Gwyn Jones Lectures Collection
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: The Gwyn Jones Lectures Collection was transferred to the University Archives prior to 1990. Box contents list compiled by Ryan Knight in 2009.
Scope and Contents
The Gwyn Jones Lectures Collection consists of the scripts of five lectures presented by Mr. Jones during his visit to The University of Iowa. Although not dated, it is believed these lectures were given about 1983, or 15 years after he completed writing A History of the Vikings.
Gwyn Jones (1907-1999) was a Welsh novelist and story writer, and a scholar and translator of Nordic literature and history. He was a native of New Tredegar, Monmouthshire. In addition to A History of the Vikings, he also wrote Kings, Beasts and Heroes in 1972, along with numerous novels and short story collections.
Box Contents List
The Historical Vikings
The Western Voyages of the Vikings
Where Have all the Heroes Gone?
I. Here Be Dragons
II. Heroes and Heroisms
III. Wise Saws and Modern Instances