Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Student-produced Publications and Newsletters Collection
RG 02.05
Collection Dates: 1900- ; bulk, 1940-
13.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials have been transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries at various times and continue to accrue. Guide posted to the Internet June 2006.

Photographs:

Frivol cover, 1920
Frivol cover
1920


Scope and Contents

The Student-produced Publications and Newsletters Collection consists of over 50 titles, reflecting a wide variety of campus interests: political activities, social organizations, residence halls, and humor. The earliest known titles date to the early twentieth century; most were produced between 1940 and 2000.


Related Materials

Yearbooks and newspapers comprise separate collections as, respectively, RG 02.10 and RG 02.11.

University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)

Publications and newsletters pertaining to departments and colleges may be found in those collections. For example, English Department publications comprise RG 06.12.04.



Box Contents List

Content Magazine

The Black Sheep; 0.25 ft.

The Crest of Hillcrest; 0.25 ft.

Currier Hall Dormstory; 0.25 ft.

December; 0.25 ft.

Earthwords, in University Serials and Journals Collection; 0.75 ft.

Fisz; 0.25 ft.

Free Environment; 0.25 ft.

Free Voices; 0.25 ft.

Frivol; 2.0 ft.

Gay Hawkeye (title varies); 0.25 ft.

Greek Hawkeye; 0.25 ft.

Harbinger; 0.25 ft.

Hallways; 0.25 ft.

Haw-Haw-Hawkeyes; 0.25 ft.

Hawk Wings / Iowa Literary Magazine (title change); 1.0 ft.

Hawkeye Review; 0.25 ft. See also: Campus Review, in University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)

Human Condition; 0.25 ft.

Iowa City Catalyst; 0.25 ft.

Iowa Greek Express; 0.25 ft.

Iowa Liberal; 0.25 ft.

Iowa Rag; 0.25 ft.

Iowa State Liquor Store; 0.25 ft.

It's About Time; 0.25 ft.

Kinnikinnick; 0.25 ft.

Light-Eater Residence Halls Newsletter; 1.0 ft.

Little Village; 0.25 ft.

Magazine X (1952-1954); 0.25 ft.

Mercury (1991); 0.25 ft.

Muslim Voice; 0.25 ft.

Nahuatzen; 0.25 ft.

Observer; 0.25 ft.

Off Deadline (2008- )

Oracle; 0.25 ft.

Pamoja (alternate titles: Challenger, New Challenger)

People's Alliance; 0.25 ft.

Phi Gamma Delta magazine; 0.25 ft.

Quadrangle publications; 0.25 ft.

Short-lived Student Newspapers and 'Zines', varied titles; 0.25 ft.

STUDent; 0.5 ft.

Student Shopping Facts; 0.25 ft.

Valencia Balloon: World's Lightest Literature; 0.25 ft.

Women's Resource & Action Center Newsletter; 0.75 ft.