Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Richard D. Remington
RG 05.01.15
Collection Dates: 1987-1988
2.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of the President in 1989. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.


Richard D. Remington
Richard D. Remington

Biographical Note

Richard Delleraine Remington was born Aug. 2, 1931, in Nampa, Idaho. He married Betty Brooks Morrison on Dec. 28, 1952. He received bachelors and masters degrees, both in mathematics, from the University of Montana in Missoula and an M.P.H. (1957) and a Ph.D. in Public Health Statistics (1958) from the University of Michigan.

He came to the University of Iowa in 1982 as vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculties. He held that post until August 1988 and also served as interim president in 1987-88 after James O. Freedman resigned. In 1988 he returned to full-time teaching and research in the UI College of Medicine and served as director of the Institute for Health, Behavior and Environmental Policy.

Remington died July 26, 1992, in Iowa City. At the time of his death he was UI Foundation Distinguished Professor of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006]

Related Materials

Folder in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Box Contents List

Speeches, research notes; 2.0 lin. ft.