Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Susan Vesely
RG 02.09.01
Collection Dates: 1983-1985
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Susan Vesely donated these papers to the University Archives in 2001. Guide posted to the Internet June 2006.

Photographs:

From notebook by Susan Vesely, 1984
From notebook by Susan Vesely
1984


Scope and Contents

The Papers of Susan Vesely consist of lecture notes taken while she was an undergraduate student at the University of Iowa from 1983 to 1985. Notes are from courses taught by Sherman Paul, a professor of English.


Related Materials

Peck, H. Daniel, ed. The Green American Tradition: Essays and Poems for Sherman Paul. Baton Rouge: Lousiana State University Press, 1989.

Sherman Paul has authored numerous works, including: Thoreau, a Collection of Critical Essays; Edmund Wilson: A Study of Literary Vocation in Our Time; and Six Classic American Writers: An Introduction.



Box Contents List

Collection consists of nine notebooks containing notes of lectures presented by Sherman Paul, concerning American literary criticism in the twentieth century.