Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

University Centennial History Papers
RG 01.01.05
Collection Dates: 1945-1947, covering 1847-1947
4.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Collection originally listed as Harrison John Thornton Papers. Finding aid created February 2008.

Photographs: None

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Scope and Contents

In addition to essays about various subjects of University of Iowa history, the University Centennial History Papers include supporting documents such as correspondence, drafts and notes between the editor and authors.


Historical Note

In anticipation of the State University of Iowa's centennial in 1947, Prof. Harrison John Thornton of the SUI history department assigned students to research, compile and write a series of brief historical sketches pertaining to campus history. Some of these titles were further developed as master's theses by their authors and are listed by subject in the online Bibliography of University of Iowa History.


Related Materials

Folder, "Thornton, Harrison John," in Faculty and Staff Vertical File Collection (RG 01.15.03)

Historical Papers Collection, University Archives (RG 01.01.03)

Centennial Memoirs series (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947)

Gerber, John C. A Pictorial History of the University of Iowa (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1988; 2005).

Persons, Stow. The University of Iowa in the Twentieth Century: An Institutional History (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1990)

Scott, John Beldon and Rodney Lehnertz. The University of Iowa Guide to Campus Architecture (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 2006)



Box Contents List

Box 1

Centennial Memoirs Correspondence

General Correspondence on History of State University of Iowa

Box 2

Notes on University History

Tentative Outline for History

Dissertation Abstracts of SUI History

Boxes 3-6

Notes of University History

Box 7

University of Iowa History Notes