Records of the College of Engineering
Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.
Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.
Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.
Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.
Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the College of Engineering at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007.
Mechanical's Bull Session records, University Archives, RG 02.03.43. Chronicle of 1930 mechanical engineering graduates' experiences during the Great Depression, 1930-1938.
Box Contents List
Placement resume books
School of Applied Science, 1903-1920
Reports and Correspondence of the period 1926-1934
Facilities for training aeroplane pilots, etc.
Iowa City, site for Veterans Administration hospital, 1955
Special Committee report
Concerning the location of the regional research laboratory, 1938
Papers concerning the removal of the Engineering College to Ames, 1912-1913
Executive Committee, 1915-1932 (incomplete)
----. 1966-1972 (after July 1974, known as Administrative Council)
Faculty meeting minutes, 1905-1964
Faculty Council, 1965-1986 (prior to July 1974, known as Engineering College Council)
Faculty meeting minutes, 1980-
Faculty Council, 1983-
Significant memoranda, 1971-
Curriculum Committee annual report, 1972-1976
----. Minutes, 1987-
Manual of Procedure
Faculty records; 2.0 ft.
Engineering Faculty Meeting Minutes; 0.5 ft.
Industrial and Management Engineering Faculty Meeting; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Faculty Meetings; 1.5 ft.
ALUMNI AND STUDENTS SERIES:
Engineering Alumni Directories; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Alumni Letter; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Placement Resume Books; 1.0 ft.
Engineering Senior Class; 0.25 ft.
Materials Division records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Systems Division records; 0.5 ft.
COMMITTEES, BOARDS, AND COUNCILS SERIES:
Engineering Administration Council; 0.25 ft.
Faculty Council records; 1.0 ft.
Engineering Advisory Board records; 0.25 ft.
Advanced Degree Committee records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Teaching Committee records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Curriculum Committee records; 0.5 ft.
Engineering Dean Search and Review Committee records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Lecture Committee records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Executive Committee records; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Promotion and Tenure Committee records; 0.25 ft.
PRINTED MATERIAL SERIES:
Engineering publications; 7.5 ft.
Wind, Waste, Water; 0.25 ft.
E & CE Newsletter; 0.25 ft.
"Iowa Engineer"; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Announcement; 0.25 ft.
Engineering Publications; 0.75 ft.
Iowa Transit; 4.0 ft.
Hawkeye Engineer; 1.0 ft.
REPORTS AND STUDIES SERIES:
Reports and Studies; 3.5 ft.
Engineering Reports 1903-1955; 1.5 ft. Reports series, Box 3, includes files on possible move of program from UI to Iowa State College at Ames, 1912-13.
Engineering Delayed; 0.5 ft.
Engineering, Studies in; 1.0 ft.
Engineering Reprints; 0.25 ft.
Mechanics & Hydraulics Report; 0.25 ft.
Materials Engineering Report; 0.25 ft.
Annual Reports, 2000- ; 0.5 ft.
Chemical Engineering conferences records; 0.25 ft.
Technology and the Spirit of Man; 0.25 ft.
Iowa Power and Industrial Conference; 0.25 ft.