General Research Tools (useful for art research)

  • Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa
A-Z Databases
Find articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers with these databases and indexes.
Access World News
Provides full-text articles from the electronic editions for hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
ARTFL Project
The result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project provides its members with access to North America’s largest collection of digitized French resources
America: History & Life
An index covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
EBSCOHOST
A collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, which offers full text for for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals.
IBZ Online
(Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ) The international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
With full text for well over 200 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

To find current and historical newspaper articles, use the News and Newspapers Guide.