Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty-Related Administrative Records
RG 06.02.03
Collection Dates: 1860-1999
4.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet February 2007. They were processed in August 2011.

Photographs: None









Scope and Content

The records in this series comprise a collection related to administrative activities concerning UI faculty. These records include minutes of faculty meetings, the Faculty Assembly, and the Board of Deans.

Related Records

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Committee Records (RG 06.02.04): Contains copies of the minutes for faculty meetings from 1929-1996.

Box Contents List

Box 1:

Faculty Minutes

Minutes, 1860-1875

Minutes, 1881-1899

Box 2:

Faculty Minutes

Minutes, 1899-1906

Minutes, Science Faculty, 1878-1902

Minutes, Science Faculty, 1902-1906

Minutes, Sub-Faculty of Letters/Literary Section, 1878-1904

Box 3:

Faculty Minutes

Minutes, 1906-1944

Box 4

Faculty Minutes

Minutes, 1941-1949

Box 5:

Faculty Assembly: Meeting Minutes and Attachments, 1985-1988

Handbooks for Liberal Arts Faculty, 1996-1999

Box 6:

Board of Deans Minutes

Minutes, 1918-1938 [Incomplete]