Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Peter E. Nathan
RG 05.01.17
Collection Dates: 1994-1995
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1995. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.


Biographical Note

Peter E. Nathan was born on April 18, 1935, in St. Louis, Missouri. He received the B.A. in social relations from Harvard College in 1957 and the Ph.D. in clinical psychology from Washington University in 1962. He was a member of the Harvard Medical School faculty from 1962 to 1969 and from 1969 to 1987 served as director of clinical training in psychology in the Graduate School at Rutgers, The State University. From 1987 to 1989 he was a program officer with the MacArthur Foundation.

In 1990 Nathan was appointed University of Iowa Foundation Distinguished Professor of Psychology. During the same year he was named Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties at the University of Iowa, a position he held until 1993 when he was appointed Provost. In 1995 he was Acting President of the university between the Rawlings and Coleman administrations.

Related Materials

Biographical file in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Box Contents List

Speeches; 0.25 ft.