Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

Records of the Civilian Pilot Training Program
RG 10.03.02
Collection Dates: 1942-1944
0.25 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970.  Finding aid posted to the Internet June 2011.

Photographs: Box 1

Robert Valentino Abate, U. S. Naval V5 instructor, February 1944

Robert Valentino Abate, U. S. Naval V5 instructor,

application photograph, February 18, 1944

Scope and Contents

These papers include reports, correspondence, course schedules, and applications of instructors for the Civilian Pilot Training Program from 1942 to 1944 at the State University of Iowa.

Correspondence is included from the Naval Aviation Cadet Selection Board, St. Louis, Missouri, and the Civil Aeronautics Administration Civilian Pilot Training, Kansas City, Missouri, within the reports series.  There is correspondence with the Shaw Aircraft Company, which operated a flight school at the Iowa City Municipal Airport.  The U. S. Naval contract includes correspondence with John P. Morris, director of the Civil Aeronautics Administration War Training Service in Washington, D. C.

Applications for instructor positions included in this collection were primarily received between March and May 1943.  Some letters of application noted that War Training Service programs on their local campuses had been discontinued, while others were applying for positions because they had recently graduated from courses.  Applications arrived from Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, and Oregon.

Reports include the names of graduated students.

Eight-week course schedules cover the entire period of the War Training Service Program, from summer 1942 to spring 1944.

Historical Note

The Civilian Pilot Training Program was established in September 1939 on campuses nationwide, in anticipation of the need for increased numbers of pilots beyond what the armed forces was prepared to train.  It was sponsored by the Civilian Aeronautics Administration as an extracurricular activity for college students.  This civilian program was transformed into a military program during the summer of 1942.  It was renamed the War Training Service Program and was designed for Army or Navy Air Corps cadets.  In addition, the program provided supervisory training to Naval officers.  According to the National Museum of the U. S. Air Force Web site, the services ended their contracts with the CPTP/WTS in early 1944 and the program was dissolved in 1946.

Related Materials

Folder, "Croft, Huber O.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Dawson, Francis M.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Folder, "Lundquist, Elmer C.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG 01.15.03)

Papers of Elmer C. Lundquist (RG 99.0241)

Resource Guide to Military and Wartime Service

Box Contents List

Box 1

Applications for instructor positions

Abate, Robert Valentino, photograph attached

Aguirre, James Brassell, photograph attached

Carnes, G. C.

Collier, Lauren Kent, photograph attached

Cunningham, Chester Clyde

Gardner, Eugene V.

Gilbert, Donald

Green, Jess D.

Hofstad, Anton, photograph attached

Holtman, John Monroe, photograph attached

Houser, H. F.

Immerman, David

Jones, Harry

Kirlin, S. Warner

Leu, Elmer Roy, photograph attached

Mason, Sam

McDowell, Floyd

Noble, Carl Elroy

Oppenheim, Theodore S.

Rudin, John Jesse, photograph attached

Scott, Lee

Shelden, Joseph Paul

Slayton, Clarence Harvy

Weblemoe, James L.

Zeiger, Hal

Zeiger, Harold, photograph attached

Reclassification requests

Gilbert, Donald

Hofstad, Anton

Holtman, John Monroe

Noble, Carl Elroy

Slayton, Clarence Harvy


Buckley Hotel, Iowa City, regarding beds for cadets, 1943-1944

Shaw Aircraft Company, Iowa City Municipal Airport, 1942-1943

U. S. Navy contract and correspondence, 1943-1944

Course Schedules, War Training Service

Summer 1942-fall 1943

Fall 1943-spring 1944


Iowa City CPT inspection, 1942

Mid-course reports, 1942

Semi-annual reports from Civil Aeronautics, 1942-1944

Graduated students, 1943-1944