Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center
RG 02.03.07
Collection Dates: 1971-2008
17.0 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The bulk of the Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center were transferred to the University Archives in 2001. Preliminary guide posted to the Internet January 2008.

Photographs: Boxes 3, 4, 8









Scope and Contents

The Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center, University of Iowa, consist of seven series: Administrative, Conferences, Newsletters, Audiovisual Materials, Photographs and Negatives, Artifacts, and Scrapbooks. The collection is partially processed.

Historical Note

The Latino-Native American Cultural Center was founded in 1971 as the Chicano Indian American Student Union (CIASU).

Related Materials

Records of the Office of Special Support Services (RG 24.10)

Box Contents List

Box 1      

Administrative Records Series



Barceló, Rusty

Ferguson, John:  “Volunteer Experience Project Report: Chicano-Native American Cultural Center”

García, Teresa: conversations with Miguel Ojeda, Sylvia Ramirez, Darlene Wind, Antonio Zavala, 1978?

Salter, John

Taylor, Jan:  “The Influence of Student Activism on UI’s Support for Native American Students, 1968-1993” (1999)

Administrative files



Grievances concerning LNACC

Job descriptions

Parliamentary procedure

Publicity procedures

Regents Interinstitutional Committee on Minority Recruitment, 1986

Anniversary celebrations

10th, 1981

25th, 1996

30th, 2001

Chicano Heritage Coloring Book (mimeograph sheets)



1986-87 Incoming

1986-87 Outgoing

Events and activities

Fall orientation programs, 1979-81, 1986 [includes slide show script]

Flyers and Brochures

Grant proposals, 1973-80

Newspaper clippings (2 folders)

Performance group:  program and song lyrics

Proposed moving of cultural centers

Documents [includes survey of students]

Newspaper clippings, 1998-2001

Related organizations

Alianza Hispana Politica de Iowa

American Indian-Chicano Center, Iowa State Penitentiary, Fort Madison

CASA (Chicano, Alumni, Students and Amigos), 1979-81

Council on the Status of Latinos and Native Americans

Los Curanderos

Upward Bound Program

Conferences Series

1972:  Chicanos in the Midwest—A Chicano Perspective

1973:  Chicano ’73 in Iowa

1974:  Chicano Conference—Nuestra Realidad

1975:  Chicano Conference—Reflecciones de la Raza

1975:  CHALE—Midwest Regional Conference

1977:  Symposium on the American Indian

1978:  Native American Chicano Week

1979:  The Hispanics—A Missing Link in Public Policy (Des Moines)

1985:  The Decade of the Hispanic—Fact or Fiction?

1986:  CHALE—La Raza Legal Alliance Midwest Regional Conference: “Law—A Hispanic Perspective”

1987:  The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986—How It Will Affect You

Miscellaneous, undated (2 folders) 

Newsletters Series

Café Chicano

El Labarinto



Box 2


Carousels (5)

Boxes (8)


Folder of identification sheets for slides

Box 3

Photograph Albums (4 vols.)

Box 4

Photographs and Negatives

Box 5


Newspaper clippings (4 vols.)

30th Anniversary [includes slides of event and of artwork] (1 vol.)

Box 6


Audiotapes (reel to reel)

7-inch reels (30)

4-inch reel (1)


(3 boxes)


Super 8 (6)

Other (1 in mailing box)

LNACC 30th anniversary

VHS videocassette: Breakfast Banquet

Mini DV videocassette: afternoon session workshop (July 7, 2001)

Mini DV videocassette: keynote speakers (July 7, 2001)

Audiocassette: Adele Lozano with Julie Englander on WSUI

Box 7





Box 8


Box 9  

30th Anniversary Exhibit, 2001 (at Special Collections Department)

Box 10-12

Administrative files; unprocessed

Box 13

Exhibit materials, 2008 (University Libraries)