Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Dept. of History
RG 06.17
Collection Dates: 1921-
20.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of History at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.










Box Contents List

Box 1:

Summer Session, 1925-1939 

Box 2:

Summer Session, 1940-1959

Box 3:

Budgets, 1941-1951

Box 4:

Budgets, 1952-1962

Box 5:

Inventories and statistics

Box 10:

Correspondence, 1939-1941




Box 11:

Correspondence, 1939-1943

Box 12:


Box 13:

----. 1943-1945

Box 14:

----. 1945-1947

Box 15:

----. 1945-1949

Box 16:

----. 1947-1949

Box 20:

----. 1956-1962

Box 17:

----. 1952-1953

Box 18:


Box 19:

----. 1953-1954

Box 20-21:

Student notes: ancient, art, western civilization, history of Iowa, French Revolution, various U.S. and European histories; 1946

Various history classes

Box 22:

Conferences, 1921-1934

Box 23:

----. 1935-1947

Box 24:

----. 1948-1959




Computer Fund, 1967-1975

Dewey Stuit, 1962-1965


Graduate, 1963-1969


Subject files


Correspondence, 1963-1965

Subject files


Summer Session, 1960-1969


Budget, 1925-1942

Graduate placement, 1962-1963


Includes minutes (unprocessed), 1947-1964


Newsletters, 1922-


Minutes, 1931-1952; 1962, 1963, 1972


Records also include:

Center for the Study of Recent U.S. History (CRUSH); 0.25 ft.