Records of the Dept. of Physics
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Dept. of Physics at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.
Papers of James A. Van Allen (RG 99.0142)
Box Contents List
Physics Library; 2.0 ft.
Physics accession received 06/94; 12.0 ft.
Physics accession received 02/94
Physics accession received 02/92, numbered 9-13 02/92; 9.0 ft.
Physics accession received 01/91; 12.0 ft.
UI Dept. of Physics & Astronomy Collection on Nov. 1, 1991 Tragedy: "November 1991 Condolences" (Gang Lu / Lu Gang shootings); 1.0 ft.
Hickman, Vivian (UI librarian) Collection on November 1, 1991 Tragedy; 0.5 ft.
Weather Records for 1888; 0.5 ft.
History series, James P. Wells material; 0.5 ft.
Physics and Astronomy Publications
MURA high energy accelerator proposals; 1.0 ft.
Physics BS thesis 1892-1904; 0.5 ft.
Fusion (Physics Club); 0.5 ft.
Physics and Astronomy Research Report series; 34.0 ft. Titles are arranged chronologically by sequence number; e.g., 73-24 is the 24th title released during 1973. Titles with no or non-conforming numbers are placed at the end of that year's series.
Studies and reports; 0.25 ft.