Finding Aid
|
College of Dentistry Photographs Collection Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: The College of Dentistry Photographs Collection was transferred from the College of Dentistry to the University Archives in February 2007. They were originally mounted on poster board but were removed for preservation and digitization purposes. Guide posted to the Internet in May 2009. Photographs: Entire collection |
|
Scope and Contents
The College of Dentistry Photographs Collection consists of individual portrait images of the College's graduates, arranged by year of graduation and, within each year, alphabetically by name of individual. Graduating class years represented in this collection are from 1883 to 1967. The photographs were originally mounted on large cardboard backing as composite images, with each composite grouping representing the members of a given graduating class. With the exception of the years 1893, 1894 and 1899, the photographs were separated from the cardboard backing by University Libraries conservation staff and placed in individual sleeves after undergoing digitization. Because of their unique artistic characteristics, the three composite boards for the above-noted years have been preserved intact and are housed at the University Archives.
The online version of this collection is at http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/dentistry.
Related Materials
"Historical Sketch of Dentistry at Iowa." Iowa Alumnus 13, no. 8 (May 1916): 5-7, illus.
University of Iowa. College of Dentistry. A Proud Heritage, 1882-1982, the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. Iowa City, 1982. 44 pp., illus., bibliog.
Weidenbach, Amelia Rose. "History of the University of Iowa: The College of Dentistry." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1944.
Box Contents List
Box 1
1883-1889
Box 2
1890-1892
Box 3
1892 (continued)-1896
Box 4
1898
Box 5
1900, 1901
Box 6
1902
Box 7
1903
Box 8
1904-1906
Box 9
1907
Box 10
1908
Box 11
1909, 1910
Box 12
1911
Box 13
1912, 1913
Box 14
1914
Box 15
1915
Box 16
1916
Box 17
1917
Box 18
1920, 1922, 1926, 1927
Box 19
1928, 1929
Box 20
1930, 1931
Box 21
1932, 1933
Box 22
1934, 1935
Box 23
1936, 1937
Box 24
1938, 1939
Box 25
1940, 1941
Box 26
1942, 1945
Box 27
1946, 1948
Box 28
1949, 1950
Box 29
1951, 1952
Box 30
1953, 1954
Box 31
1955, 1956
Box 32
1957, 1958
Box 33
1959, 1960
Box 34
1961, 1962
Box 35
1963
Box 36
1964, 1965
Box 37
1966
Box 38
1967
