Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Office of the Provost
RG 05.02
Collection Dates: 1964-1969
5.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Preliminary processing June 13, 1988; inventory by Earl M. Rogers. Guide posted to the Internet 1997; revised December 2006.










Scope and Contents

Preliminary processing June 13, 1988. There are one or more unnumbered folders under each heading. Records document the service of Willard L. Boyd, academic vice president of the University, and his successor, Ray L. Heffner, Jr. University provost.

Organizational History

The Office of the Provost is responsible for overseeing the University's academic programs, faculty matters, student academic affairs, and strategic academic planning.  The office has existed in some form since the University opened for classes in 1855, but was not so named until 1950 when Harvey Henry Davis, formerly executive dean of the Division of Research and Teaching, was appointed Provost. The title of the position has changed over the years, though the office's function has remained essentially the same.

In 1963, following Dean Davis's retirement, the position was renamed Vice President for Instruction and Dean of Faculties, and Ray L. Heffner, Jr., was appointed to the post. He was succeeded in 1965 by Willard L. Boyd as Vice President for Academic Affairs. The title of Provost was restored in 1969 when Mr. Heffner was again named to the position soon after Mr. Boyd was inaugurated as the University's 15th president.

In 1973, May Brodbeck was appointed by President Boyd to succeed Mr. Heffner as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculties, a position she held until 1981. Richard Remington followed Ms. Brodbeck, serving until 1989, when he was succeeded by Peter E. Nathan. In 1993, the title of Provost was reinstated a third time and Mr. Nathan continued to serve in that capacity until 1996. Jon Whitmore served as Provost from 1996 to 2004, and Michael Hogan succeeded him in 2004.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006]

Related Materials

Papers of Howard R. Bowen (RG 05.01.12)

Papers of Willard L. Boyd (RG 05.01.13)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Institute of Child Behavior
Child Development--Ames
Graduate College
Collegiate Deans

Box 2

Administrative Council
Academic Board Minutes
School Finance Study Commission
Mr. Heffner (Budget?)
Faculty Council
Business Administration
Business Administration Deanship
Urban and Regional Planning
Interinstitutional Committee on Environmental Studies

Box 3

Interinstitutional Committee on Educational Cooperation
Toledo Meeting
Council on Teaching
Community and Environmental Health

Box 4


Box 5