Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the School of Art and Art History
RG 06.07
Collection Dates: 1929-
7.75 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.










Box Contents List

Box 1

Exhibits Series

American Federation of Arts, 1930's, 1940's, 1950's

Annual Design Exhibition, 1950's

Big Ten Art Exhibition, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 6th

Correspondence, 1929-1957

General programs, etc., 1940-

Iowa High Schools, 1931-1961 (incomplete)

Iowa Prints Group - London, 1951

Photography, 1930's

Salon of Photographic Art, 1933-1934; 1937-1939

Student Salon of Art. Programs, etc., 1934-1942; 1945, 1947, 1949

Summer Exhibits of Contemporary Art, 1945, 1947

Box 2

Faculty, 1930's

Students Works, 1930's

Box 3 and 3A

Administrative Series

Artist-in-Residence Plan

Big 10 Exhibition

Clippings, 1927-32

----. 1933-35

----. 1935-36

Conferences: Dedication Art Building, 1949


Exhibitions at Iowa Memorial Union


Dr. Harper: Misc.

High School Art Conference


Box 4 and 4A

Old Master drawings and chiaroscurs prints, December 1954


Misc., Defense

Annual Report, 1936-1950

Iowa High School Art

Exhibition - Art Conference

Photography Committee

Pre-flight Relief Maps

G.S.S. 1945, Publicity

G.S.S. 1945, First Exhibit Gallery correspondence

Art…Bulletin of the University of Iowa

Box 5

Minutes, including 1988 working papers

Box 6

D. Edstrom correspondence, 1931-1954

Donors. T. Henry Foster correspondence, 1934-35

Eve Drewelowe paintings correspondence (referred to occasionally as Mrs. Van Ek), 1943-1944

General correspondence, lists, etc., 1930-1945, 1953-

George Caleb Bingham correspondence, 1940-1943

Gifts: Leo Katz mural correspondence, 1934-1954

Gifts: Mr. & Mrs. William Davenport correspondence, 1932-1938

Insurance material, 1930's

Box 7

Camp Dodge murals, sculpture correspondence, 1942-1946

Carnegie Art Project, 1937-38

Art Conferences, 1937-

Art lectures, 1940

Lorado Taft lectures, 1929-1931

Organization, needs, finances, 1936-49

P.W.A. Project, 1933-35

Informational publications, press releases, miscl., 1933-

Sculpture project, 1934-35

War Art Workshop, 1942-43