Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU)
RG 02.03.18
Collection Dates: 1974-1994
8.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These records were transferred to the University Archives in October 1996. Processed by Fran Murphy and Earl Rogers in October 1997. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; revised December 2006.

Photographs:

Gay People's Union brochure, 1981
Gay People's Union brochure
1981


Scope and Contents

Noncurrent records of the GLBTAU and a collection of gay-lesbian-bisexual-transgender magazines and newsletters, nearly all published in the United States, were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives, October 22, 1996. The records consist of six cartons of correspondence and subject folders, including newsletter issues, photographs, and publications.

The records concern homosexuality, bisexuality, gender identity issues, related health and political issues, and social activities, especially pertaining to University of Iowa students. Other GLBT student organizations in Iowa and other Midwestern states are represented, along with the University of Iowa Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association.


Organizational History

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU), a student organization at the University of Iowa, was founded in 1970 as the Gay Liberation Front, said to be the first homosexual student organization officially recognized at a university in the United States. Its name was changed in 1978 or 1979 to Gay People’s Union, in ca. 1993 to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual People’s Union, and later still to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Union.


Related Materials

Related organizations, such as the GLBT law students' association Outlaws, are represented in the Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG 01.15.04), University Archives

North American Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Studies Conference (6th: 1994: University), Inqueery, intheory, indeed: [conference program of] the sixth North American Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Studies Conference. Iowa City: The University of Iowa, 1994.



Box Contents List

Box 1

AIDS

Bibliography

Bi-sexuality

Budget information

Clippings from Daily Iowan newspaper

Constitution of Gay People’s Union (draft)

Correspondence, etc.

Gay couples or partners

Gay People’s Union, flyers and brochures

Gay legal defense and political lobbies, equal rights

Gay/lesbian non-student groups information and newsletters

Gay youth articles

General information, homosexuality

Health

Healthy baby campaign

Lectures/speakers/performers and other resources

Midwest Gay Pride Conference

National Gay Alliance for Young Adults

National Reaching Out Day, October 10, 1993

Newspaper clippings and press releases

Outreach support group posters etc., Gay People’s Union

Posters and local social events

Rainbow graduation

Report of the gay/lesbian/bisexual student, staff, and faculty survey of 1991

Prepared packet of bulletins, business records, educational materials, etc., ca. 1985 -- 1986

Student groups, other than University of Iowa

University of Iowa Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association

“In Queery/In Theory/ In Deed”, the 6th North American Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Studies Conference, 1994

 

Box 2-6

Publications:

Outlook Iowa City, 2007-

Other publications