Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

George L. Leslie Papers
RG 02.09.20
Collection Dates: 1878-1930
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Virginia Leslie Strickland in April 1973.  Finding aid created in September 2009.

Photographs: Box 1

George L. Leslie, 1882

George L. Leslie, 1882

Photo: Frederick W. Kent Collection

Scope and Contents

The George L. Leslie papers consist of Mr. Leslie's botany notes and drawings relating to microscopy, which he created at the State University of Iowa in 1878.  The class was probably "Microscopic Anatomy" taught by professor William D. Middleton of the Medical Department.  This collection includes one portrait photograph of professor Leslie, as well as his vita and correspondence relating to his career in school administration.

Biographical Note

George Lee Leslie was born in August 1858 in Lima, Wisconsin.  He later lived in Muscatine, Iowa.  Leslie attended the University of Illinois, from 1879 to 1880.  He received his B.S. degree in 1882 and M.A. degree in 1885, both from the State University of Iowa.  While earning his master's degree, he was head of science instruction at Iowa City High School.  After receiving his master's degree, he served as principal of public schools in Sheffield, Illinois and in Luverne, Minnesota, until 1891, when he moved to Santa Barbara, California.  He was head of science instruction at the Santa Barbara High School through 1893.  Leslie served as high school principal at Rock Island, Illinois, from 1894 to 1895. 

In 1895, Leslie returned to California to serve as head of the science department in the Los Angeles High School.  In 1899 he taught science courses at the San Francisco State Normal School for one year before returning to his position in the Los Angeles school system.  In Los Angeles he was promoted to director of the Health and Psychology Department within the city school system, a position he held from 1906 to 1914.  While working as director, Leslie helped draft a bill that became California law in 1909, which provided for health and development supervision in the public schools.

In 1921, Leslie wrote a letter to the California Legislature in support of incorporating a technical institution with the University of California.  According to Leslie, the bill passed both the Senate and the General Assembly, but was vetoed by Governor William Stephens.  In 1921, the Throop College of Technology, which was established in 1891 by Amos G. Throop, was renamed the California Institute of Technology (referred to as Caltech).

Professor Leslie was married and they had a daughter, Virginia.  George L. Leslie died in 1929.

[D. Anderson; 09/2009]

Related Materials

Leslie, George L. "Health and Development Supervision of the Public Schools of California." The Psychological Clinic: A Journal of Orthogenics for the Study and Treatment of Retardation and Deviation 4 , no. 2 (April 1910): 33-39.

Box Contents List

Box 1

Portrait photograph of Leslie. ca. 1879.

Microscopy notebook, State University of Iowa. 1878.

Vita and letters of recommendation.