Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Presidential Lectures Collection
RG 01.11.05
Collection Dates: 1984-
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Box contents list compiled by Ryan Knight in 2009.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Presidential Lectures Collection consists of promotional fliers, programs, and, in some instances, texts of speeches beginning with the series' inception in 1984.

Historical Note

Through funds provided by The University of Iowa Foundation, the Presidential Lecture series provides an opportunity for a distinguished member of the UI faculty to present significant aspects of their scholarly work to the entire University community. The Foundation established the annual series to encourage intellectual communication among the many disciplines that constitute The University of Iowa. The first of this series was delivered by Professor Sherman Paul on February 19, 1984, at Clapp Recital Hall.

Box Contents List

1st Annual: Sherman Paul Program (1984)

----. Sherman Paul, "The Onward Way" (1984)

2nd Annual: Antonio R. Damasio Program (1985)

----. Antonio R. Damasio, "What's in a Brain that may Ink Character?" (1985)

3rd Annual: June Helm Program (1986)

----. June Helm, ""Horde, Band and Tribe; Northern Approaches" (1986)

4th Annual: Linda K. Kerber Program (1987)

----. Linda K. Kerber, "History Will Do It No Justice" (1987)

5th Annual: Beaumont Glass Program (1988)

----. Beaumont Glass, "Genius on the Opera Stage" (1988)

6th Annual: George Wolfgang Forell Program (1989)

----. George Wolfgang Forell, "The Sacred and Secular" (1989)

7th Annual: John E. Donelson, "Molecular Biology of Parasites" (1990)

8th Annual: Jorie Graham, "A Poetry Reading" (1991)

9th Annual: James A. Van Allen, "The Modern Saga of Planetary Exploration" (1992)

10th Annual: Nancy C. Andreasen Program (1993)

----.: Nancy C. Andreasen, "O Brave New World" (1993)

12th Annual: Herbert Hovenkamp Program (1995)

----. Herbert Hovenkamp, "The Mid and Heart of Progressive Legal Thought" (1995)

13th Annual: Jerald L. Scnoor, "Eco-logic; An Environmental Perspective" (1996)

14th Annual: Dudley Andrew Program (1997)

----. Dudley Andrew, "Fade In/Fade Out; Aspirations of National Cinema (1997)

15th Annual: Ed Folsom Program (1998)

16th Annual: Louis A. Frank, "Small Comets and our Origins" (1999)

17th Annual: Jeffery C. Murray, "Genes and Environment, Science and Society" (2000)

22nd Annual: Kenneth Cmiel Program (2005)

----. Kenneth Cmiel Color Advertisement (2005)