Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Papers of Mary Sue Coleman
RG 05.01.18
Collection Dates: 1995-2001
3.75 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 2001. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.


Mary Sue Coleman
Mary Sue Coleman, eighteenth
president of the University of Iowa

Biographical Note

The first woman to lead the University of Iowa, Mary Sue Coleman held academic appointments as professor of biochemistry in the College of Medicine and of biological sciences in the College of Liberal Arts while university president.

A native of Kentucky, Coleman attended junior high and high school in Cedar Falls, Iowa. In 1965 she earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Grinnell College and in 1969 received a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of North Carolina.

For 19 years Coleman was a member of the biochemistry faculty at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, where her research focused on the immune system and malignancies. In 1990 she was named associate provost and dean of research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and in 1992 became its vice chancellor for graduate studies and research. From 1993 until her return to Iowa, she was provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of New Mexico.

She has been a member or chair of scientific review panels for the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, and the editorial board of the Journal of Biological Chemistry. She was named president of the University of Michigan in 2002 after serving seven years as president at Iowa.

Coleman was born October 2, 1943, and is married to Kenneth Coleman, a political scientist. They have one son.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006]

Related Materials

Folder in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Box Contents List

Speeches, 1995-2001; 3.75 ft.