Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Committee on Building Names
RG 05.03.46
Collection Dates: 1967-2008
1.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The Records of the Committee on Building Names were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President as Accession 2009-50. Guide posted to the Internet in July 2009.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Records of the Committee on Building Names are arranged chronologically, with each folder representing one year of activity of the committee. Documents within each folder include naming requests, reports, correspondence, meeting minutes, policies and policy drafts. The collection provides information on the protocols surrounding the naming of campus facilities, including rooms, plazas and other landmarks, in addition to buildings. It also provides historical information on the naming of particular campus features.

Historical Note

The Committee on Building Names held its first meeting in May 1968, less than one year after a policy was issued by University president Howard Bowen. The two-page policy, released in July 1967, addressed general principles, identified types of buildings to be named, and procedures to be followed. According to the policy, building names should strive for "distinctiveness, brevity, and commemoration." The committee is an advisory group that reports to the Office of the President.

Related Materials

Campus Buildings and Grounds Vertical Files Collection (RG 01.15.02)

Box Contents List

Box 1


Box 2


Box 3


Building Names Committee membership information