Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Amos Noyes Currier
RG 05.01.05
Collection Dates: 1885-1905
0.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were donated to the University Archives by the Office of the President; date undetermined. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.


Amos Noyes Currier
Amos Noyes Currier

Biographical Note

Amos Noyes Currier was born on October 3, 1832, in Canaan, New Hampshire, the son of Eben F. and Sophia Noyes Currier. After graduating from Dartmouth College with the A.B. and A.M. degrees, he was named a professor of ancient languages at Central College in Pella, Iowa, in 1857. Following military service in the 8th Iowa Infantry and 11th Missouri Calvary during the Civil War, he returned to Central College and, in 1867, was appointed professor of ancient languages (later Latin) at the University of Iowa.

Currier remained with the University for the next 42 years, until his death in 1909. In addition to serving as professor of Latin, Greek, and literature, he was dean of the Collegiate Department (later the College of Liberal Arts), from 1887 to 1907 and was the University's acting president between the Schaeffer and MacLean administrations (1898-99). He was also the University Librarian from 1870 to 1879.

Currier died on May 16, 1909.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006]

Related Materials

"Amos Noyes Currier." Iowa Alumnus 6 (June 1909): 257-279, illus. Main.

Berryhill, Virginia J. "Amos Noyes Currier." Annals of Iowa, 3d ser. 10 (July 1911): 90-118, illus. Main.

Wright, Luella Margaret. Amos Noyes Currier. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947. 71 pp., illus. Main; Iowa Authors; Archives, in "Centennial Memoirs (State University of Iowa)."

Box Contents List

Papers; 0.25 ft.

Presidential Correspondence; 0.25 ft.