Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Center for New Performing Arts
RG 06.24.04
Collection Dates: 1970-1978
1.0 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: Records of the Center for New Performing Arts were transferred to the University Archives from the School of Music prior to 1980. Guide posted to the Internet December 2009.

Photographs: None









Scope and Contents

The Records of the Center for New Performing Arts include budgets, correspondence, proposals, schedules, and subject folders.

Historical Note

The Center for New Performing Arts grew out of the University of Iowa Center for New Music in 1970. The new program, directed first by William Hibbard and then by Martha Letterman, was established to stimulate interactive and creative experimentation in multiple fine arts disciplines, art, dance, film, laser art, music, and theater. The program sponsored visiting artists at the University of Iowa and had both local and touring productions. It published an untitled annual in 1972 and 1973 and is cataloged as Exhibition (see Related Materials).

Related Materials

Exhibition [supplied title], in University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)

Papers of William Hibbard (RG 99.0338)

Box Contents List

Box 1

Folder labels reflect the various areas of the arts to benefit from the Center: theatre, dance, music, art, creative writing, film. Other folders in box 1 contain information about the artists sponsored by the Center. Folder labeled "CNPA-General" contains a final report, 1970-1975.

Box 2

Contains advisory committee's first meeting minutes, accepted and declined proposals, and 10 unlabeled folders which contain proposals for support.