Skip navigation

The University of Iowa Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives

Finding Aid

College of Engineering Summer Management Course Papers and Reference Material Collection
RG 10.03.06
Collection Dates: 1939-1960
7.5 linear ft.

Access and Restrictions: This collection is open for research.

Digital Surrogates: Except where indicated, this document describes but does not reproduce the actual text, images and objects which make up this collection. Materials are available only in the Special Collections Department.

Copyright: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Use of Collections: The University of Iowa Libraries supports access to the materials, published and unpublished, in its collections. Nonetheless, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-paper-based materials. Please read our Use of Manuscripts Statement.

Acquisition and Processing Information: The collection was transferred to the University Archives from the University Libraries' circulating collection on January 5, 2011, as Accession 2011-03.

Photographs: Photographs of course participants and presenters are included in some of the volumes.









Scope and Contents

The collection contains papers and reference material associated with the College of Engineering's summer management courses. Volumes are identified by year of course offering and are arranged chronologically. Volumes include brochures; registration, lecture and event schedules; lecture notes; bulletins; photographs of participants and presenters; and reference materials.

Each course addressed a variety of topics, including motion and time studies, personnel management, work simplification, maximizing profits, and setting wages for employees. The course was not given in 1949.

Historical Note

The State University of Iowa College of Engineering has offered summer management courses as continuing education for those engaged in business and industry. The collection documents a 22-year period of such course offerings. Courses were generally offered for a two or three-week period. From 1939 to 1948 the course was arranged by R.M. Barnes, and from 1950 to 1960 it was arranged by J.W. Deegan.

Related Materials

Motion picture films pertaining to motion and time studies and other engineering-related topics; unprocessed (RG 30.05.01)

Box Contents List

Box 1:

1939 – 1943

Box 2:

1944 – 1946

Box 3:

1946 – 1948; 1950

Box 4:

1951 – 1953

Box 5:

1954 - 1960