Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records Pertaining to Policies and Procedures of the University of Iowa
RG 05.06
Collection Dates: 1966-2004
2.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of University Relations and other sources at various times. Collection processed by David McCartney in 2003; guide posted to the Internet in 2003; revised December 2006. Additional processing of Series I by Jeremy Brett in April 2010.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The collection consists of three series: University Operations Manual, University Organization Charts, and Other Policies.

Series I: First issued in 1966, the Operations Manual addressed all aspects of University policies and procedures. The series includes the original 1966 manual, together with the various pages superceded over the years from 1967-1986. Also included are the later editions of the manual (bound and loose) from 1993-2004.

Series II: The administrative offices of the University’s colleges and other units prepared the organization charts at the request of the Office of the President in 1988. The charts identify positions by title. The charts also rank the positions based upon their hierarchical relationships with other positions within their respective units. The files of charts are arranged alphabetically by name of college or unit and occupy one box (0.25 lin. ft.).

Series III: Other policies, including human rights and academic-related.

Related Materials

Additional information about the organizational structure of the University may be obtained from the general catalogs, faculty/staff directories, and the Operations Manual, all housed at the University Archives. In addition, individual departmental records at the archives may contain information about the organization of those respective offices.

A discussion of the University’s organization with an emphasis on the relationship between administration and faculty is in Stow Persons’ “The University of Iowa in the Twentieth Century: An Institutional History” (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1990). 

Box Contents List

Series I

Box 1
Operations Manual, 1966 (First Issuance)

Operations Manual, 1966: Cover Letter

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part I. University Organization
Revision Dates:1967-1970, 1972-1973, 1975-1981, 1983, 1986, n.d.

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part II. Personnel
Revision Dates: 1968-1975

Box 2
Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part II. Personnel
Revision Dates: 1976-1983, 1985

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part III. Financial
Revision Dates: 1968-1969, 1971-1973, 1975-1983, 1985

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part IV. Services
Revision Dates: 1969, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1977-1979, 1981-1982, 1985

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part V. Students
Revision Dates: 1966, 1969, 1973, 1975, 1978-1979, 1982, n.d.

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part VI. Buildings and Campus Facilities
Revision Dates: 1966-1968, 1970-1973, 1975, 1977-1979, 1983, n.d.

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part VII. Miscellaneous
Revision Dates: 1968-1969, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1983, 1986

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Part VIII. Forms
Revision Dates: 1966, 1968-1969, 1971-1973, 1975-1983 (arranged by form #)

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Appendix
Revision Dates: 1975-1981

Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Index
Revision Dates: 1969-1980

Box 3
Operations Manual [Superceded Pages]: Index
Revision Dates: 1981-1986

Operations Manual: Instructions for Changes, 1970-1990

Box 4
Operations Manual (Bound): 1993, 1998-1999, Addenda for 1994-1996

Box 5
Operations Manual (Bound): 2000-2001

Box 6
Operations Manual: 2003 (3 folders), 2004

Series II 

Academic Affairs, Office of – 1988

Alumni Association – 1988

Business Administration, College of – 1988

Continuing Education, Office of – 1988

Dentistry, College of – 1988

Education, College of – 1988

Educational Development and Research – 1988

Engineering, College of – 1988

Finance and University Services, Office of – 1988

Graduate College – 1988

Law, College of – 1988

Liberal Arts, College of – 1988

Medicine, College of – 1988

Nursing, College of – 1988

Pharmacy, College of – 1988

President, Office of the – 1991, 1993

Series III

Human Rights Policy

Explicit Materials Policy

Academic Policies and Other Useful Information for Students - 2003-2007