Finding Aid
|
Athletics Video Collection Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research. Reproduction of some of the titles listed below may be prohibited on the basis of copyright ownership. Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department. Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials. Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement. Acquisition and Processing Information: Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. Photographs: Video only |
|
Scope and Contents
Collection of VHS-format videotapes, DVDs and other formatted video recordings of football, basketball and other intercollegiate sports. Contact Special Collections staff about obtaining copies.
Box Contents List
Box 1
Basketball series:
1947-1948: 1947-1948 Iowa Basketball Season Highlights, released Spring 1948. Silent, b/w. 32 min. (Image reversed in portions) VHS
1954-1955: 1954-1955 Iowa Basketball Season Recap and Practice, released Spring 1955. Narrated by Coach Bucky O'Connor. Sound, b/w. 21 min. VHS
1955-1956: 1955-1956 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Nebraska, December 3, 1955; Iowa vs. Minnesota, January 14, 1956. Silent, b/w. Total time 63 min. VHS
1955-1956: 1955-1956 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Purdue. Silent, b/w. 33 min. VHS
1956, 1977: NCAA championship basketball game, Iowa vs. San Francisco Dons, March 23, 1956. Silent, b/w. (Dons' center was Bill Russell). Drake vs. Iowa, December 30, 1977. Silent, color. Total time 61 min. (Drake game film breaks up half-way through) VHS
1960-1961: Iowa Basketball Tribute, "The Hustlin' Hawks of 1960-61", released Spring 1961. Sound, b/w. 23 min. VHS, DVD
1961-1962: Iowa Basketball Tribute to Don Nelson, released Spring 1962. 1961-1962 season. Sound, b/w. 20 min. VHS, DVD
1962-1963: 1962-1963 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Arizona. Silent, b/w. 33 min. VHS
1967-1968: 1967-1968 Iowa Basketball Recruiting Film. Sound, b/w. 24 min. VHS
1966-1967: 1966-1967 Iowa Basketball Tribute "Basketball Ralph Miller Style", released Spring 1967. Includes campus, classroom scenes at beginning (Old Capitol, College of Pharmacy, Iowa Memorial Union). Silent, b/w. 21 min. VHS, DVD1969-1970: 1969-1970 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Drake; Iowa vs. Purdue; Iowa vs. Indiana (first halves only). Silent, b/w. Total time 92 min. VHS, DVD
1969-1970: 1969-1970 Iowa Basketball season: Iowa vs. Minnesota; Iowa vs. Wisconsin; Iowa vs. Michigan State; Iowa vs. Northwestern (first halves only). Silent, b/w. Total time 90 min. VHS, DVD
1969-1970: 1969-1970 Iowa Basketball Season Highlights, released Spring 1970. Silent, color. 18 min. VHS, DVD
Box 2
1974-1975: 1974-1975 Iowa Basketball Highlights, released March 11, 1975. Includes Iowa City and campus scenes. Silent, color. 35 min. VHS
1979-1980: 1979-1980 Iowa Basketball Highlights, including NCAA Final Four, Fieldhouse celebration, and Ronnie Lester. Sound, color. 9 min. VHS
Football series:
1921-1949: "Fame of the Black and Gold" (released 1949). Sound, b/w. 11 min. Historical football game footage, including: 1921 (vs. Indiana; Duke Slater), 1948 (vs. Wisconsin, Minnesota), 1923, 1933 (vs. Northwestern), 1934 (vs. Northwestern; Ozzie Simmons), 1935 (vs. Illinois), 1939 (vs. Indiana, Notre Dame; Nile Kinnick), 1940 (vs. Notre Dame), 1942, 1945 (vs. Minnesota), 1946 (vs. Purdue), 1947 (vs. Indiana), 1949 (practice; Coach Eddie Anderson talking with visitors near Field House). VHS, DVD. Also available in Media Services, UI Libraries, as DVD.
1934, 1946: Iowa at Nebraska, October 14, 1934. Silent, b/w. Purdue at Iowa, September 28, 1946. Silent, color. 54 min. VHS
1938: Minnesota at Iowa, November 5, 1938. Silent, b/w. 10 min. DVD
1939: "Iowa's Nile Kinnick" (released 1944). Sound, color. 12 min. Includes footage of victory rally at Old Capitol after 1939 Minnesota game; President Eugene Gilmore, Coach Eddie Anderson. VHS, DVD
1939, 1940: Minnesota at Iowa, November 18, 1939. Iowa at Notre Dame, November 16, 1940. Silent, b/w. 66 min. VHS, DVD1939: Minnesota at Iowa, November 18, 1939 (including views of UI campus). Wisconsin at Iowa, October 28, 1939. Indiana at Iowa, October 7, 1939. DVD
1939: Notre Dame at Iowa, November 11, 1939. South Dakota at Iowa, September 30, 1939. DVD
1940: Purdue at Iowa, November 2, 1940. Silent, b/w. 25 min. DVD
1940: Illinois at Iowa, November 23, 1940. Silent, b/w. 23 min. DVD
1941: Indiana at Iowa, November 1, 1941. Silent, b/w. 26 min. DVD
1942: Wisconsin at Iowa, November 7, 1942. Silent, b/w. 23 min. DVD
1954: Iowa at Michigan, October 9, 1954. Silent, b/w. 41 min. DVD
1954, 1973: Purdue at Iowa, November 6, 1954. Iowa at UCLA, September 22, 1973; footage is out of sequence. Silent, b/w. 67 min. VHS, DVD
1956-1957: Oregon State at Iowa, October 6, 1956. Rose Bowl, vs. Oregon State, January 1, 1957. Silent, color. 78 min. Includes campus scenes, fans in stands, marching band, Scottish Highlanders. VHS, DVD
1962: Ohio State at Iowa, November 3, 1962. DVD1971, 1972: Penn State at Iowa, September 25, 1971. Iowa at Penn State, September 30, 1972. Silent, b/w. 74 min. VHS, DVD
1978: Wisconsin at Iowa, November 18, 1978. DVD
Box 3
1963: Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 9, 1963. 42 min. Betacam SP, DVD
Football bowl series:
"The Miracle of Melrose Avenue," ca. 1982. Peach Bowl. U-matic
Local TV Peach Bowl specials, 1982. KGAN-TV: "Georgia On My Mind." KCRG-TV: "We Accept With Honor." On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
"The 1982 Peach Bowl, Atlanta, Georgia : Iowa Hawkeyes vs Tennessee Volunteers." New York, N.Y. : CBS Television Network, Audio/Visual Services, c1982. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of four tapes
Peach Bowl post-game, [1982]. KCRG-TV. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
1982 Peachbowl Parade. Atlanta, Ga. : Video Duplications, Inc., 1982. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic
Box 4
Football bowl series:
Rose Bowl, January 2, 1982. Produced by NBC. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of four tapes
1982 Tournament of Roses Parade, January 1, 1982. Produced by NBC. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. U-matic; set of three tapes
Basketball series:
NCAA tournament 1987: Iowa vs. UNLV (University of Nevada-Las Vegas). On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
NCAA tournament 1987: Iowa vs. University of Oklahoma. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
NCAA tournament 1980: Final Four. Iowa vs. University of Louisville. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
NCAA tournament 1980: Final Four: Iowa vs. Georgetown. On-site viewing only; not available for purchase. VHS
