Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Charles H. Preston
Collection Dates: 1867-1868
0.25 ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Frank Hanlin in August 1978.  Finding aid created by Denise Anderson, October 2007.

Photographs: None

Charles H. Preston, 1872

Charles Hicklen Preston, 1872

Scope and Contents

The Charles H. Preston papers include two class notebooks of lectures by Professor Gustavus Hinrichs in 1867 and 1868 on qualitative analysis and mineralogy.

Biographical Note

Charles Hicklen Preston, from Oskaloosa, Iowa, enrolled in the State University of Iowa Collegiate Department (later called the College of Liberal Arts) in 1866 and received his B.S. degree in 1869, the B.Ph. in 1870, the M.D. in 1873, and the M.A. in 1887.

[D. Anderson; 10/2007]

Related Materials

Papers of Gustavus Hinrichs (RG99.0039)

Box Contents List

Box 1

"Qualitative Analysis," 1867

"Mineralogy," 1868