Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Emil Rinderspacher
RG 02.09.30
Collection Dates: 1967-1977
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Papers of Emil Rinderspacher were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Rinderspacher as Accession 2011-32.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Papers of Emil Rinderspacher chronicle his political activism as an opponent of U.S. policy in Vietnam during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Included are notes, meeting schedules with lawmakers, and other documents pertaining to a June 1970 effort to lobby members of Congress ("Citizens' Lobby to End the War"); newspaper clippings about protests on the University of Iowa campus in late 1967; and posters and other ephemera pertaining to the Vietnam Moratorium in 1969. The two objects in Box 2 are molded plastic human heads created by students in the UI School of Art and Art History in spring 1970, among hundreds of similar objects displayed on the Pentacrest lawn as part of a protest event. Each "head" was accompanied by a small banner reading "End the War."

Related Materials

Records of the Center for Draft Information and Counseling (RG 02.02.02)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Center for Draft Information and Counseling flier mock-up, 1970

Citizens' Lobby to End the War, Washington, D.C., June 1970

Fliers promoting Living Theatre, "In the Year of the Pig" film, correspondence regarding Sigma Pi fraternity, 1970

Newspaper clippings, 1967

----. 1969

----. 1970

----. Daily Iowan report on draft resisters and amnesty, January 1977

"Special Report: The Military-Industrial Complex in Iowa," [1969?]

Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) newspapers, 1972

Vietnam Moratorium in Iowa City, November 1969 and April 1970

Box 2

Two human head-shaped plastic forms, with banner, "End the War"