Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Iowa Public Interest Research Group (IPIRG), University of Iowa Chapter
RG 02.06.05
Collection Dates: 1967-1985; bulk, 1971-1985
6.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the Iowa City Chapter of the Iowa Public Interest Research Group (IPIRG), earlier known as Iowa Student Public Interest Research Group, were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives about 1985. Guide posted to the Internet June 2006; updated February 2007.


Iowa Student Public Interest Research Group newsletter, 1972
Iowa Student Public Interest Research Group newsletter

Scope and Contents

The Iowa Public Interest Research Group, University of Iowa chapter, was founded in 1971 to promote and monitor state and Federal legislation pertaining to a wide range of issues, including consumer rights, the environment, open government, and funding for higher education. The records document internal activities of the local chapter as well as its relationships with other local, state, regional and national advocacy organizations.

The collection includes newsletters, correspondence, reports and surveys.

Related Materials

Records of the New Wave Political Party (RG 02.06.03)

Box Contents List

Box 1

ACTION / VISTA grants, 1977-1978

Advertising practices, papers on, 1976

Aerosol cans, proposed ban (impact on ozone), 1976

Air quality, 1980

Board of Regents, 1973, 1977

Cable preview event - Juvenile Justice series, 1980

Cable programming and production intern - correspondence, 1980-1981

Cable TV guidelines and cable cast forms, 1981

Campaign to Save Mini-Parks (Black Hawk and College St. parks), 1977

CETA proposals, 1979-1980

Citizen/Labor Energy Coalition, n.d.

City Council, Iowa City, 1981

City of Iowa City Dept. of Community Development, n.d.

Clippings, 1977

Coe College, Cedar Rapids, 1976

Concerts / publicity, fundraising, radio and newspaper rates, 1974-1977

Congress Watch, 1980

Consumer / Merchant Protection Service, 1980

Consumer Protection Service, 1973-1974

Coors book cover controversy, 1980

Cornell College chapter - course proposal, 1979

Correspondence - incoming, 1979-1981

Correspondence - outgoing, 1979-1981

Duane Arnold Energy Center (nuclear power), 1979-1980

Dubuque Neighborhood Project, 1979-1980

Dubuque: VISTA Advisory Council, social ministry, 1980-1981

Employee search, 1978-1979

Energy Policy Council Railroad Report, 1974

"Energy Waste and Energy Conservation: A Study of Commercial Energy Use in Iowa City," 1977

Fund-raising, 1980-1981

Fund-raising, staffing notes, 1980

Grant proposals, 1977, 1981

Grants, 1977-1980

Graphics for newsletters, fliers, 1979-1980

Graphics - originals, 1977-1981

Guidelines for lobbying, holding hearings, media contacting, etc., 1974

Ladonna Harris event, 1980

Hearing aids, 1974-1976

Housing code and standards, Iowa City, 1975-1976

Housing - elderly, costs, allowances, 1977

The Insider - national newsletter, 1980-1981

Intern program, 1976-1979

Iowa Center for Local Self-Reliance, 1980-1981

Iowa City Rental Directory - probe into practices, 1977

Iowa House of Representatives rules and journals, 1975-1976

Iowa Human Resources Committee, n.d.

Iowa PIRG state board of directors information file, 1976

IPIRG / Community Action Research Group - clippings, 1977-1979

IPIRG list of year's activities, 1978

Box 2

IPIRG project planning, 1976-1977

IPIRG strategy, 1980-1981

ISPIRG leaflets, Iowa City, Ames, 1972-1975

ISPIRG publicity / public relations, n.d.

KRUI radio, 1979-1980

Locks and Dam 26 protest - Coalition on American Rivers, 1976-1977

Louisa County (Iowa) dump, 1976-1977

Lawyers' Project - Legal Services, 1975-1977

Land use study, 1973-1975

Legislative process in Iowa, 1974

Legislative voting behavior, 1974-1975

Limits to Growth workshops, 1976-1977

Living-Learning Program, 1967

Lobbying program, 1979-1981

Local and state alternative resource guides, 1977, 1980

Market basket surveys, [1977?]

Melrose Avenue widening project, 1973

MUSE (Musicians United for Safe Energy) grants, 1979-1980

National energy policy / plan / alternatives, 1974-1975

National PIRG Clearinghouse, 1978-1980

National PIRG directory / addresses, 1980

Negative check-off funding referendum, 1981

Neighborhood gardens, 1975-1978

New Pioneer Coop, n.d.

New Wave Party, 1981

News clippings, 1972-1973 (2 folders)

Newsletter mock-up, January 1977

----. March 1977

----. May 1977

Newsletters, 1972, 1977

Newsletters - other groups, 1976-1977

Box 3

Noise pollution, 1973

Nuclear power, 1973, 1979-1981

Other PIRG chapters, 1980-1981

Other PIRG campus chapters, 1974-1979

----. UNI-IPIRG by-laws, n.d.

----. Florida PIRG, 1980

----. Idaho PIRG, 1980

----. Illinois PIRG, 1980-1981

----. Indiana PIRG, 1980

----. Minnesota PIRG, 1979-1981

----. Missouri PIRG, 1980

----. SUNY-Binghamton PIRG, 1978

"Other Ways" Iowa City community newsletter, 1971-1973

Palo nuclear plant - rallies, 1979

Personnel / positions, 1978-1981

PIRG Foundation / Rural Iowa Inc., 1979

PIRG funding, 1977-1980

PIRG funding survey, 1979

PIRG organizing plans - national, 1974, 1980

Plumbing contractors investigation, 1974

Prairie Fire newsletter info, 1979-1980

Prescription drugs and costs - Iowa, 1974, 1977

Press release: Ralph Nader appearance, 1981

Press releases, 1973-1975

Prison reform papers, 1972-1973

Privacy rights, 1977

Project proposal by Karen Kubby, meeting minutes, 1981

Projects and guidelines for proposals, 1977

Property taxes, 1974-1976

----. 1976

Public hearings, 1972

Public Interest Curriculum Project, 1975-1976

Public interest resources, 1977

Public records, freedom of information, 1977

Public support, 1981

Publicity - public service announcements, news releases, 1976-1981

Ralston Creek (Iowa City), n.d.

Recycling, general information, 1972-1980

Recycling, local efforts, 1974-1976

Box 4

S.C.O.P.E. suit, 1980-1981

Social Work students' recommendations to ISPIRG, 1973

----. 1975-1976

Speaking engagements, 1978-1981

SSPC past projects, 1976

Alvin R. Sunseri newsletters, monographs, 1978-1979

Madonna Thunder Hawk interview (Native American activist), 1980/03/19

Tobacco smoking - UI student survey, 1977

Toy safety study, 1973

Training for volunteers receiving complaints, n.d.

Transportation - Iowa City planning, 1978

----. Mass transit funding, 1973-1975

----. State level, 1973-1974

Trucking, 1973

Unit pricing, n.d.

Urban renewal - Iowa City, 1972-1976

----. lawsuit, 1974

----. Melrose Avenue, Burlington Street bridge, 1974

----. Parking ramp, 1973-1974

Utility Reform Project, 1973-1978

Utility regulation, 1976-1977

Vending machine nutrition study, 1977

Video project proposal, KPGY (Ames) interview notes, 1979-1980

VISTA / ACTION project, 1978-1981

Volunteer opportunities, 1980

Water quality, 1970-1976

----. Task force, 1974

Urban renewal - parking litigation, 1972-1974 (legal-size folder)