin Library for the Health Science on-line newsletter "News@Hardin". 0.25 ft.
Hardin Library "News Notes" and staff reports, John Martin Rare Book Room support group material (1995-2002). 0.25 ft.
Health Science Library. 0.25 ft.
Rita Benton Music Library Commencement Oration. 0.25 ft.
Music librarian Jody Falconer- office files rcvd 6/18/00 and 8/00. 1.5 ft.
Rita Benton Music Library. 0.25 ft.
Mathematical Sciences Library. 1.0 ft.
TRAINING SERIES
Summer library school, 1902-1920s. 2.5 ft.
HISTORICAL SERIES
(NOTE: All of the following are in oversize boxes) 10.0 ft.
OS box 1: Book lists for classes, #1-999. 3 vol. n.d., likely pre-1900.
OS box 2: Correspondence, 1895-98. Medical and Homeopathic Library catalogs.
OS box 3: Accessions serials, 1-10,000. 2 vol. [?] to 1879.
OS box 4: Accessions, 20,001-30,000. 1893-97.
OS box 5: Catalog of classified titles. 1873-74. List of books in departmental libraries, 1 vol., 1896. Talbot Library catalog, 1894 (D.H. Talbot, Sioux City, Iowa).
OS box 6: Dewey Decimal Classification and Relativ Index, 1899. Talbot Library temporary charging list, 1895. C.A. Cutter's Alfabetic-Order Table. Picture Magazine article about library expansion, 12 Nov. 1972 (Des Moines Register). Correspondence and planning points for consideration of new library, 1915-1924. List of Subject Headings, pre-1900. List of Documents presented to S.U.I. by the Smithsonian Institution, 1873-74. Unbound periodical loans, 1870-80. Catalog of Books, 1869. Binding Lists, 1884-87. Guest register, 1953-60.
OS box 7: Accessions 30,001-40,000, 1896-98. Annual reports, 1893-98.
OS box 8: Accessions 40,001-50,000, 1898-99.
OS box 9: Accessions 1-15,438, 1873-89 (3 vol.).
OS box 10: Serials 10,001-20,000, 1879-93.
