Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Dept. of English (Administrative)
RG 06.12.01
Collection Dates: 1921-
44.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of English at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.










Box Contents List

John Raeburn, Ed Folsom, James Marshall files (Office of the Department Chair), 1986-95; 16.5 ft. (See also: RG 06.12.02)

Course Syllabi, 1920s-1930s; 0.25 ft.

English Library Committee; 0.25 ft.

Other administrative files, including:

Box 1:


Box 2:

Summer Institute for Advanced Study in English

Box 3:

English, 1921-1922

Iowa Industries Fellowship

NDEA Summer Institute, 1968-1969

Premeteorological Training

Rockefeller Foundation Grant

Summer Sessions, 1951-1959

Science Writers National Science Foundation, 1964-1966

West of Boston

              Robert Frost visit

Workshops, 1956, 1958

Writers Conference, 1939

Writers Symposium, 1959

Box 4:

Department notes

1968-1988 (incomplete)