Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of John Edward Chapman
RG 02.09.04
Collection Dates: 1935-1939
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Papers of John Edward Chapman were donated to the University Archives by Douglas and Beth Chapman in 2006 as Accession 2006-95. Finding aid posted to the Internet July 2007.

Photographs: Within scrapbook

John Edward Chapman, ca. 1938
John Edward Chapman
ca. 1938


Biographical Note

John Edward Chapman was born Feb. 13, 1915, in Nevada, Iowa, where he graduated from high school in 1933. In 1939 he received the bachelor of arts degree in journalism from the University of Iowa. He served in the Army Air Corps during World War II and received the Bronze Star. He married Isabel Yeager Jan. 23, 1945, in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. They had two children.

Mr. Chapman was employed by the U.S. Post Office for several years and at Montgomery Ward for 10 years, retiring in 1980. He was a member of First Congregational Church, American Legion, and Sioux Valley Optimist Club of Sioux Falls. He died Oct. 4, 1991, at age 76.

[D. McCartney, July 2007]



Box Contents List

The Papers of John Edward Chapman include one scrapbook containing mainly newspaper clippings, photographs of campus scenes and classmates, degree, student's course book, and 1939 commencement-related printed matter.